Parkzone typhoon 2 3d - Page 4 - WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

3D Flying Discuss everything related to "3D" flying including construction, power setups and flying techniques

Parkzone typhoon 2 3d

Old 08-01-2008, 03:30 PM
  #76  
jfw
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1
Default

Hi all
I'm new to this forum but I have some ideas that might help if speedies are overheating.
I built a typhoon from parts and only the airframe is Parkzone. I couldn't find a place for the speedie so mine sits loose under the canopy. I even turned in the section under the lower vent hole on the canopy for better air flow.
If the servos are drawing too much current you could try a UBEC.
Hope this helps
John
jfw is offline  
Old 08-02-2008, 09:50 AM
  #77  
humboldt guy
Member
 
humboldt guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Eureka, Ca.
Posts: 197
Default

I still think e-flite put out a batch of bad esc's. I replaced my original burned out esc with an identical spare, and have had no problems in 145 flights. But more airflow is always a good thing!
humboldt guy is offline  
Old 08-03-2008, 09:41 AM
  #78  
humboldt guy
Member
 
humboldt guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Eureka, Ca.
Posts: 197
Default

I swear this plane is jinxed. I just had the motor shaft on my e-flite park 400 inrunner break this morning, this after having the stock shaft break a while ago. And I fried up the PZ 480 BL outrunner I tried ( it ran great, just got too hot and). And of course the first esc fried...I haven't given up, and every thing has been replaced by horizon so far, but this thing has had more down time than up time so far. Next try will be an e-flite park 480 BL direct drive, I don't care for inrunners and gearboxes much anymore, and I loved the performance I had with the PZ outrunner, it was great (for 30 flights). But that PZ motor had a plastic housing on the back which threaded onto the motor, and that was where it failed. I think the e-flite motor will be fine. But that's all gonna have to wait cuz I just got a Mini Funtana X that's almost ready to fly!
humboldt guy is offline  
Old 08-05-2008, 03:01 AM
  #79  
gshort72
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2
Default

I have not had any failures, except for operator error. I had a major nose dive which snapped the fuse in two, stripped an aileron arm, and seperated the motor housing. I've tried recrimping the end plate back on with no success. I tried some hot glue, which worked very well until the motor got hot enough to melt my glue. When it seperates, the motor pops loose and I have no more motor power. As mentioned in other posts, this plane has a very poor glide path. I will be replacing the motor, but was wondering if you guys have figured out a replacement that will hold up. I may stick with an inrunner since I seem to like to land mine nose first. If a hard nose in pops the inrunner motors apart and renders them useless though, maybe I should go ahead and try an outrunner.
gshort72 is offline  
Old 08-05-2008, 07:26 AM
  #80  
humboldt guy
Member
 
humboldt guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Eureka, Ca.
Posts: 197
Default

Originally Posted by gshort72 View Post
I have not had any failures, except for operator error. I had a major nose dive which snapped the fuse in two, stripped an aileron arm, and seperated the motor housing. I've tried recrimping the end plate back on with no success. I tried some hot glue, which worked very well until the motor got hot enough to melt my glue. When it seperates, the motor pops loose and I have no more motor power. As mentioned in other posts, this plane has a very poor glide path. I will be replacing the motor, but was wondering if you guys have figured out a replacement that will hold up. I may stick with an inrunner since I seem to like to land mine nose first. If a hard nose in pops the inrunner motors apart and renders them useless though, maybe I should go ahead and try an outrunner.
I've had problems with the inrunners, both the stock one and an e-flite park 400 broke motor shafts right behind the pinion, I don't know why. No hard knocks on either of them, I did run the large prop but they should be designed to hold up to that. Stock motor has a 3 mm shaft, e-flite has only a 2 mm shaft. The pz 480 BL outrunner worked fantastic with the big prop until the rear housing (plastic) stripped it's threads from the main housing. Perhaps with less prop it would not get as hot. I will probably try another outrunner, maybe a Park 450 or 480 using a 12x6 prop when I get around to it. I did get 140 flights on the typhoon using the various motors, it prepared me nicely for my Mini Funtana X which I maidened today. Got in 4 flights, no surprises, very smooth plane. Good luck with your typhoon, Oh and you might try some loctite on the motor housing.
humboldt guy is offline  
Old 08-08-2008, 07:32 PM
  #81  
gshort72
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2
Default

I'm converting to an outrunner tonight and then going to the local club field tomorrow to have a "pro" trim the plane for me since that may be causing me as much trouble as anything. I'll post details of the conversion sunday if it is great success.
gshort72 is offline  
Old 08-31-2008, 09:15 PM
  #82  
JoeTheFlyer
The UK's Red Baron
 
JoeTheFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 78
Exclamation Beginner to 3D flying

Hey guys i know it's kind of early, but im going to get a PnP Typhoon 2 for Christmas. I plan on using the parkzone lipo's and lipo charger, and a Spektrum DX6i transmitter along with the included reciever which is the AR6200. Because this reciever has not got 2 seperate aileron channels, i plan on using a Y harness to connect the two aileron servos to the same aileron channel on the reciever. I then know that i will have to program the transmitter in some way to enable this to work, but i have no idea on how to do this. I have not yet got any of the stuff, but it would be nice to know in preparation.
JoeTheFlyer is offline  
Old 09-01-2008, 10:32 AM
  #83  
humboldt guy
Member
 
humboldt guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Eureka, Ca.
Posts: 197
Default

Originally Posted by JoeTheFlyer View Post
Hey guys i know it's kind of early, but im going to get a PnP Typhoon 2 for Christmas. I plan on using the parkzone lipo's and lipo charger, and a Spektrum DX6i transmitter along with the included reciever which is the AR6200. Because this reciever has not got 2 seperate aileron channels, i plan on using a Y harness to connect the two aileron servos to the same aileron channel on the reciever. I then know that i will have to program the transmitter in some way to enable this to work, but i have no idea on how to do this. I have not yet got any of the stuff, but it would be nice to know in preparation.
Actually, I don't think you'll need any programming at all. That's the way I set mine up, both ailerons y'ed into ch 1, and I didn't need any additional programming. Btw, you should probably use the larger prop, it gives better vertical performance but less speed, and more oomph for pulling out of hovers (and trouble!).
My latest incarnation of the Phoon is with a Turnigy 35-30 C outrunner, direct drive, 11x7 apc electric slow flyer prop, plus my Futaba 2.4 ghz rx. I bolted the motor to a Trojan motor mount, and drilled the firewall to accept that mount, and I run without the cowl (keeps the motor cooler, plus cowl doesn't quite fit). Works great! A bit quicker response than w/ geared setup, bit more speed, same oomph and quieter. I had some problems (see earlier posts) with the geared inrunner, hence the mods. Hope you have great success, this little plane can be real fun, and it's tough! You should probable tape the wing where it joins the fuse, bit weak connection there, and noses are torn off frequently, but easily glued and taped back on (maybe tape the nose preemptively?). Anyway, I find the plane hovers better than my mini funtana x, harriers better, plus I'm not afraid to try stuff I'd be nervous about trying with my mfx so far. Great little plane, have fun!BTW
http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/store/uh_index.asp
Great source for motors, batteries (yay zippy h!) and all kinds of other goodies. (Probably best to avoid the reaaalllyy cheap stuff).
humboldt guy is offline  
Old 09-01-2008, 11:28 AM
  #84  
JoeTheFlyer
The UK's Red Baron
 
JoeTheFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 78
Cool

Originally Posted by humboldt guy View Post
Actually, I don't think you'll need any programming at all. That's the way I set mine up, both ailerons y'ed into ch 1, and I didn't need any additional programming. Btw, you should probably use the larger prop, it gives better vertical performance but less speed, and more oomph for pulling out of hovers (and trouble!).
My latest incarnation of the Phoon is with a Turnigy 35-30 C outrunner, direct drive, 11x7 apc electric slow flyer prop, plus my Futaba 2.4 ghz rx. I bolted the motor to a Trojan motor mount, and drilled the firewall to accept that mount, and I run without the cowl (keeps the motor cooler, plus cowl doesn't quite fit). Works great! A bit quicker response than w/ geared setup, bit more speed, same oomph and quieter. I had some problems (see earlier posts) with the geared inrunner, hence the mods. Hope you have great success, this little plane can be real fun, and it's tough! You should probable tape the wing where it joins the fuse, bit weak connection there, and noses are torn off frequently, but easily glued and taped back on (maybe tape the nose preemptively?). Anyway, I find the plane hovers better than my mini funtana x, harriers better, plus I'm not afraid to try stuff I'd be nervous about trying with my mfx so far. Great little plane, have fun!BTW
http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/store/uh_index.asp
Great source for motors, batteries (yay zippy h!) and all kinds of other goodies. (Probably best to avoid the reaaalllyy cheap stuff).
Thanks buddy that's one less thing off my mind, even if i do have to do some programming i think the guys at the flying club i might join will help.
Ive heard already that the typhoon is very robust, apart from 1 or 2 weak spots which ill reinforce. I really would prefer a multiplex acromaster but just havn't got the money, i hear that the typhoon is the next foam 3D plane in line so im settling for one. Thanks for advice.
JoeTheFlyer is offline  
Old 10-25-2008, 06:25 AM
  #85  
Kerbob
Member
 
Kerbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 23
Default

Hey Brushless Outrunner guys.. can you tell me if you were successful? I tried using this inrunner: http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s...idProduct=3848. Flew WONDERFUL for one flight. When it landed, the motor fried. Didn't realize it was so hot because it was inside the cowl. Thats my comment where I said the motor fried.
So, now I'm once again without a motor. Been through three stock. NEVER had an ESC problem yet (that I know of.. and knock on wood). Guess I'm just kinda hard on the plane? Read someone gave the description of an engine "geeking" (or seizing / reversing) at 25% throttle and up. Thats how all of mine went; including the one from hobbycity. However, that person found the problem to be ESC related where I know mine was motor related cause getting a new motor had no "geeking". Or is it possible my ESC is causing my engines to fail; I don't think so.

ANYWAY, I'm dying to see pictures of your brushless setups. Now that I know how this bird can fly with an overpowered engine (compared to stock), I want to stay that way.
Kerbob is offline  
Old 11-09-2008, 06:57 AM
  #86  
Bob O
AMA 489725
 
Bob O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Negaunee, Michigan
Posts: 58
Default

Kerbob,

I'm also looking for information on the outrunner conversion as a winter project. I found two threads with some tips so far and hopefully we can get the guys to post some pics for us.

http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=39083

http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/show...hoon+outrunner
Bob O is offline  
Old 01-03-2009, 11:24 PM
  #87  
mpflyer
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1
Default

I got a parkzone typhoon 2 3D a few days ago, and both the receiver and the ESC smoked when I hooked up the battery. Luckily Hobby Town gave me another one as a replacement. The second one did the same thing. I heard a pop and smoke started to coming out. This time Hobby Town told me to contact Horizon next Monday and see what they can do. So what is the deal? Is the typhoon 2 3D just a really bad design, or does Horizon not have a quality control department? I want to get into some 3D flying, but the Typhoon 2 3D seems to be the wrong solution. If Horizon does not help me out on Monday, what are other other suggestions for 3D flying?
mpflyer is offline  
Old 01-04-2009, 01:05 AM
  #88  
sgf323
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 317
Default

This is a great airframe but you should know that most PNP and RTF electronics are junk. ESC and Receivers specifically.

If you are going to be doing RC for a while to come then get yourself a good digital radio like a Spektrum and send the ESC in for replacement while ordering another one in the mean time. It's good to have extra parts around.

It's been my experience that QA in the hobby world is non-existent. Replace DOA seems to be the common motto.
sgf323 is offline  
Old 01-05-2009, 03:28 AM
  #89  
Kerbob
Member
 
Kerbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 23
Default

I go by 'Ashtray' on RCGroups and have posted some updates there already. I did swap the Typhoon 2 3d motor with a Park 480 1020Kv and have had about 100 flights on it since then. Its a BLAST with this motor. The price is steep for the motor but definititely worth it. My setup is documented on RCGroups at http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...&postcount=968

I'm reposting the photos here, but go to the other thread for details. You can ask any questions regarding setup on either forum thread.

Here's to a fun flying year!
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Mount 002-m (Large).jpg
Views:	301
Size:	64.2 KB
ID:	89275   Click image for larger version

Name:	Mount 003-m (Large).jpg
Views:	302
Size:	72.5 KB
ID:	89276   Click image for larger version

Name:	Mount 005-m (Large).jpg
Views:	345
Size:	77.5 KB
ID:	89277   Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 004 (Large).jpg
Views:	327
Size:	49.6 KB
ID:	89278   Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 005 (Large).jpg
Views:	314
Size:	45.0 KB
ID:	89279  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 013 (Large).jpg
Views:	308
Size:	63.5 KB
ID:	89280  
Kerbob is offline  
Old 03-11-2009, 05:02 AM
  #90  
Crustyomo
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1
Default Typhoon Troubles?

o On the second Typhoon 2, the radio glitched out badly while my buddy maidened it (it was doing uncommanded half rolls, and vertical excursions),

Thanks for the messages here, I'm begining to think that not all my crashes with this plane are my fault. My last crash was when the plane rolled right, I tried giving left aileron but it wouldn't respond, got confused cause I'm a newbie and the plane was pointed toward me.. so I quickly did a right but then it spun out and dropped faster than I could react.

