Warbird Electrics Discuss e-powered warbirds in here!

PZ F4U Corsair

Old 10-01-2008, 06:36 PM
  #126  
papabatman
Member
 
papabatman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 74
Default

Originally Posted by guapoman2000 View Post
Bill G,

No problem, whenever you get a chance to take the picture that will be fine.

================================================== ==

That Video certainly shows lots of wind but, like a few have already pointed out, the Video does not show the actual flight nor crash so, no telling if the winds were at fault for the damage shown in the Video.

I have flown my PZ Corsair in 12 MPH gusts and was excellent flyer and still could manage the wind. It came down dead stick for a landing using rudder to keep the wings level.

I suspect that it was more like Pilot error that cause the damage "or" RC Flyer Judgement issue should the winds were indeed that much and the model was attempted to fly in that.

Carlos

yes pilot error big factor i should not have flow it in those cross winds then when i realized my mistake it was to late she was just flipping side ways very hard to control then when i did get her nose in to the wind she did great as i was getting closer to the ground got hit again with a whipping cross wind that caused her to roll and or flip in a sideway way not good crashed hard

my fault all the way this is one fine bird parts will be here tomorrow also glued it all back together and it could fly
papabatman is offline  
Old 10-01-2008, 08:54 PM
  #127  
Gohmer
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 631
Default

I've had my PZ Corsair for a couple of weeks. About 20 flights on it stock except for better wheels. It's OK but not nearly as much fun as my brushless PZ P-51 or Spitfire.
Gohmer is offline  
Old 10-01-2008, 09:00 PM
  #128  
papabatman
Member
 
papabatman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 74
Default

Originally Posted by Gohmer View Post
I've had my PZ Corsair for a couple of weeks. About 20 flights on it stock except for better wheels. It's OK but not nearly as much fun as my brushless PZ P-51 or Spitfire.


so true it's a great bird out of the box, but you want just a better kick.

now just cause i say this doesn't mean i know what i am talking about.

put a 4s 2200 in try that, or go for a 11x8e apc prop then if you want even more upgrade to more power

i though a 6 series in my p-51 and it rocks now i am running power 15 in my corsair, and it to rocks
papabatman is offline  
Old 10-06-2008, 01:06 AM
  #129  
guapoman2000
Space Ship 1
 
guapoman2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 1,406
Default

Has anyone tried going with a different Propeller adapter for this model?

I am trying to see about some 3-bladed propellers but, the stock adapter is pretty large diameter and I do not want to ream all of my propellers just for this model.

Anyone?

.
guapoman2000 is offline  
Old 10-06-2008, 01:18 AM
  #130  
tommytorino
tommydsblog.blogspot.com
 
tommytorino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 494
Default

The only adapters I run are Hyperion brand. Good Stuff!
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	post5.jpg
Views:	356
Size:	151.8 KB
ID:	79962  
tommytorino is offline  
Old 10-06-2008, 01:24 AM
  #131  
guapoman2000
Space Ship 1
 
guapoman2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 1,406
Default

tommy!

Thanks, I will look into some of those adapters.

Carlos
guapoman2000 is offline  
Old 10-06-2008, 04:51 PM
  #132  
papabatman
Member
 
papabatman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 74
Default

here is my new pilot mod all stock but the wheels

i am so sorry i post the wrong video with the wrong music sorry here is the correct one
http://www.vimeo.com/1889774

Last edited by papabatman; 10-06-2008 at 07:08 PM. Reason: Video edited out due to explicit lyrics
papabatman is offline  
Old 10-11-2008, 04:56 PM
  #133  
papabatman
Member
 
papabatman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 74
Default

things falling off in flight as she barrel rolls to her death

[media]http://www.vimeo.com/1930263[/media]


[media]http://www.vimeo.com/1930267[/media]
papabatman is offline  
Old 10-12-2008, 12:04 AM
  #134  
jecchile
Member
 
jecchile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 190
Default

Originally Posted by Gohmer View Post
I've had my PZ Corsair for a couple of weeks. About 20 flights on it stock except for better wheels. It's OK but not nearly as much fun as my brushless PZ P-51 or Spitfire.
Do the P-51 and Spitfire come with "Brushless" motors? or did you modify them?
Thanks...
jecchile is offline  
Old 10-12-2008, 12:17 AM
  #135  
Gohmer
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 631
Smile Modified

I modified them. AXI 2212/20 in the P-51 and 2808/24 in the Spitfire. Corsair will get a 2808/24 soon. Stock brushless is junk.

