ParkFlyers Talk about all backyard and parkflyer aircraft here

eFlite Grasshopper Servo Question

Old 05-03-2012, 03:24 AM
pesmarker

Default eFlite Grasshopper Servo Question

Hi all,

I am new to fixed wing aircraft. I ordered this model because a slow flyer seemed like a reasonable place to start learning to fly outside with limited space. Plus I already had most of the electronic hardware to complete the build.

However, I have a question about the servos. The manual specifies four SPMDSP60J servos. I already have two of the SP60's and a pair of SPMDSP75 servos. The SP75 servos are a little more powerful/faster. The sizes are identical. The weight on the 75's are a a few ounces more, so rather than buying more partrs, I plan to use thes 75's as one set and the 60's as the other.

My question is what makes more sense, assign the stronger faster servos to the wings on the ailerons or to the tail for the elevators and rudder? I don't know which area would benefit from more headroom.

Does anyone know if either the wings (ailerons), or tail (elevators and rudder) receive greater load (read stress) than the other? If surface area is the deciding factor, then the ailerons would get the SP75 servos

I'd like to starts assembling this plane over the next few nights.

Thanks

pesmarker
Old 05-03-2012, 07:32 AM
max2112
Super Contributor

pesmaker,

I've always thought of it like this:
The elevator is the most important control surface and should have the strongest and most reliable servo. If one aeleron goes out, the other will still provide some roll control. If the rudder goes out, you can still fly and land. If the elevator goes out there is not much you can do.

For left/right balance the aeleron servos should be the same.

I'd put the 75's on the tail.
Old 05-03-2012, 07:55 AM
pesmarker