Problems arming Hextronik 36A ESC - WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

Power Systems Talk about motors, ESC speed controllers, gear drives, propellers, power system simulators and all power system related topics

Problems arming Hextronik 36A ESC

Old 05-31-2008, 03:21 PM
  #1  
budokaiboy
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 15
Default Problems arming Hextronik 36A ESC

Hey guys, I just converted a mini rio boat to brushless. When I try to arm the 36A Hextronik ESC it arms, but as I release the trigger on 3 different radios and receivers that I tried, the motor starts to spin up before the trigger gets back to its' "normal" position. I've tried playing with the travel adjustments on my Spektrums DX3R and DX3 and even used a Traxxas TQ2 from a Rustler VXL .

So, it does arm but I can't let go of the trigger without it engaging the throttle.

I also tried a Phoenix 25A ESC and it did the same thing.
budokaiboy is offline  
Old 05-31-2008, 07:10 PM
  #2  
gyrocptr
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Neenah Wisconsin
Posts: 246
Default

Could you provide the brand of radio that you have?
When the trigger is "pulled", is that your "hi" throttle or "low" throttle position?
gyrocptr is offline  
Old 05-31-2008, 08:58 PM
  #3  
donjiskra
WAA-08 Pilot
 
donjiskra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Darien, IL USA
Posts: 905
Default

Hi,
I had a similar problem, but had to adjust the low end "Throttle Off" setting
on my computerized JR X642 transmitter.

I have the HXT 36A ESC and ordered the USB programmer with it ($3.95), sure makes it easy to do the set up. It's a great ESC!!!!

Don
donjiskra is offline  
Old 05-31-2008, 10:57 PM
  #4  
budokaiboy
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 15
Default

Thanks buddy! I also have the usb programmer I left everything at default except the cutoff voltage.
budokaiboy is offline  
Old 06-01-2008, 02:02 PM
  #5  
donjiskra
WAA-08 Pilot
 
donjiskra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Darien, IL USA
Posts: 905
Default

The "low voltage cut-off" is used for the battery pack, not throttle control.

You need to set your transmitter low idle throttle setting.
Check your transmittter.

Don
donjiskra is offline  
Old 06-01-2008, 03:49 PM
  #6  
budokaiboy
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 15
Default

Gyro, I have a couple of Spektrum radios. One is a 3R and the other is a 3XR.
budokaiboy is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
burncycle
Micro Sized Electric Helicopters
0
01-13-2008 03:35 AM
why_fly_high
Motors and Speed Controllers for sale & WTB
0
12-26-2007 05:41 PM
stampede_dude
Power Systems
4
11-23-2007 09:53 PM
peterkron
General Electric Discussions
19
03-03-2007 05:01 AM
triniheli
Power Systems
5
02-24-2007 11:32 PM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On


Quick Reply: Problems arming Hextronik 36A ESC


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.05797 seconds with 11 queries