General Electric Discussions Talk about topics related to e-powered RC flying

Thank You to WattFlyer!

Old 11-08-2014, 10:05 PM
Stevephoon
Super Contributor

Default Thank You to WattFlyer!

Being near to Thanksgiving, and since this is my post number 1000, I thought I needed to say thank you to all that have encouraged me, instructed me and showed me the way over the years. I joined WattFlyer in 2005 and have never flown before. I was flying HobbyZone Aerobirds with my son, both self-taught at the school yard. It was great fun chasing each other around that summer, but the next year my son didn’t want to hang out with me anymore (just turned 14…) so I bought a ParkZone Typhoon. I destroyed it three times on three very short flights, and promptly gave up on RC… It’s not exactly a good aileron trainer I see now…. Fast forward to 2009, I work in the automotive industry and it was a very bad time. A lot of friends lost their jobs and moved away. Those of us left were now covering the jobs of 2 or 3 people and still didn’t know if the company would even survive. Needless to say it was a stressful time. My wife suggested I do something for fun and said I should try RC planes again. (This is good because I can always blame her for all of the time and money I have now put into RC.) I bought a Mountain Models Dandy and built it over that winter. It turned out pretty well and I could fly it! I also bought the sport (aileron) wing and that was easy to fly as well. I was becoming hooked on RC…. A little later, I created my “StevePhoon” from parts from my old destroyed Typhoon and a hand built fuselage. It was redemption from my earlier failures and it’s still flying today!