Habu 32 - WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

General Electric Discussions Talk about topics related to e-powered RC flying

Habu 32

Old 02-28-2012, 10:53 AM
zakarian
Zak

Default Habu 32

Hello

First excuse my English because I am French.
While practicing the model aircraft for many years, I am a novice for EDF.
I have mounted the Habu 32 E-Flite fiber version, with the recommended equipment except the controller who is a J. Perkins model "En-ErG Pro B-115 Opto" 115 A continuous.

Problem: I put the engine full throttle, the aircraft on ground in static mode, and after a 1,3 minutes, the motor blocked and controller calcined.

The engine teardown, overheating is clearly visible and the coil at the black wire is fused, after the welding.

Thank you in advance for your help, I like to know the real cause of the problem before ordering a new motor and controller.

Regards
Zak
Old 02-28-2012, 05:13 PM
NJSwede
3D wannabe

Originally Posted by zakarian View Post

Hello

First excuse my English because I am French.
While practicing the model aircraft for many years, I am a novice for EDF.
I have mounted the Habu 32 E-Flite fiber version, with the recommended equipment except the controller who is a J. Perkins model "En-ErG Pro B-115 Opto" 115 A continuous.

Problem: I put the engine full throttle, the aircraft on ground in static mode, and after a 1,3 minutes, the motor blocked and controller calcined.

The engine teardown, overheating is clearly visible and the coil at the black wire is fused, after the welding.

Thank you in advance for your help, I like to know the real cause of the problem before ordering a new motor and controller.

Regards
Zak
Zak, I'm no expert, but running the motor on the ground for more than a few seconds is usually a no-no! The ESC depends on cooling it gets from the headwind as the model travels through the air.
Old 02-28-2012, 09:39 PM
dkrhardy