Hobbico NexStar Mini EP R-XR vs RTF - WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

Beginners New to e-power flying? Get the low down in here from experienced e-power RC pilots!

Hobbico NexStar Mini EP R-XR vs RTF

Old 08-04-2010, 03:30 AM
BenLewNC-4

Default Hobbico NexStar Mini EP R-XR vs RTF

Hello, I am new to WF and to the hobby of rc airplanes!

For my first airplane I was thinking of buying the Hobbico NexStar Mini EP. This comes in the RTF version which includes everything you need to fly and a tactic 4 ch tx, or the R-XR (PNP) version which doesn't have a battery or tx rx. My question is whether i should go with the RTF and the included radio, or if I should buy the Spektrum dx5e radio with 5 channels for $60. The reason I would do this is so that I could have a 5 ch radio which I could keep for other planes. Is this radio compatible, and what receiver would I need to purchase? How much would the right rx be? Also, what battery/charger would you recommend? So pretty much im just asking what I would need to buy if I went with the R-XR version (and what brands you would recommend) and how much all the additional stuff would cost.

Thanks alot!
Old 08-04-2010, 04:17 PM
Glacier Girl
Kamikaze Ace

Welcome to the ADDICTION Ben, and to WATTFLYER!!!

Are you going to try and be self taught or going with an instructor?

If you are going the self taught route, I'd shy away from a balsa bird. A foamy is so much easier to repair when you boink it. And you are going to boink it.

There are quite a few foam birds out there that are good trainers.

If you are going the instructor route the Nexstar isn't a bad bird. It does have some built in features for crash damage prevention.