Power Systems Talk about motors, ESC speed controllers, gear drives, propellers, power system simulators and all power system related topics

Test Stand

Old 12-10-2005, 03:18 AM
  #1  
tashley
Member
Thread Starter
 
tashley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Manvel, Texas, USA
Posts: 390
Default Test Stand

Here's a few shots of a test stand I built that I would like to share. The design concept is one that has been around for a while but I put this one together with my own personal changes and embelishments. I can set a motor up and get rpm, thrust, and of course all the electrical data my Wattsup will deliver.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	115-1568_IMG.JPG
Views:	620
Size:	51.5 KB
ID:	4509   Click image for larger version

Name:	115-1573_IMG.JPG
Views:	568
Size:	68.0 KB
ID:	4510   Click image for larger version

Name:	115-1574_IMG.JPG
Views:	510
Size:	47.2 KB
ID:	4511   Click image for larger version

Name:	115-1564_IMG.JPG
Views:	475
Size:	41.5 KB
ID:	4512   Click image for larger version

Name:	115-1572_IMG.JPG
Views:	490
Size:	34.2 KB
ID:	4513  

tashley is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 03:59 AM
  #2  
Mike Parsons
Penguins still can't fly
 
Mike Parsons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 5,136
Default

Nice and clean Tom.
Mike Parsons is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 04:13 AM
  #3  
Dr Kiwi
Super Contributor
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,726
Default

Looks familiar.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Test Stand BV complete 3.JPG
Views:	457
Size:	48.5 KB
ID:	4514   Click image for larger version

Name:	ARC 130W in Himaxx 4.jpg
Views:	435
Size:	77.4 KB
ID:	4515  
Dr Kiwi is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 04:57 AM
  #4  
tashley
Member
Thread Starter
 
tashley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Manvel, Texas, USA
Posts: 390
Default

Thanks Mike. Dang Dr, I guess I'll have to put a little more shine on mine.
tashley is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 10:33 AM
  #5  
ragbag
Super Contributor
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,344
Default Looks familiar also

Here is my version of the test stand. It is the original, replaced the vertical arm so that I can test 14" props. Might have to get another scale. Pulled over five pounds with a MAS 13X8.5 the other day.

I can change the motor mount, which can be convenient. I have Axi motors and find it nice to be able to rearrange the mount.

If you should build one for yourself, be sure to clamp it to the work bench before putting the power to it.

By George

Attachment 4529

Last edited by ragbag; 02-16-2006 at 10:57 AM.
ragbag is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 12:32 PM
  #6  
tashley
Member
Thread Starter
 
tashley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Manvel, Texas, USA
Posts: 390
Default

Nice. I have a number of motor mount adapters that I can slide in the vertical arm and lock down. Every time I test a motor with a mounting system different than those I have I make a new adapter.
tashley is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 01:36 PM
  #7  
Rugar
FAA# OUTLAW!
 
Rugar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: San Bernardino, Ca. USA
Posts: 2,621
Default

Is there a formula for figuring out how long each arm should be? I may be wrong in my thinking, but if you were to lengthen or shorten each arm, would that not change the leverage point? Or do you all use the same measurements?
Rugar is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 02:40 PM
  #8  
tashley
Member
Thread Starter
 
tashley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Manvel, Texas, USA
Posts: 390
Default

Yes Rugar, good question. It does matter. The contact point for the scale and the mounting center for the motor should be of equal distance from the arm's pivot point. If those two measurements are the same it shouldn't matter how long the arms are just as long as you have enough tare adjustment to make up for the scale arm's weight.
tashley is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 08:35 PM
  #9  
Rugar
FAA# OUTLAW!
 
Rugar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: San Bernardino, Ca. USA
Posts: 2,621
Default

Originally Posted by tashley View Post
Yes Rugar, good question. It does matter.
So your saying "Size does matter?"

Originally Posted by tashley View Post
The contact point for the scale and the mounting center for the motor should be of equal distance from the arm's pivot point. If those two measurements are the same it shouldn't matter how long the arms are just as long as you have enough tare adjustment to make up for the scale arm's weight.
Thanks for the response. I'm going to have to think about this. It just seems to me that even though both arms are the same length, different length arms (both being the same length) would affect the leverage point.
Example: Both arms being 10" long, verses both arms being 10' long.
Rugar is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 08:46 PM
  #10  
tashley
Member
Thread Starter
 
tashley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Manvel, Texas, USA
Posts: 390
Default

It dosen't matter. The only difference will be that the longer arms will put more pressure on the scale but all you have to do is set the tare on the scale at zero when the motor is in place and you've got it.
tashley is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 09:05 PM
  #11  
Rugar
FAA# OUTLAW!
 
