ParkFlyers Talk about all backyard and parkflyer aircraft here

Aerobird Xtreme Build

Old 02-12-2010, 02:08 AM
lafuerza

Default Aerobird Xtreme Build

Qualifier: I know there are better planes to do projects with but I really like the way the Aerobird Xtreme flies and floats especially in windy conditions not to mention it really can take some serious abuse (had one I crashed into a roof then got rained on for 2 days and still flew - still regret selling it). This is my first project in 20 years - used to build balsa planes. Goal is to have a well powered glider for generally windy coastal conditions.

Parts I have on hand:

Brand New Aerobird Xtreme (might sell all new stock electronics if anyone is interested)
Aerobird 3
Dx6i Tx/AR6100e rx
Xport Pro-Tail (coroplast one with large control surface and pushrods)
E-Flite Ds75h servos
E-Flite 25amp Brushless heli esc with lvc
1800 and 2200 3s 20C Lipos

I am looking for ideas if I can use these parts, build, and new part selection like brushless motors, props, and how to install the electronics. Open to using stock motor but with lipos since I have them. If you have spares lying around I am open to buying. Pictures are very helpful. The simpler the build the better.

I will probably finish things off with a camera mounted on the outside and fly along the northern California coastline when done, whenever that is.

Thanks for ideas upfront ...
Old 02-12-2010, 04:17 PM
ap_rpm

Default ABX Brushless and conventional tail conversion

Hi Lafuerza,
I will post some pics of my converted ABX when at home.
basically I got rid of the stock electronics, replacing the motor for a brushless system and added 2 micro servos and removed the V-tail replacing it for a conventional tail with rudder and elevator and steerable tail wheel (but still can install the V-tail if I want to).
I added two 2200 lipo batt in parallel for more than 45 min flight, also attached a FlycamOne2 under the wing with velcro.