General Electric Discussions Talk about topics related to e-powered RC flying

Extreme Flight Edge Build

Old 04-05-2017, 08:00 PM
Vic Z

Default Extreme Flight Edge Build

Like Derek I am building this plane. Quality and fit is awesome which is great since it is my first build and first balsa.
Used locktite on the control arms and put ca on the ends per Dereks experience. Got servos centered and all that.
Ready to put the cowl on but i used a laopared moror which is about 1/8" longer than suggested motor.
There is going to be about 3/8" between the spinner and the cowl which will look a little awkward.
Any tricks?
Old 04-06-2017, 12:12 AM
dereckbc
Super Contributor

There is some slop in the Cowl and it may be enough so that you can just extend the Cowl the 1/8 inch.

I made two mods one mod gave me COG issues to deal with that might bite you. I used the EF motor, but I used a Castle Creations Lite 50 ESC which is 14 grams heavier. To my disbelief it required me to use 3 of the Great Planes weights for a total of 21 grams on the rear LG. I drilled them out, and used longer wood screws that attach the LG to the fuselage. Otherwise it was real nose heavy. So make sure you check CG before maiden or else landing is not going to be fun.

FWIW use the Side Force Generators until you get real comfortable with the plane. Eliminates Tip Stalls, and if COG is right almost Zero Air Speed landings.
Old 04-06-2017, 02:35 AM
birdDog
Charging....

Only thing that crosses my mind is that some of the DuBro plastic spinners have about 1/8" between the shaft mounting surface and the outer rear diameter of the spinner. I prefer the EF aluminum backed spinners though. They are lighter and run truer in my experience.

Get that cowl extended as far as you can. I prefer to use card stock hinged on tape to set my hole locations. Using just tape can move around quite a bit while spanning some cowl gaps.