DX6i Binding Problems - WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

DX6i Binding Problems

Old 05-27-2008, 02:45 AM
  #1  
Daylight99
Member
Thread Starter
 
Daylight99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Fontana, Ca
Posts: 107
Default DX6i Binding Problems

Hi Friends
I have a binding problem with my new DX6i. I follow the instructions on binding and at first it seems to work perfect but when I turn everything off and then on again the binding is lost. Now here is the strange part. If I turn the Rx on first (binding plug is removed) then hold the bind switch on the Tx as I turn it on it binds without problem till I turn things off again. I go through this everytime I turn the system on.

Any ideas?

Bob Russell
Daylight99 is offline  
Old 05-27-2008, 03:05 AM
  #2  
marchino61
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 261
Default

I found the binding instructions with the DX6i very confusing. I followed the instructions given with the receiver instead.

One obvious question - are you forgetting to remove the bind plug after binding is complete?
marchino61 is offline  
Old 05-27-2008, 03:15 AM
  #3  
adhoc
(inactive)
 
adhoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 589
Default

How long are you waiting for the connection? I've noticed my DX6i sometimes (often?) takes longer than my DX6 did. I don't know if this is related to DSM2, or ModelMatch, or what. Seems like my DX6/AR6000s would connect in just a few seconds, while my DX6i and all receivers (AR6000s and newer) can take 30 seconds or even more. Sometimes when this happens I switch my transmitter off and on again; sometimes I have to move around (usually away from the receiver; I've heard too close messes up the signal)...

I wouldn't be inclined to hold the bind switch with the bind plug out of the receiver; I'd be afraid it would UN-bind...
adhoc is offline  
Old 05-27-2008, 03:44 AM
  #4  
Daylight99
Member
Thread Starter
 
Daylight99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Fontana, Ca
Posts: 107
Default

It binds fast, it just won't hold the bind when I turn things off
Daylight99 is offline  
Old 05-27-2008, 05:26 AM
  #5  
adhoc
(inactive)
 
adhoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 589
Default

I'm wasn't talking about binding; I was talking about how long it takes the (already bound) transmitter and receiver to establish a connection on powerup...

When you say it "won't hold the bind" when you turn it off, what exactly do you mean? You turn it back on, and wait some period of time for the connection to establish, right? The little light on the receivers starts OFF, and you have no control, and after some seconds, the light on the receiver turns ON, and now you have control. How long are you waiting for that to happen?

Is it possible you are giving up too soon, expecting the connection to establish immediately? It won't always happen that fast...
adhoc is offline  
Old 05-27-2008, 08:32 AM
  #6  
Twmaster
Registered User
 
Twmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dallas, TX, USA
Posts: 6,632
Default

Just remember, for binding to be complete you have to wait until the flashing light on the RX stops flashing. Then turn everything off (RX first) then remove binding plug. Then turn TX on, then RX.

Are you using any external BEC devices? Older rev Castle BEC's have an issue with Spektrum RX's and binding.
Twmaster is offline  
Old 05-28-2008, 01:32 AM
  #7  
Rabbitcreekok
Community Moderator
 
Rabbitcreekok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: McAlester, Oklahoma
Posts: 8,801
Default

Originally Posted by Daylight99 View Post
Hi Friends
I have a binding problem with my new DX6i. I follow the instructions on binding and at first it seems to work perfect but when I turn everything off and then on again the binding is lost. Now here is the strange part. If I turn the Rx on first (binding plug is removed) then hold the bind switch on the Tx as I turn it on it binds without problem till I turn things off again. I go through this everytime I turn the system on.

Any ideas?

Bob Russell
Remember that binding is the process where the transmitter is bound to the receiver with the use of the bind plug. Then as has been stated, remove the plug. Always turn off the receiver, usually by unplugging the battery before turning off the transmitter. This only needs to be done once.

Linking is the other process where the transmitter is turned on first, set to the correct model, and the receiver is turned on, again usually by plugging in the battery. No need to hold the bind button down at this point. The transmitter then links with the receiver and the receiver stops flashing. But, it must be the correct model

The bind button is now used as a range check button, held down as you move away from the model.

This kind of summarizes all that has been stated before.
Rabbitcreekok is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Mike Freas
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros
9
04-24-2012 03:55 PM
popriv
General Electric Discussions
11
10-27-2008 03:25 AM
btyler
General Electric Discussions
9
09-21-2008 05:36 AM
sapper378
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros
7
06-19-2008 05:48 AM
neilg.
E-Flite Helicopters
7
05-01-2008 03:06 AM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Quick Reply: DX6i Binding Problems


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.09374 seconds with 13 queries