Build Thread for Rhythm 3D Bipe - Page 6 - WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

3D Flying Discuss everything related to "3D" flying including construction, power setups and flying techniques

Build Thread for Rhythm 3D Bipe

Old 07-08-2008, 05:00 PM
  #126  
ministeve2003
Class Clown
 
ministeve2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montclair, California
Posts: 4,472
Default

do you know of any other planes that fly as well as this one? that are fairly inexpensive...that is...lol
SK
ministeve2003 is offline  
Old 07-08-2008, 05:24 PM
  #127  
bhatch21
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 153
Default

Hi all. I finally got mine built and flown. It came at 12.7-13.2ozs. AUW depending on the battery. I was using 3s 1000mah 20C batteries on my Tower Pro 2409-18T motor spinning a 9x3.8 SF prop.

The plane seemed a bit nose heavy but I was able to trim it out. My power setup was pulling about 130 watts which was more than enough for hovering and unlimited verticals. It had almost too much rudder authority and displayed some coupling during slow speed Knife edge flight. This could be because of the high battery placement in the fuselage. I've had 4 bipes and yet to find one with as little coupling as my Eflite Tribute FX 3D. The Rhythm did seem like it was going to be pretty easy to hold in a hover though.

The HXT 5g servo on the elevator wasn't giving me enough throw. It took about 50' to rotate off the runway. The gear seemed sturdy enough during my asphalt landings. I opted to use epoxy there on the 3 spots where it's attached to the plane. I also moved the ele/rud servos about 6 inches back. I fabricated my own aileron linkages with EZ connectors so I could have some adjustment. I'm confident after some tweaking, this will be a great plane, especially for the money.
bhatch21 is offline  
Old 07-08-2008, 05:34 PM
  #128  
bhatch21
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 153
Default

Originally Posted by ministeve2003 View Post
do you know of any other planes that fly as well as this one? that are fairly inexpensive...that is...lol
SK
I have the Phase 3 Fidget from Hobbypeople. It's one of my favorite park 3D planes. While I haven't flown the Rhythm much, I have over 50 flights on the Fidget and it's still going strong. I use the same Tower Pro setup on both. I think I paid $35 for the Fidget. It has a bigger battery bay that can fit a 3s 1300 and still balance close enough. It flies smooth and performs crisp moves, but it also has some coupling in a knife edge. I hope this helps.
bhatch21 is offline  
Old 07-08-2008, 05:45 PM
  #129  
ministeve2003
Class Clown
 
ministeve2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montclair, California
Posts: 4,472
Default

Originally Posted by bhatch21 View Post
Hi all. I finally got mine built and flown. It came at 12.7-13.2ozs. AUW depending on the battery. I was using 3s 1000mah 20C batteries on my Tower Pro 2409-18T motor spinning a 9x3.8 SF prop.

The plane seemed a bit nose heavy but I was able to trim it out. My power setup was pulling about 130 watts which was more than enough for hovering and unlimited verticals. It had almost too much rudder authority and displayed some coupling during slow speed Knife edge flight. This could be because of the high battery placement in the fuselage. I've had 4 bipes and yet to find one with as little coupling as my Eflite Tribute FX 3D. The Rhythm did seem like it was going to be pretty easy to hold in a hover though.

The HXT 5g servo on the elevator wasn't giving me enough throw. It took about 50' to rotate off the runway. The gear seemed sturdy enough during my asphalt landings. I opted to use epoxy there on the 3 spots where it's attached to the plane. I also moved the ele/rud servos about 6 inches back. I fabricated my own aileron linkages with EZ connectors so I could have some adjustment. I'm confident after some tweaking, this will be a great plane, especially for the money.
you may be right on your nose heavy part for yours... the coupling issue isn't there on mine... but I used a lighter higher power setup in front with slightly heavyier servos (hxt900s) all around... but they were moved back... so yours lighter tail heavyier front, would prob be more nose heavy...

