Balance cable alone charge doesn't work - WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

FMA Direct Discuss FMA Direct products or ask your support questions.

Balance cable alone charge doesn't work

Old 04-14-2011, 02:49 AM
  #1  
kyleservicetech
Super Contributor
Thread Starter
 
kyleservicetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 8,952
Default Balance cable alone charge doesn't work

I've got a Powerlab 8 that has been working very well. Presets have been put in for charging 1P, 2P and 4P A123 cells.

However, I've got a two cell A123 pack for a battery backup in a giant scale model. Connecting just the balance cables doesn't work, the Cellpro charger indicates no battery is connected.

It also does not work when connecting to the balance cable of a 6S A123 battery.

I purchased the Cellpro balance cable and put my own connector that matches the A123 balance connector. I measured 3.5 volts and 7.0 volts on the second and third pin of the Cellpro Balance cable, using the black wire as a reference.

Question, is something missing on my balance cable???

Thanks.

DennyV
kyleservicetech is offline  
Old 04-14-2011, 03:11 AM
  #2  
kenchiroalpha
Retired Master Chief USN
 
kenchiroalpha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,837
Default

Originally Posted by kyleservicetech View Post
I've got a Powerlab 8 that has been working very well. Presets have been put in for charging 1P, 2P and 4P A123 cells.

However, I've got a two cell A123 pack for a battery backup in a giant scale model. Connecting just the balance cables doesn't work, the Cellpro charger indicates no battery is connected.

It also does not work when connecting to the balance cable of a 6S A123 battery.

I purchased the Cellpro balance cable and put my own connector that matches the A123 balance connector. I measured 3.5 volts and 7.0 volts on the second and third pin of the Cellpro Balance cable, using the black wire as a reference.

Question, is something missing on my balance cable???

Thanks.

DennyV
Hi Denny
I dont think so as i looked over the powerlab 8 manual and it should work with those battey packs without any additional items, so i would contact FMA and tell them your issues and see what they have to say
http://www.fmadirect.com/contact_us.htm
Take care dear friend
Yours Hank
kenchiroalpha is offline  
Old 04-14-2011, 03:48 AM
  #3  
kyleservicetech
Super Contributor
Thread Starter
 
kyleservicetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 8,952
Default

Originally Posted by kenchiroalpha View Post
Hi Denny
I dont think so as i looked over the powerlab 8 manual and it should work with those battey packs without any additional items, so i would contact FMA and tell them your issues and see what they have to say
http://www.fmadirect.com/contact_us.htm
Take care dear friend
Yours Hank
Thanks Hank, I've sent an email to FMA before posting in wattflyer.

Have a good day.
kyleservicetech is offline  
Old 04-18-2011, 08:57 PM
  #4  
kyleservicetech
Super Contributor
Thread Starter
 
kyleservicetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 8,952
Default

Originally Posted by kyleservicetech View Post
Thanks Hank, I've sent an email to FMA before posting in wattflyer.

Have a good day.

Just an update:
FMA replied the same day, and indicated the balance cable is to be wired with the black wire connected to the negative Lithium cell connection. Then, go up in line with each wire in the balance cable to the next cell, next cell and so on.

BUT the last cell in the string MUST connect to the red Cellpro Balance cable wire. This will leave blank pins if you don't have an 8 series cell battery.

Tried, it, works perfectly
kyleservicetech is offline  
Old 04-18-2011, 10:08 PM
  #5  
kenchiroalpha
Retired Master Chief USN
 
kenchiroalpha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,837
Thumbs up

Originally Posted by kyleservicetech View Post
Just an update:
FMA replied the same day, and indicated the balance cable is to be wired with the black wire connected to the negative Lithium cell connection. Then, go up in line with each wire in the balance cable to the next cell, next cell and so on.

BUT the last cell in the string MUST connect to the red Cellpro Balance cable wire. This will leave blank pins if you don't have an 8 series cell battery.

Tried, it, works perfectly
Hi Denny
Outstanding
Great customer service i see
So happy to see you got that rectified swiftly and easily
Take care dear friend
Yours Hank
kenchiroalpha is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Tim Marks
FMA Direct
63
09-21-2012 05:09 AM
casuarezr
Batteries & Chargers
1
02-08-2011 03:02 PM
Albatross
FMA Direct
8
01-04-2011 06:59 AM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Quick Reply: Balance cable alone charge doesn't work


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.09825 seconds with 13 queries