New motor runs HOT! - WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

Beginners New to e-power flying? Get the low down in here from experienced e-power RC pilots!

New motor runs HOT!

Old 04-06-2011, 02:51 AM
xmech2k
Ya got any Beeman's?

Default New motor runs HOT!

OK, I studied the 'Everything You Wanted to Know About Electric Flight' section here, and came up with this combo to re-power my underpowered Phase3 P-40:

Motor 1200kv - 16A - 11V
ESC 20A - 30A burst - 2 to 4 cell lipo
Batt 3s - 1600 mAh - 20C
Used P-40 stock prop, which through some research, I guess is 8.5x8

I ran with the batt at 50% charge, and while I did pull 17.6A peak for a few seconds, it usually was 15 or below. Peak watts was 186. The motor started getting hot at higher power, so I ran it at lower power and it still gets hotter. ESC was getting a little warm, too.

Is something wrong with my setup with the electronics side, or is it just too much prop? I figured the stock motor never got hot, so the same prop on a stronger motor would be OK. (Stock setup pulled max 10.4A 104W)

I guess since motors don't have a 'burst' rating, the 17.6A isn't cool? (Pardon the pun...)

Thanks in advance for any input!
Old 04-06-2011, 04:27 AM
kevinm

what make model of motor? do you have an 8X5 to try?
Old 04-06-2011, 04:33 AM
CHELLIE
Super Contributor

My guess is that your motor is a little over proped, the motor specs. will help. MFG, SIZE, ETC.
Old 04-06-2011, 04:41 AM
Larry3215
Look out for that tree!!!

If you're running on the bench - ANY motor will run hot.

Also, running at less than full throttle is harder on the esc than running at full throttle so it will also run hotter on the bench for that reason plus the lack of cooling AIR FLOW.

The prop moves a lot of air but very little of that movement is at the center where the motor is. IIRC, 90%+ of the air flow is in the outer 20-30% of the diameter.