although it wanting 50' for takeoff seems to be the same for me... I'm attributing that to the really low ground clearance...
SK
ministeve2003 is offline  
Old 07-08-2008, 05:55 PM
  #130  
ministeve2003
Class Clown
 
ministeve2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montclair, California
Posts: 4,472
Default

Originally Posted by bhatch21 View Post
I have the Phase 3 Fidget from Hobbypeople. It's one of my favorite park 3D planes. While I haven't flown the Rhythm much, I have over 50 flights on the Fidget and it's still going strong. I use the same Tower Pro setup on both. I think I paid $35 for the Fidget. It has a bigger battery bay that can fit a 3s 1300 and still balance close enough. It flies smooth and performs crisp moves, but it also has some coupling in a knife edge. I hope this helps.
I think the fidget was the other plane I was looking at at the same time... I just got the rhythm because it was $10 cheaper...LOL

how does the fidget fly with a 1000mah pack?

SK
ministeve2003 is offline  
Old 07-08-2008, 09:15 PM
  #131  
bhatch21
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 153
Default

Hey Steve. I fly my Fidget with 1300 and 1000 packs. It comes in btw 14-15ozs. w/ the 1000 pack. I use a 10x4.7 prop on it for 180 watts. I think it flies great with this setup. It slows down real nice and has awesome vertical performance. I think it has a little larger wingspan so the wing loading should be similar to the Rhythm. After some more flights, I'll probably end up liking them about the same.
bhatch21 is offline  
Old 07-08-2008, 11:33 PM
  #132  
pstrdenver
Member
Thread Starter
 
pstrdenver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Osceola, IN
Posts: 521
Default

[quote=bhatch21;437977]The HXT 5g servo on the elevator wasn't giving me enough throw. It took about 50' to rotate off the runway. [quote]

That is something I haven't noticed because I hand launch everytime.

Do you have to taxi with up elevator to keep the tail on the ground? The gear seems to be almost on top of the CG which make sit a liitle scary to taxi without nose overs. I have yet to have one but I keep up elevator at all times.

You guys are bringing up some good points and mods for this plane. My second one (when I get it) will be the better for it.
pstrdenver is offline  
Old 07-09-2008, 05:11 AM
  #133  
bhatch21
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 153
Default

I just powered her up and pulled back after 10' because that's all it takes for my Fidget to get in the air. When the Rhythm didn't rotate, I let it run about 20' with no inputs. Then I steadily gave it elevator until it jumped off the ground. It reminded me of the EDFs I've been flying lately. I've since added a servo arm extender to the elevator servo the give it alot more throw. We'll see if this helps.
bhatch21 is offline  
Old 07-09-2008, 06:55 AM
  #134  
ministeve2003
Class Clown
 
ministeve2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montclair, California
Posts: 4,472
Default

I think I just have too much expo on elevator, I'm sure if I gas it and give full elevator it will pull vertical very fast... but on less power, it prob needs more elevator throw, which I have at my disposal, but its all the way at the end of the 70% expo course it could be like you said, I could just be pulling back way too soon...

if we had used 2 aileron servos we could be using flapperons.... I'm sure it'd jump off the ground then...lol

guess I'm still used to a brushless supercub that takes off in 1ft or less...LOL
SK
ministeve2003 is offline  
Old 07-10-2008, 01:54 PM
  #135  
bhatch21
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 153
Default

I got a couple more flights on the Rhythm and it did great. The added throw on the elevator allowed it to jump off the runway in about 20'. I was giving it plenty of stick and it went from rolling out to climbing at 90 degrees in an instant. I've seen this behavior on my EDFs because their main gear is behind the CG. The Rhythm's gear is in front of the CG, but it's a puller. Maybe the takeoff characteristics are related to the gear placement.

