Beginner Scratchbuild... - WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

Beginners New to e-power flying? Get the low down in here from experienced e-power RC pilots!

Beginner Scratchbuild...

Old 08-04-2010, 02:32 PM
CPomeroy
C Pomeroy

Question Beginner Scratchbuild...

Okay, so I'm new to RC.
yeah, you're already preparing the response of 'buy a trainer!'
I have had (and still do have) one aeroplane, which is a ParkZone spitfire. I CAN fly it, and (I would say) I am moderately O.K at landings (belly landings).
Trouble is, I'm close to finishing a scratchbuilt Niueport 11, from plans that I got free with a copy of 'Quiet and Electric Flight' magazine, and I don't know whether The covering has been done properly.

Recently, my spitfire crashed, as a result of signal loss (nothing to do with me!) and while i build up the courage to fly the repaired 'squarefire' I'm finishing the nieuport.

Anyway, just looking for pointers on covering with balsaloc and litespan for when I build the next plane!

If you want to see the spitfire in action:
[media]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aTPn_N9GG8Q[/media]

If you want to see the crash (and the subsequent stingy repair job):
[media]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tCDZEE63VB4[/media]

Suggestions, except those along the lines of: 'why did you buy a low wing as your first plane? Get a Cub!' are all welcome.
Old 08-04-2010, 02:46 PM
CPomeroy
C Pomeroy

Here are some Photos of the plane.

it's minus the top wings, obviously.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	P1000428.jpg
Views:	145
Size:	238.6 KB
ID:	133097   Click image for larger version

Name:	P1000427.jpg
Views:	164
Size:	74.3 KB
ID:	133098  

Last edited by CPomeroy; 08-04-2010 at 02:54 PM. Reason: Forgot!
Old 08-04-2010, 03:52 PM
Glacier Girl
Kamikaze Ace

Nice job!!!!

This should give you a good bit of reading and you can pick up some good tips on covering.

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=711624