Originally Posted by jecchile View Post
Do the P-51 and Spitfire come with "Brushless" motors? or did you modify them?
Thanks...
Gohmer is offline  
Old 10-12-2008, 05:16 AM
  #136  
jecchile
Member
 
jecchile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 190
Default

Originally Posted by Gohmer View Post
I modified them.
I love the look of the "War Bird" series that Park Zone has but I have not purchased one because of their radio systems and engines... I guess if you modified them, you had to put a new ESC and receiver also...

PZ, if they change the "war bird" series like they changed their little J-3 (Brushless, ESC and standard receiver/servos), they would have some kind of gold mine in those birds...
jecchile is offline  
Old 10-12-2008, 02:50 PM
  #137  
Lieutenant Loughead
UNCLUB OWNER
 
Lieutenant Loughead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 4,406
Default

Originally Posted by papabatman View Post
things falling off in flight as she barrel rolls to her death
Sooooo -- it looked like TWO things fell off during flight... Was it the canopy and a wing?

The damage really doesn't look too bad -- is it fixable?

Also -- I think that's the first Corsair with German markings I've ever seen... Is that historically accurate? Did the Germans ever capture a Corsair?
Lieutenant Loughead is offline  
Old 10-12-2008, 03:44 PM
  #138  
papabatman
Member
 
papabatman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 74
Default

Originally Posted by Lieutenant Loughead View Post
Sooooo -- it looked like TWO things fell off during flight... Was it the canopy and a wing?

The damage really doesn't look too bad -- is it fixable?

Also -- I think that's the first Corsair with German markings I've ever seen... Is that historically accurate? Did the Germans ever capture a Corsair?

thanks for asking it was a wing and a canopy. so i figured if i was going to test unproven stuff i should have the enemy do it for me. so i let them German's capture, and run the test while i spyed on them. proved to be a good idea the pilot didn't live. for real live i have no idea, and i made up the paint pattern cause i though it looked cool

she is all back together nothing was to bad that glue couldn't fix and time. will test again today with a smaller prop (ie Germans test i will spy)
papabatman is offline  
Old 10-12-2008, 03:56 PM
  #139  
FlyingMonkey
Flite Test Fan
 
FlyingMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: 32459
Posts: 8,930
Default

FlyingMonkey is offline  
Old 10-12-2008, 03:58 PM
  #140  
Lieutenant Loughead
UNCLUB OWNER
 
Lieutenant Loughead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 4,406
Default

How strange -- how could the Germans get their hands on a F4-U Corsair? Wasn't the Corsair limited to use in the Pacific theater?
Lieutenant Loughead is offline  
Old 10-12-2008, 04:03 PM
  #141  
FlyingMonkey
Flite Test Fan
 
FlyingMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: 32459
Posts: 8,930
Default

one of the stories I read, was that the Japanese sent one to Germany
FlyingMonkey is offline  
Old 10-12-2008, 04:08 PM
  #142  
FlyingMonkey
Flite Test Fan
 
FlyingMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: 32459
Posts: 8,930
Default

Here is a bit taken from http://"http://www.fleetairarmarchiv...Homepage.html"


Corsair JT404 of 1841 squadron. Involved in anti-submarine patrol from HMS Formidable enroute to Scapa after Operation Mascot against the German Battleship Tirpitz, in company with Barracuda of Wing Leader Lt Cdr RS Baker-Falkner. Emergency landing in a field at Sorvag, Hameroy, near Bodo, Norway on 18 July 1944. The pilot Lt Mattholie taken POW and the aircraft captured intact with no damage. The german authorities made attempts to get the pilot to explain how to fold the wings so as to transport the aircraft to Narvik. Aircraft was ferried by boat for further investigation. It is not known if the Corsair was taken to Germany. This was probably the first Corsair captured by the Germans. Aircraft is listed at Rechlin for 1944 under repair.
FlyingMonkey is offline  
Old 10-13-2008, 10:02 PM
  #143  
papabatman
Member
 
papabatman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 74
Default

wow what fun facts i just did it not knowing

[media]http://www.vimeo.com/1948808[/media]
this is after everything was reinforced and retested better luck this time i don't think there is any way to make this bird any faster thats it i am happy with it

also the metallic green really helps to see this bird when she is up up there it gleams nicely


http://www.vimeo.com/1948862

enjoy look close at 45 seconds on both
papabatman is offline  
Old 10-13-2008, 11:49 PM
  #144  
Aviator24
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 61
Default

