My next trainer must be electric... So what do I do now? - WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

General Electric Discussions Talk about topics related to e-powered RC flying

My next trainer must be electric... So what do I do now?

Old 09-19-2009, 12:45 PM
Speedtorque

Default My next trainer must be electric... So what do I do now?

Hi, there I recently moved locations and found that my new local flying club cannot accept glow powered flight, electric only.

Now both flying and electrics are not new to me, but I am still a beginner. I could solo at my last club, meaning they thought I was safe, but I am still not great at landings (without breakages).

For this new club, I have told them my position and that I feel I need some more tuition. Although confident that I will be able to solo soon enough, I/we feel that I'm still at the stage where I need a trainer.

They advised my to look at this: http://www.servoshop.co.uk/index.php...&area=Aircraft

And why not? It's a standard trainer, it's sensible and cheap. it looks as ugly as my last trainer (Thunder Tiger 40), but that looked nice in the air. I'm sure this will to. However, nearly all manufactures are now suggesting that any of their range is "potentially electric" and there are nicer trainers out there.

When I looked at the recommended power set up for the E-Pioneer, I became very confused. Moto calc gave many suggestions, but most involved using multiple packs or 3 or 4 cells lipos and lots of strange prop sizes. I'm totally confused by it. The reviews used 4 cells and a 42mm out runner, but said it was too much and suggested 3 cells. http://www.peakeff.com/PickMotor.aspx suggest 5 or 6 cell with really small motors and props.

So, before I buy anything. can someone help me through my ideal set up please?