I may be a newbie, but I have successfully flown this plane several times with some nice smooth landings (definitely keep a little throttle!).
I won't lie, there have been several pilot errors and some trees that have jumped out to grab the plane. Very tough plane!

Does anyone know a way to include a flight recorder in the plane and transmitter to look for radio glitches?

Happy landings!
Crustyomo is offline  
Old 03-19-2009, 02:03 PM
  #91  
rudderfeet
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 145
Default

I picked up a Typhoon 2 PnP yesterday and equipped it with a Spektrum 6100 receiver. I haven't flown it yet due to high winds, but hope to within the next few days.

Interestingly, they now put a nicer 30A ESC (with a switching BEC) in the plane and advertise it with a sticker on the box, so I'll take that as admission that the old ESC was problematic.

I too got the high servo sounds and wondered if it was a problem until I read other's experiences. Wattflyer rocks!
rudderfeet is offline  
Old 03-20-2009, 04:59 PM
  #92  
rudderfeet
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 145
Default

Yay, I flew my Typhoon 2 3D PnP in 8 mph winds today and had a blast. It really is a fun plane and is very maneuverable even on low rates and the larger prop.

I was having so much fun pushing the envelope that I smacked the ground nose first and broke its schnoz off, but some thick CA on it tonight and all will be well.

It's a good plane, and I'm looking forward to stretching my skills, and repairing damage, for some time to come!
rudderfeet is offline  
Old 03-20-2009, 05:02 PM
  #93  
Kerbob
Member
 
Kerbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 23
Default

Get some 5min epoxy. The CA will eat the foam. The Foam Safe CA would probably be OK, but I've been using 5min epoxy for my repairs since the beginning and it works great. The plane is almost 50% epoxy now and it still flies great.
Kerbob is offline  
Old 03-20-2009, 05:21 PM
  #94  
rudderfeet
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 145
Default

Ok, thanks I'll use epoxy instead. Hmm wonder why the LHS said this kind of foam will take CA ok?
rudderfeet is offline  
Old 03-20-2009, 05:28 PM
  #95  
Kerbob
Member
 
Kerbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 23
Default

I think they were thinking the Parkzone "Z-Foam" is CA safe; it is not. Some foam planes are made from CA safe foam (like Multiplex airplanes) and you can use regular CA right on them. I'm not a specialist. I just know I tried to use CA on it once myself and the foam melts from regular CA.
Kerbob is offline  
Old 03-20-2009, 05:30 PM
  #96  
Kerbob
Member
 
Kerbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 23
Default

Just wanted to add I'm not bashing Z-Foam. Its really tough stuff and the Typhoon 2 3D is still my favorite plane and I've got 5 now. The typhoon 2 3d is always in my trunk because I can fly it no matter what the weather conditions are and because I know I can fix it easily if I wreck it.
Kerbob is offline  
Old 03-20-2009, 06:00 PM
  #97  
rudderfeet
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 145
Default

Great info guys, I'm SO glad I brought it up before attempting the repair!
rudderfeet is offline  
Old 03-21-2009, 11:30 PM
  #98  
Fatcat1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 272
Default

The 'Phoons manual says the control horn for the elevator should be on top however mine was on the bottom. This is where it should be isn't it?
Fatcat1 is offline  
Old 03-21-2009, 11:37 PM
  #99  
rudderfeet
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 145
Default

Yep bottom.

Flew and crashed mine again today. This time a small tree on the edge of the field ate it. Broke into 7 pieces - nose, body, gear, wing tip, elevator, stabilizer and a chunk of tail fuselage. Epoxy is bringing it all together and monday I'm getting a replacement prop and new control arm, then frankenphoon will fly again!
rudderfeet is offline  
Old 03-21-2009, 11:44 PM
  #100  
Fatcat1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 272
Default

Originally Posted by rudderfeet View Post
Yep bottom.

Flew and crashed mine again today. This time a small tree on the edge of the field ate it. Broke into 7 pieces - nose, body, gear, wing tip, elevator, stabilizer and a chunk of tail fuselage. Epoxy is bringing it all together and monday I'm getting a replacement prop and new control arm, then frankenphoon will fly again!
That's not funny but....that's funny! I haven't maidened mine yet but I will soon probably Monday! I thought that was weird in the manual just wanted to check!. Are you fly on low or high rate there Rudder?

Also have you came across a remedy for the servo whine?
Fatcat1 is offline  

Quick Reply: Parkzone typhoon 2 3d


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.14500 seconds with 17 queries