Flight Simulators Discuss computer flight simulators here

real flight basic problem

Old 01-06-2013, 03:18 AM
  #1  
hkeelljr
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 307
Default real flight basic problem

About three years ago I purchased the Real Flight Basic sim. and have used it without any problems until recently. Started to used it one day and got an error message and it would not boot up. Tried undown loading it and re- down loading it to no avail. Called and left a message with customer service but no word yet. Has anyone else had this problem before?
hkeelljr is offline  
Old 01-06-2013, 05:41 PM
  #2  
max2112
Super Contributor
 
max2112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 1,550
Default

Originally Posted by hkeelljr View Post
About three years ago I purchased the Real Flight Basic sim. and have used it without any problems until recently. Started to used it one day and got an error message and it would not boot up. Tried undown loading it and re- down loading it to no avail. Called and left a message with customer service but no word yet. Has anyone else had this problem before?
Sorry HKjr, I haven't seen or heard of that one before. What does the error message say?

and Welcome to WattFlyer! I hope we can get you back on track.
max2112 is offline  
Old 01-06-2013, 05:48 PM
  #3  
DCDetector
Member
 
DCDetector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 179
Default

I've installed it on a Windows XP and a Windows 7 with no issues.
DCDetector is offline  
Old 01-06-2013, 07:30 PM
  #4  
hkeelljr
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 307
Default

The message is "Knife Edge Software installer has stopped working." And our system operates on Windows 7. Thanks for the help.
hkeelljr is offline  
Old 01-07-2013, 01:21 PM
  #5  
Fishbonez
Love my Stinger
 
Fishbonez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 2,951
Default

Do you have another computer to install it on such as a laptop? If it will not install on the other and you get a similar error message you know it is the software. If it does install then you know its a windows problem. Hope this helps if not a little
Fishbonez is offline  
Old 01-07-2013, 06:01 PM
  #6  
hkeelljr
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 307
Default

Fishbonez, Yes I did try to load it to a laptop, and it didn't work. It is on another system in the house but I haven't tried to run the program with the controller yet as that unit is tied up with my youngest son. Oh well, I thank you much for the info. Maybe I can use this as an excuse to the wife,no way, to purchase something better.
hkeelljr is offline  
Old 01-07-2013, 07:52 PM
  #7  
hkeelljr
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 307
Default

Good News Fishbonez, I tried it on the other computer we have and it works! Thanks again for your input.
hkeelljr is offline  
Old 01-08-2013, 04:13 AM
  #8  
Fishbonez
Love my Stinger
 
Fishbonez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 2,951
Default

Cool
Im Glad you were able to get it to work and enjoy
Fishbonez is offline  
Old 07-17-2013, 04:08 PM
  #9  
Slowjohn
Passed on
 
Slowjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mid Coastal TX.
Posts: 2,100
Default

I just bought a used RF Basic unit but can not get it to load to my computer. Have a Gateway running XP. I've not much knowledge of computers so if a CD doesn't auto load then I'm stumped. Anyone know what I can do?

Standing By,
SJ
Slowjohn is offline  
Old 07-17-2013, 07:15 PM
  #10  
xmech2k
Ya got any Beeman's?
 
xmech2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 3,100
Default

First, have you checked your computer meets the requirements to run it? The requirements should be on the box or in the manual. You can get some of your computer specs by right-clicking 'My Computer' then clicking 'Properties'. What version of RF is it? If your computer can run graphic intensive video games, it should be OK as long as it meets the specs. If it's a newer version of RF and an older computer, you may not be able to run it.

By 'not auto-loading', do you mean the program isn't starting automatically when you put the disc in the drive? If that's the case, just put it in, click the 'Start' button, then 'My Computer', then double-click the CD drive and it should start.
xmech2k is offline  
Old 07-17-2013, 08:59 PM
  #11  
Slowjohn
Passed on
 
Slowjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mid Coastal TX.
Posts: 2,100
Default

Howdy xmech2k,
Yes I checked & it should work I would think. The copyright date on the RF "Basic" box is 2009 and my computer is loaded with a 2002 version of XP w/service pack 3.
You mentioned "graphic intensive video games", there's no games on my computer like that so is there a driver or something that I'm missing maybe?
I tried what you suggested but all I get is a window telling me to "Please insert a disk into drive D:." which I've already done.
Wonder if I can do w/o this infernal contraption long enough to take it to a Tech for a day or two
Second question is if I can afford it

BTW, since I can't seem to use the "Basic" version of RealFlight, I doubt I will be able to use the MS Combat simulator setup I just got the Joystick for a few weeks ago but haven't taken the time to try & install it

It's gonna get better I keep telling myself

Standing By,
SJ
Slowjohn is offline  
Old 07-17-2013, 09:32 PM
  #12  
xmech2k
Ya got any Beeman's?
 
xmech2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 3,100
Default

If it's not recognizing there is even a disk in the drive, Check the condition of the disk first. Lots of fingerprints, scratches? Maybe used as a coaster for a while? If not, could be your CD drive is bad or something in the computer itself. Are other CD's working? Try that MSCFS and see if it'll work.

These kind of graphics intensive games/sims need a good video card in the computer. Do you know if the computer even has one? Maybe you have the documentation from when you bought it, or you could try right clicking a blank part of the desktop, and clicking either 'Graphics Properties' or it may just say 'Properties'. The window that comes up, or somewhere in that window, it should name the graphics card if it has one. And then the graphics card would determine what drivers are in the computer. In this case, you're looking for a card supporting DirectX9.

I also just noticed on the RealFlight Systems Requirements page, it says you need a DVD drive. As simple as this sounds, is your computer drive DVD or CD? Gotta check the basics! That could explain your drive not recognizing the disk.

Much more than this, and it's getting out of my computer skill range, short of me driving over to your place!(That'll cost a LOT of beer!)
xmech2k is offline  
Old 07-18-2013, 06:06 PM
  #13  
Slowjohn
Passed on
 
Slowjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mid Coastal TX.
Posts: 2,100
Default

Some work & some don't The MSCFS disk loaded just fine but I'm not able to use either one of my USB Joysticks & one of them is brand spanking new
I still had some fun with the Combat Flight Simulator though using the keyboard & mouse

I didn't find anything about "DirectX9" under the "Graphics Properties" although under the 'Schemes' tab everything was empty except for the Color (All or True color) display. As for the drive being DVD or CD I haven't a clue. Where do I look for that

We've lost power 4 times in the last 24 hrs. It's been storming & the power company has been working on the lines just a few blocks away too so no telling what's caused me to have to re-type this 3 times so far

It'll all get better soon
Sending you a PM.

Standing By,
SJ
Slowjohn is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Flite-Metal
Electric Ducted Fan Jets
277
01-27-2020 03:30 PM
ChuckD
Beginners
2
07-28-2012 05:49 AM
QuietRCFly
General RC items For Sale and WTB
3
07-17-2012 05:36 PM
AEAJR
Hi-Performance and Sailplanes
26
07-23-2011 04:27 AM
CPomeroy
Beginners
30
02-12-2011 09:45 AM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Quick Reply: real flight basic problem


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.08376 seconds with 13 queries