Warbird Electrics Discuss e-powered warbirds in here!

PZ F4U Corsair

Old 09-08-2008, 11:52 PM
  #76  
constantCrash
prefectionist
 
constantCrash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: MN
Posts: 1,919
Default

Dave from horizon already stated on that other site that we should se a service advisory in the next 24 hours.
constantCrash is offline  
Old 09-08-2008, 11:56 PM
  #77  
Lieutenant Loughead
UNCLUB OWNER
 
Lieutenant Loughead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 4,406
Default

I've been drooling over the Parkzone Corsiar for several weeks now. Today, I saw five of them in my local hobby shop... Must resist! Must resist! :o

I'm sorry to hear of the motor mount screw -- but I'm glad you guys have shared that information with the rest of us! Thank you!

Hey -- the first flight report said something about the glide slope of the Parkzone Corsair... The REAL Corsair had a 1:1 (that's 45 degrees) glide ratio!

Finally, with respect to the Spektrum AR6100e radio lockout... I have a bit of experience with this, and can link you to a LONG thread. My lockout issues turned out to be a faulty transmitter. You may want to check for the version sticker on your receiver -- make sure it's the current version (I think it's v1.6)...
Lieutenant Loughead is offline  
Old 09-09-2008, 04:25 AM
  #78  
Rabbitcreekok
Community Moderator
 
Rabbitcreekok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: McAlester, Oklahoma
Posts: 10,580
Default

Originally Posted by constantCrash View Post
Dave from horizon already stated on that other site that we should se a service advisory in the next 24 hours.
Do you have a link to that thread?
Rabbitcreekok is offline  
Old 09-09-2008, 02:54 PM
  #79  
constantCrash
prefectionist
 
constantCrash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: MN
Posts: 1,919
Default

thread on that other site:
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...&page=35&pp=25

and yeah version 1.6 on the receivers.
constantCrash is offline  
Old 09-09-2008, 02:59 PM
  #80  
FlyingMonkey
Flite Test Fan
 
FlyingMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: 32459
Posts: 8,930
Default

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...&postcount=821 to be exact
FlyingMonkey is offline  
Old 09-10-2008, 12:26 AM
  #81  
Rabbitcreekok
Community Moderator
 
Rabbitcreekok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: McAlester, Oklahoma
Posts: 10,580
Default

Thanks. I can't find the official fix yet.
Rabbitcreekok is offline  
Old 09-10-2008, 02:12 AM
  #82  
guapoman2000
Space Ship 1
 
guapoman2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 1,439
Default My FIX!

Originally Posted by Rabbitcreekok View Post
Thanks. I can't find the official fix yet.
I tried epoxying a piece of very good foam material and the freaking screw at the Upper Right Hand side of the Firewall cut into the Foam piece like butter!!

I removed the propeller, cowling, screw and cut to at least half it's length was RIGHT ON THE MONEY!!! ($$$) I took off any sharp edges and burrs by sliding the new screw end with some sandpaper and re-installed the screw and torque down without any problem.

I did exactly what several have done here and now I have a shorter Upper Right hand Screw securing the Firewall assembly / Motor assembly and PLUS the protection of that Foam Piece I glued earlier!

It was super easy like several have indicated here and did not take any time at all, as a matter of fact, I took more time writing this and taking pictures!
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Screw1.JPG
Views:	380
Size:	88.9 KB
ID:	77653   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screw2.JPG
Views:	389
Size:	51.1 KB
ID:	77654   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screw3.JPG
Views:	342
Size:	81.4 KB
ID:	77655   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screw6.JPG
Views:	383
Size:	59.5 KB
ID:	77658   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screw7A.JPG
Views:	391
Size:	75.5 KB
ID:	77740  


Last edited by guapoman2000; 09-11-2008 at 02:35 AM.
guapoman2000 is offline  
Old 09-10-2008, 05:27 AM
  #83  
hillbille
Super Contributor
 
hillbille's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Barstow, California
Posts: 1,056
Default

I didn't even remove the prop or the cowl - just reached in with a magnetic tipped screw driver and removed it, cut it in half and reinserted it! Done. Thanks for the heads up on this as I was going to maiden mine in the morning and I would have shoved the battery to the stops!!

Never too late to learn and always educational reading here.