In the air I was pleased with its performance. Even with a light breeze, I was able to hover it easily for 20-30 seconds at a time. Inverted flight was smooth and only required a little stick to stay level. The knife edges started looking better too. It seems to do better with a little speed and a small amount of rudder input. I think the drag from the large rudder surface increases the coupling. And the landing gear seems to be holding up well.
bhatch21 is offline  
Old 07-11-2008, 07:55 PM
  #136  
Old Fart
Lost at LAX
 
Old Fart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,171
Default

Well, looking in the "spare parts" box last night, I discovered a little KMS 31/09 motor (1100KV outrunner), guess I'll have to pick a prop and finally start on mine. Probably run a 1320/3S, although I'd love to find a prop that would let me run 1000/2S (as I have a bunch for the Hyperflea)
Old Fart is offline  
Old 07-11-2008, 10:19 PM
  #137  
pstrdenver
Member
Thread Starter
 
pstrdenver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Osceola, IN
Posts: 521
Default

Originally Posted by Old Fart View Post
Well, looking in the "spare parts" box last night, I discovered a little KMS 31/09 motor (1100KV outrunner), guess I'll have to pick a prop and finally start on mine. Probably run a 1320/3S, although I'd love to find a prop that would let me run 1000/2S (as I have a bunch for the Hyperflea)

I use a 2S 1300 pack and a 8x3.8 prop. This is about as low as I will go. (actually considering changing props) If you fly 1000mah packs you'll probably have to fly a bigger prop. Of course this means more amps.
pstrdenver is offline  
Old 07-12-2008, 08:26 PM
  #138  
Stanman
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 6
Default

Originally Posted by ministeve2003 View Post
if we had used 2 aileron servos we could be using flapperons.... I'm sure it'd jump off the ground then...lol

guess I'm still used to a brushless supercub that takes off in 1ft or less...LOL
SK
Would flapperons make this plane easier to land in "not short enough" grass without
the gear hanging and flipping it over? :o

It flys great but these hard landings are killing me, or is there a trick to landing it with a more nose-up attitude?

I have the COG at spec but would I be better off with it farther back?
Stanman is offline  
Old 07-14-2008, 04:09 PM
  #139  
Alpea42
Parkjets Rule 3D Rocks
 
Alpea42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: So. Ca. Chino
Posts: 3,646
Default

The Rythm needs another wing here's why http://www.youtube.com/my_favorites2# I liked it so much I gave it to Minnisteve after he burned up the 1st motor and we put his other motor on it.
Alpea42 is offline  
Old 07-14-2008, 04:31 PM
  #140  
ministeve2003
Class Clown
 
ministeve2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montclair, California
Posts: 4,472
Default

I think This Is the video Al tried to Post
http://www.vimeo.com/1330435

SK
ministeve2003 is offline  
Old 07-17-2008, 03:30 PM
  #141  
Alpea42
Parkjets Rule 3D Rocks
 
Alpea42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: So. Ca. Chino
Posts: 3,646
Default

Yeah that one and this one [media]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mHThCfRvXYs[/media]
Alpea42 is offline  
Old 07-23-2008, 03:56 PM
  #142  
pstrdenver
Member
Thread Starter
 
pstrdenver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Osceola, IN
Posts: 521
Default

starting to see some deteriation on thge lower wing tips due to not so level landings. Thinking about adding a sort of skid plate or something.

Anyone else experience/fix this?
pstrdenver is offline  
Old 07-23-2008, 04:27 PM
  #143  
ministeve2003
Class Clown
 
ministeve2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montclair, California
Posts: 4,472
Default

I used some of the extra cf stips on my bottom SFG's it touches that first and skids off the cf... so I haven't had any damage anywhere...
SK
ministeve2003 is offline  
Old 07-23-2008, 04:31 PM
  #144  
pstrdenver
Member
Thread Starter
 
pstrdenver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Osceola, IN
Posts: 521
Default

