Absolute beginner to R/C Flying! - WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

Beginners New to e-power flying? Get the low down in here from experienced e-power RC pilots!

Absolute beginner to R/C Flying!

Old 03-10-2008, 06:34 AM
JPilkinton

Default Absolute beginner to R/C Flying!

As the title says, I am new to this r/c flying. I used to be into R/C cars many moons ago. I built a plane out of balsa wood powered by a Cox .049 and a 2 channel remote. Needless to say, it NEVER left the ground. But I was 11 years old back then. I have always loved to have flown a R/C plane, but didn't know anything about how to do it. Now, 27 years later, I purchased my two first planes. They are both electric and RTF.
One is a two channel(el-cheapo) Air Earl Lear Jet. I figured I would start with this plane to give me some characteristics on flying planes. My second plane is the Art-Tech P-51D Mustang. When I first saw this plane, it was like love at first sight. Now this thing is a 4 channel and I haven't even completed the two channels yet. I also bought a 4 channel TX/RX that has a simulation port and a cable with software. My plan is to master the simulator first, then try the 2 channel plane and then try the mustang. I promise you I will be a nervous wreck on the first maiden of either plane. Both planes are still sealed in their boxes. I've been itching to take the lear jet out for a spin(will probably happen), but the weather here in Arkansas is terrible. It's only nice when I have to work, and on the weekends, it's cold and raining.
I have purchased an e-book on how to fly which I enjoy reading always.
And now I have stumbled onto this forum that has newbies(like myself) and veterans on flight. There is alot of good stuff here.
I was thinking about getting the Parkzone p-51 mustang, but I love the 4-bladed prop along with the landing gear of the Art-Tech one.