Rugar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: San Bernardino, Ca. USA
Posts: 2,621
Default

Originally Posted by tashley View Post
It dosen't matter. The only difference will be that the longer arms will put more pressure on the scale but all you have to do is set the tare on the scale at zero when the motor is in place and you've got it.
Thanks,
I may just have to build me one.
Rugar is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 09:08 PM
  #12  
tashley
Member
Thread Starter
 
tashley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Manvel, Texas, USA
Posts: 390
Default

It's one of those things that look pretty cool and you'll think you might use it but it may be hard to find the time to build.it Once you get it built however and put it in operation you wonder how you ever did without it.
tashley is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 09:58 PM
  #13  
ragbag
Super Contributor
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,344
Default Note The Watt Meter

Originally Posted by ragbag View Post
Here is my version of the test stand. It is the original, replaced the vertical arm so that I can test 14" props. Might have to get another scale. Pulled over five pounds with a MAS 13X8.5 the other day.

I can change the motor mount, which can be convenient. I have Axi motors and find it nice to be able to rearrange the mount.

If you should build one for yourself, be sure to clamp it to the work bench before putting the power to it.

By George

Attachment 4529
If you look at the picture of my thrust stand you will see the watt meter. You can test various props, rpm, watts, amps and thrust in grams or pounds.

The arm does make a differnce, that is why the rod from the stand to the scale is not fixed, it can be slid back and forth. Measure from the prop shaft to the rod. Move the block on the end of the rod to the center of the scale, measuring from the pivot rod on the vertical shaft.

Also I would use a metal rod only.

I don't mount my tach, the original plans show the tach mounted also.

For people who like stats.

By George
ragbag is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 10:08 PM
  #14  
roccobro
Happy to be here
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Bernardino, CA
Posts: 320
Default

I modded my Glo-Bee tach to accept an external "eye" for the hard to reach areas, or where I was short a few hands. I used BEC plugs to make it removable, and just hot glue the remote eye where it is needed, and cover the internal one with some tape. It also keeps all my readout displays and controls in one spot.

Justin
roccobro is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 11:33 PM
  #15  
tashley
Member
Thread Starter
 
tashley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Manvel, Texas, USA
Posts: 390
Default

The point I was trying to make is that it dosen't matter how long the ninety degree opposed arms are as long as the distance is the same from the pivot point to the centerline of the prop shaft, and from the pivot point to the contact point on the thrust scale as I stated in post nr. eight. Just curious George, why would you use a metal arm only?
tashley is offline  
Old 12-11-2005, 12:20 AM
  #16  
roccobro
Happy to be here
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Bernardino, CA
Posts: 320
Default

Originally Posted by tashley View Post
Just curious George
Me too. Get me in trouble with the man in the yellow hat sometimes.

Justin
roccobro is offline  
Old 12-11-2005, 01:33 AM
  #17  
ragbag
Super Contributor
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,344
Default

I don't have to think about it breaking. The one unit looks like it has a dowl.
It also is easy to slide in and out to change the leverage. When I changed to the higher shaft to accomadate the 13.8 inch prop. I do have to keep an eye on it.

As I said I did pull over five pounds, that is all my scale will read, so don't know what I was actualy pulling.
Probably will never change back, as you said the leverage is the same as long as it is equal. Also the tare fine tunes it.

Monkey see, monkey do. The first one that I saw was built with a rod. It was in a magazine a couple of years ago. Have the article in my file cabinet somewhere.

By George
ragbag is offline  
Old 12-11-2005, 01:36 AM
  #18  
tashley
Member
Thread Starter
 
tashley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Manvel, Texas, USA
Posts: 390
Default

It's a hardened steel pin at the pivot point and the contact point at the scale is aluminum.
tashley is offline  
Old 12-11-2005, 05:01 AM
  #19  
Dr Kiwi
Super Contributor
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,726
Default

For those of you who don't visit RC Groups here is a link to "building a test stand":

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...st+stand+build
Dr Kiwi is offline  
Old 12-11-2005, 11:17 AM
  #20  
ragbag
Super Contributor
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,344
Default

It is obvious that yours wasn't a dowl, Dr Kiwi's looked like a dowl.

After going over to RC Groups and looking at the thread it is a brass rod.

They say a picture is worth a thousand words, but not this time.

If some one made the same assumption that I did and had no way to see otherwise, by going to the thread, that could have gotten someone hurt.

I wear suspenders and a belt.

First time I've been to RC Groups in a long time, even longer for RC Universe.

By George
ragbag is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
helisafeproducts
New Product Announcements
11
09-24-2010 07:57 PM
helisafeproducts
Helicopters- Electric For Sale & WTB
24
06-22-2008 04:53 AM
AeroJim
Brushless Motor Construction
3
05-18-2008 07:24 PM
RSS Feed
RCU RSS Feed
1
01-16-2007 06:23 PM
magfluxman
Power Systems
8
08-25-2005 10:22 AM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On


Quick Reply: Test Stand


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.10340 seconds with 21 queries