Originally Posted by ministeve2003 View Post
I used some of the extra cf stips on my bottom SFG's it touches that first and skids off the cf... so I haven't had any damage anywhere...
SK
I didn't install the SFG's, but I can see the value in maybe installing the bottom set just for the "skids" it would create. I'll give that some thought.
pstrdenver is offline  
Old 07-23-2008, 04:43 PM
  #145  
gzsfrk
Community Moderator
 
gzsfrk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 1,253
Default

Originally Posted by ministeve2003 View Post
do you know of any other planes that fly as well as this one? that are fairly inexpensive...that is...lol
SK
The Yak-55 from Hobby Lobby flies great, and is only $11.90 (well, the blue one is, at least; the other color schemes are $13.90 for some reason). I wrote a thread about my experiences with it here, and I've been tickled pink with how well it flies. Even had a couple of rough landings, and with a few dabs of Sumo glue, it's still going strong.
gzsfrk is offline  
Old 08-04-2008, 03:40 AM
  #146  
Alpea42
Parkjets Rule 3D Rocks
 
Alpea42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: So. Ca. Chino
Posts: 3,646
Default

Steve crashed into his Rythm while it sat in the pits yesterday .He missed 3 other planes and hit his own there was 9 planes to pick from.LOL James gorrilla glued it back together and we flew it today. Not havi9ng any luck uploading pics. will try later. And here's vid. of the after math http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/show...&postcount=564
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	James s planes 013.jpg
Views:	213
Size:	249.0 KB
ID:	74473   Click image for larger version

Name:	James s planes 012.jpg
Views:	196
Size:	186.0 KB
ID:	74474   Click image for larger version

Name:	James s planes 015.jpg
Views:	214
Size:	218.0 KB
ID:	74475   Click image for larger version

Name:	James s planes 017.jpg
Views:	215
Size:	122.1 KB
ID:	74476  

Last edited by Alpea42; 08-04-2008 at 11:36 AM.
Alpea42 is offline  
Old 08-11-2008, 03:03 AM
  #147  
shovelheadfreak
Foam Fears Me
 
shovelheadfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: illinois
Posts: 29
Default

just finished mine this morning and doing the maidens i noticed it didn't like outside loops. only put a couple on before dark so didn't get a chance to mess with it so maybe something simple. other than that it flew good. anyone have this problem or just me? thanks
shovelheadfreak is offline  
Old 08-11-2008, 03:11 AM
  #148  
ministeve2003
Class Clown
 
ministeve2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montclair, California
Posts: 4,472
Default

Originally Posted by shovelheadfreak View Post
just finished mine this morning and doing the maidens i noticed it didn't like outside loops. only put a couple on before dark so didn't get a chance to mess with it so maybe something simple. other than that it flew good. anyone have this problem or just me? thanks
I'll have to check that out.... I can't remember if it acted funny on those or not....

SK
ministeve2003 is offline  
Old 08-11-2008, 01:54 PM
  #149  
pstrdenver
Member
Thread Starter
 
pstrdenver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Osceola, IN
Posts: 521
Default

Mine does them fine. Not snappy but on track. Where are your throw settings? and what kinda power you using?
pstrdenver is offline  
Old 08-11-2008, 05:47 PM
  #150  
aero_k
Member
 
aero_k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 833
Default

Hey all, I did my first "real-life" hover this weekend with my rhythm. It just sort of hung there in the air, but then started toque rolling like crazy and fell out of it after a few seconds, but I was happy. Unfortunatley, I spent the right of the pack tryin to do it again without any luck. I think I just went into it at the perfect throttle setting to juts hold it there. I'll keep practicing. I noticed the motor was getting very hot on 3s with the 10x47, so I switched to 2s. It ran cooler and still seemed have enouh power to go vertical, so I'll stick with that from now on, until I can pick up some 9x4.7 props.

I'm currently putting together a "Clik" from plans from EDFrules that should give me some more 3D practice. I currently dont have a 3D plane thats not a bipe.

Happy flying...
aero_k is offline  

Quick Reply: Build Thread for Rhythm 3D Bipe


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.11727 seconds with 16 queries