BTW - since I fly at a dry lake bed and have installed the LG - anyone want the belly landing shields from my PNP??


Hillbille
hillbille is offline  
Old 09-10-2008, 08:59 AM
  #84  
hillbille
Super Contributor
 
hillbille's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Barstow, California
Posts: 1,056
Default

Also as a side note - neither of the supplied props balanced. I have the DuBro balancer - the good one and I couldn't even get close with the three blade prop and the two blade prop seemed to have the center hole off center. Decided to go with a GWS 1060 X 3 that I had ordered to use on another project. Balanced easily and on my wattmeter showed 19.6 amps @ wot and 237 watts on a 12.2v 3s1p loong maxx 2250 20C battery so I don't think it will over tax this motor. If I can I'll maiden it in the morning and post results here.



Hillbille
hillbille is offline  
Old 09-10-2008, 04:00 PM
  #85  
jayxer
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 61
Default

I got the three blade prop to balance.... but it took A LOT of sanding and a decent amount of time and patience. The two blade supplied prop doesn't seem to want to balance very well. I've sanded some here and there, but its still imbalanced to the point that it shakes the firewall and you can here it at higher rpm's.


Guys, on that V1.6 spektrum issue, my AR6100e is V1.6, what else might I look into?
jayxer is offline  
Old 09-10-2008, 04:04 PM
  #86  
FlyingMonkey
Flite Test Fan
 
FlyingMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: 32459
Posts: 8,930
Default

Originally Posted by hillbille View Post
Also as a side note - neither of the supplied props balanced.
Hillbille


That's odd, mine seems to be perfect.

My plane flies silently. The only sound is the air whistling across it's body.
FlyingMonkey is offline  
Old 09-10-2008, 05:01 PM
  #87  
Lieutenant Loughead
UNCLUB OWNER
 
Lieutenant Loughead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 4,406
Default

Originally Posted by jayxer View Post
Guys, on that V1.6 spektrum issue, my AR6100e is V1.6, what else might I look into?
Could be the transmitter... That's what the problem was on mine...

http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=22015
Lieutenant Loughead is offline  
Old 09-10-2008, 11:04 PM
  #88  
hillbille
Super Contributor
 
hillbille's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Barstow, California
Posts: 1,056
Default

Originally Posted by FlyingMonkey View Post
That's odd, mine seems to be perfect.

My plane flies silently. The only sound is the air whistling across it's body.
My Trojan is the same way - right out of the box - perfect balance and so silent you strain to SEE the prop moving!! LOL!!! The GWS 1060 X 3 is really quiet in the air!! I LIKE IT!!! LOL!!!


Hillbille
hillbille is offline  
Old 09-10-2008, 11:31 PM
  #89  
guapoman2000
Space Ship 1
 
guapoman2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 1,439
Default Foam Piece Protecting Battery from remaining Screw Head!

Hi Guys!

Just posting to inform you all of an updated Picture I just uploaded showing the extra Foam Piece I installed to protect the battery from remaining Firewall screw head length after reducing it's length. The arrows were pointing to the wrong Foam area and not the piece I epoxy in.

I have updated the above original posting "or" you can view here the attached picture!
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Screw7A.JPG
Views:	328
Size:	75.5 KB
ID:	77741  

Last edited by guapoman2000; 09-10-2008 at 11:50 PM.
guapoman2000 is offline  
Old 09-10-2008, 11:53 PM
  #90  
guapoman2000
Space Ship 1
 
guapoman2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 1,439
Default

Originally Posted by hillbille View Post
My Trojan is the same way - right out of the box - perfect balance and so silent you strain to SEE the prop moving!! LOL!!! The GWS 1060 X 3 is really quiet in the air!! I LIKE IT!!! LOL!!!


Hillbille
Have you measured the AMPs / Watts / Underload Voltage while swinging this propeller? I have one and just wondering.

How about the RPMs?
guapoman2000 is offline  
Old 09-11-2008, 02:34 AM
  #91  
guapoman2000
Space Ship 1
 
guapoman2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 1,439
Smile

Originally Posted by constantCrash View Post
Dave from horizon already stated on that other site that we should se a service advisory in the next 24 hours.