What 4 cell 14.8V Lipo is anyone able to fit in the Corsair without cutting out the slot bigger???
Aviator24 is offline  
Old 10-13-2008, 11:56 PM
  #145  
papabatman
Member
 
papabatman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 74
Default

had to cut..

also burnt my stock motor today my fault running big props again with the 4s 11x8 just a bit to big with all that power
papabatman is offline  
Old 10-14-2008, 12:34 AM
  #146  
Aviator24
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 61
Default

The more I look into upgrading this bird, the more I am thinking a bigger motor is the ticket. From what I can see, I can simply bolt on a power 10 or 15 and use the stock esc and 3 cell lipos!?!?!?!?!?!?
Aviator24 is offline  
Old 10-14-2008, 02:09 AM
  #147  
tommytorino
tommydsblog.blogspot.com
 
tommytorino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 494
Default

Fun stuff... Zoom Zoom!!

[media]http://www.vimeo.com/1891439[/media]

Now someone send me my @#$% Blizzard before I put this thing on 5s!!

Tommy D
tommytorino is offline  
Old 10-14-2008, 03:37 AM
  #148  
papabatman
Member
 
papabatman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 74
Default

@#$% Blizzard

sent. can you run 5s it's already to fast now goes out of range if you look down for a second

fun fact i took tommytorino advise and built this


http://www.vimeo.com/1960255

full throttle know nothing else
papabatman is offline  
Old 10-14-2008, 08:08 PM
  #149  
Aviator24
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 61
Default

Anyone have any luck trying a prop that did not come with this awesome bird??
If so, can I get the make and size? Would like to try another prop myself but afraid to get the wrong one??
Aviator24 is offline  
Old 10-15-2008, 01:28 AM
  #150  
Bad_B
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Upland, CA.
Posts: 49
Default

Aviator24,
I know you can mount E-fliteís Power 10 directly to the stock motor mount with no modifications. The power 10 will require an upgrade in the ESC to a 35A minimum. Iím not sure what the stock battery on the RTF version of the Corsair is, but if its 2000 mAh 3s lipo you should be fine. I just cut and pasted the following from another post I made about a T-28 motor upgrade:
The E-flite Power 10 puts out 371 watts using the battery I mentioned above and a 12 x 6 prop which would yield 185.5 watts per lb off my watt meter. Iím using a Thunderbird 36A ESC with mine, but the specs say it can run off a 35A- 40A ESC. At 150-200 watts per lb you enter what E-flite calls unlimited performance. Well, I can say I am very, very happy on this setup. All the power I want is there and I didnít have to glass the wings, run carbon spars etc. The Power 10 was an easy swap, no drilling extra holes etc. The CG was spot on too, so no nasty tail weight was needed. The power 10 was $74.99 at my LHS. Spend the extra money and youíll have no regrets.

Another thing to consider is the application of this power. The plane is fast, but not unmanageable and I donít have to program any expo into my radio to fly it either. You will need to be careful with your throttle control, donít use wide open throttle for more than 15 seconds at a time and make sure you let it cool down a bit between max bursts. I get an easy 11 minutes of mixed flight time off the Power 10 setup and 15 + when I just use the power to gain altitude then glide down.
As far as simply running a larger prop on the stock motor or running a 4s lipo and getting better performance, I doubt it. Google motorcalc (free for 30 days?) and enter the specs of the prop, motor, battery, weight, wing loading etc and it will give you a rough idea if the weight to performance ratio will work.

Hope that helps,

Brian
Bad_B is offline  

Quick Reply: PZ F4U Corsair


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.11687 seconds with 12 queries