General Electric Discussions Talk about topics related to e-powered RC flying

Hawksky problems for complete newbie

Old 03-09-2015, 12:10 AM
grahame

Default Hawksky problems for complete newbie

Hi folks hi have purchased and already built the dynam hawksky v2 and have now run into problems.
My rudder when activated from the transmitter goes more to the left than the right and it never comes back to central its always a bit to the left when viewed from behind. My elevators are doing the same thing more down than up, and not coming back to flat and central. I am done messing about as i seem to have tried all the adjustments and am seeking advice before i do some accidental damage.
Any suggestions for a complete newbie would be gratefully accepted as I really don't want my first flight to be my last.
Just on a side note, do dynam go out of their way to make the instructions completely useless
Old 03-09-2015, 12:41 AM
xmech2k
Ya got any Beeman's?

Hi Graham andwelcome to WF. It'll help a little to know what transmitter you're using, but I can give you some basics that might help no matter what tx you're using.

Before getting into control adjustments, remove the planes propellor just in case you bump the throttle or do something else that accidentally makes the motor come to life. It happens to often, and can result in a hospital trip with lots of gore.

First, before you ever connect the pushrods to the servo arms, you should turn on the tx and make sure the rudder and elevator trims are centered. Then power up the plane. If the arms on the servos aren't 90 degrees to the pushrod, remove the servo arm and reinstall as close as possible.

I've never had one of those planes, but hopefully one end of your pushrods has a clevis that can be disconnected and is on a threaded rod you can turn in our out as necessary to get the control surface centered now that you have the tx trims and arms centered.