EDIT: PLEASE REFER TO THE ALERT BULLETIN FROM HORIZON HOBBY SUPPORT


http://www.horizonhobby.com/Products...ProdID=PKZ4600
guapoman2000 is offline  
Old 09-11-2008, 04:20 AM
  #92  
hillbille
Super Contributor
 
hillbille's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Barstow, California
Posts: 1,056
Default

Originally Posted by guapoman2000 View Post
Have you measured the AMPs / Watts / Underload Voltage while swinging this propeller? I have one and just wondering.

How about the RPMs?
Yep - Post #84 - Decided to go with a GWS 1060 X 3 that I had ordered to use on another project. Balanced easily and on my wattmeter showed 19.6 amps @ wot and 237 watts on a 12.2v 3s1p loong maxx 2250 20C battery so I don't think it will over tax this motor.

Sorry - didn't do the RPMs on that run but I might be able to tonight We'll see what my Eagle Tree says.


Hillbille
hillbille is offline  
Old 09-11-2008, 06:27 AM
  #93  
tommytorino
tommydsblog.blogspot.com
 
tommytorino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 494
Default

I got to hand it to Parkzone, this is a pretty neat Sport Scale model.

Stripping the paint on mine as we speak.

Figure a Power 15 on 4S aught' to do it. <600+W for 40A>

Tommy D
tommytorino is offline  
Old 09-11-2008, 03:33 PM
  #94  
Lieutenant Loughead
UNCLUB OWNER
 
Lieutenant Loughead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 4,406
Default

Originally Posted by tommytorino View Post
Stripping the paint on mine as we speak.
WHY on heaven's earth would you strip the paint?!

Also -- HOW are you stripping the paint? :o
Lieutenant Loughead is offline  
Old 09-11-2008, 03:44 PM
  #95  
FlyingMonkey
Flite Test Fan
 
FlyingMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: 32459
Posts: 8,930
Default

I believe he said, oven cleaner...
FlyingMonkey is offline  
Old 09-12-2008, 12:11 AM
  #96  
tommytorino
tommydsblog.blogspot.com
 
tommytorino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 494
Default

Originally Posted by Lieutenant Loughead View Post
WHY on heaven's earth would you strip the paint?!

Also -- HOW are you stripping the paint? :o
If this model proves to be 1/2 as popular as the Trojan my club field will be littered with them. That said I would like my model to look <and fly> a little different.

Once you hold one of these models in your hand you will see why I'm stripping it. The paint comes off pretty much on it's own in quite a few spots. So I cant see painting over something thats not even bonded to the model in the 1st place.

In the end I used a liberal amount of automotive brake cleaner and a LOT of rags to remove the paint.

Tommy D
tommytorino is offline  
Old 09-12-2008, 12:12 AM
  #97  
tommytorino
tommydsblog.blogspot.com
 
tommytorino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 494
Default

Originally Posted by FlyingMonkey View Post
I believe he said, oven cleaner...
Started with that, but it was taking too long
tommytorino is offline  
Old 09-12-2008, 03:53 AM
  #98  
FlyingMonkey
Flite Test Fan
 
FlyingMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: 32459
Posts: 8,930
Default

Originally Posted by tommytorino View Post
If this model proves to be 1/2 as popular as the Trojan my club field will be littered with them.
are the members of the club that bad of pilots?

FlyingMonkey is offline  
Old 09-12-2008, 10:35 AM
  #99  
tommytorino
tommydsblog.blogspot.com
 
tommytorino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 494
Default

Yes they are! In fact at a local club the garbage can is labeled "electric only"!!

Tommy D
tommytorino is offline  
Old 09-16-2008, 02:27 AM
  #100  
guapoman2000
Space Ship 1
 
guapoman2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 1,439
Default

Originally Posted by hillbille View Post
Yep - Post #84 - Decided to go with a GWS 1060 X 3 that I had ordered to use on another project. Balanced easily and on my wattmeter showed 19.6 amps @ wot and 237 watts on a 12.2v 3s1p loong maxx 2250 20C battery so I don't think it will over tax this motor.

Sorry - didn't do the RPMs on that run but I might be able to tonight We'll see what my Eagle Tree says.


Hillbille

Hillbille,

Any Eagle Tree Data yet?

How about telling us the top speed comparison between the STOCK propeller and that of GWS 3-Blade 10 X 6 X 3?
guapoman2000 is offline  

Quick Reply: PZ F4U Corsair


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.14460 seconds with 17 queries