Trainer cord not working anymore - WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Trainer cord not working anymore

Old 11-30-2008, 03:48 AM
  #1  
7car7
Member
Thread Starter
 
7car7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: WA State
Posts: 843
Default Trainer cord not working anymore

I have a JR XF421 transmiter and a JR Quattro that I use as a trainer.

I have used this set up in the past, about a half year ago was the last time.

I tried to use it yesterday, but the second radio would NOT control the plane. When hit the spring loaded switch, it says TRN, or something like that, so it's recognizing that there's a radio and cord hooked up, but no plane movement.

Any ideas where to start to look for this issue? Batteries are brand new in the slave radio, but I'm not sure if that even maters.
7car7 is offline  
Old 11-30-2008, 03:57 AM
  #2  
Twmaster
Registered User
 
Twmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dallas, TX, USA
Posts: 6,632
Default

Check the cord first.
Twmaster is offline  
Old 11-30-2008, 04:30 AM
  #3  
7car7
Member
Thread Starter
 
7car7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: WA State
Posts: 843
Default

Well, I figured the cord must be good, because my main radio says nothing when hitting the switch if the slave is not plugged in to the cord. But as soon as the slave is plugged in, the master acknowledges it.
7car7 is offline  
Old 11-30-2008, 04:35 AM
  #4  
FlyingMonkey
Flite Test Fan
 
FlyingMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: 32459
Posts: 8,930
Default

the plug is what does that, not the cord...

do you have an electric meter?

do an ohm test from one end to the other.
FlyingMonkey is offline  
Old 11-30-2008, 04:36 AM
  #5  
FlyingMonkey
Flite Test Fan
 
FlyingMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: 32459
Posts: 8,930
Default

I um, guess I should have read that more closely...

I am out of great ideas...
FlyingMonkey is offline  
Old 11-30-2008, 04:40 AM
  #6  
Twmaster
Registered User
 
Twmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dallas, TX, USA
Posts: 6,632
Default

Plug just the cord in and see what happens.

I still think it's the cord.
Twmaster is offline  
Old 11-30-2008, 04:47 AM
  #7  
7car7
Member
Thread Starter
 
7car7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: WA State
Posts: 843
Default

Well, I should have done this first - I switched the crystal from my main radio into the slave, and it does NOT work. I obviously have an issue with the slave radio itself. This was my first radio, and I've never had an issue. Wierd.

SO, I guess I've got a different issue.
7car7 is offline  
Old 11-30-2008, 04:50 AM
  #8  
Twmaster
Registered User
 
Twmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dallas, TX, USA
Posts: 6,632
Default

Indeed. Odd.
Twmaster is offline  
Old 11-30-2008, 11:50 AM
  #9  
FlyingMonkey
Flite Test Fan
 
FlyingMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: 32459
Posts: 8,930
Default

I know with the DX7, I have to go into the menu and tell it to go to trainer mode...
FlyingMonkey is offline  
Old 11-30-2008, 05:10 PM
  #10  
Twmaster
Registered User
 
Twmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dallas, TX, USA
Posts: 6,632
Default

Originally Posted by FlyingMonkey View Post
I know with the DX7, I have to go into the menu and tell it to go to trainer mode...
I didn't on my DX7. Although there are two trainer modes to pick from on the DX7. One where all it does is transmit stick positions and the other where all mixes and switch positions get sent to the master TX.
Twmaster is offline  
Old 12-01-2008, 01:07 AM
  #11  
Dorsal
If it Flies, I love it!
 
Dorsal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tracy, California
Posts: 548
Default

I think maybe you have drained all the electrons out of your trainer cord and just need to buy a new one. Or maybe they all leaked out from the metal ends that were exposed to the light of the full moon.
(That's why I always wear my aluminum foil hat when I'm flying at night, y'know.)

Last edited by Dorsal; 12-01-2008 at 02:37 AM.
Dorsal is offline  
Old 12-01-2008, 06:06 AM
  #12  
Rabbitcreekok
Community Moderator
 
Rabbitcreekok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: McAlester, Oklahoma
Posts: 8,806
Default

Originally Posted by 7car7 View Post
I have a JR XF421 transmiter and a JR Quattro that I use as a trainer.

I have used this set up in the past, about a half year ago was the last time.

I tried to use it yesterday, but the second radio would NOT control the plane. When hit the spring loaded switch, it says TRN, or something like that, so it's recognizing that there's a radio and cord hooked up, but no plane movement.

Any ideas where to start to look for this issue? Batteries are brand new in the slave radio, but I'm not sure if that even maters.
I know you said the batteries were brand new, buy check them anyway. JR slave radios must have working batteries to work as a trainer box. They don't have to be turned on, just have charged batteries.
Rabbitcreekok is offline  
Old 12-01-2008, 07:18 PM
  #13  
7car7
Member
Thread Starter
 
7car7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: WA State
Posts: 843
Default

Originally Posted by Rabbitcreekok View Post
I know you said the batteries were brand new, buy check them anyway. JR slave radios must have working batteries to work as a trainer box. They don't have to be turned on, just have charged batteries.
Batteries checked out great, brand new power. I litterally checked each one (they're AA's) on a meter. The light meter on the radio says full charge.

This is no longer a trainer cord issue. The old radio does NOT control the plane at all - no twitch, no nothing. It's like the sticks are not sending any signal at all.

I kinda wonder if a plug came loose inside, but I'm not sure that's even possible without prior damage - wich it does not have.
7car7 is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Lump
Beginners
4
08-04-2008 04:47 AM
goofeyfoot
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros
5
04-08-2008 10:19 PM
Jetnfast
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros
3
02-26-2008 02:52 AM
EpoweredRc
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros
8
12-04-2007 04:23 AM
Solid Hit
Radio Equipment For Sale & WTB
2
06-27-2007 07:22 PM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Quick Reply: Trainer cord not working anymore


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.10411 seconds with 11 queries