Electronic Builders Workshop Discuss how to build motors, ESC's, chargers, mixers, etc here

3-position flaps using flap and gear switch?

Old 11-26-2010, 10:17 PM
  #1  
moorinee
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 9
Question 3-position flaps using flap and gear switch?

I'm using a Spektrum DX6i transmitter. It has a gear switch and a flap switch, both being either on or off (2-position).
I would like to have 3 position flaps (off, half, and full).
Anybody have an idea how to use the flap switch and the gear switch to affect a 3-position flap position?

I can envision a mechanical way using two servos, but seems there should be an electronic method using just the regular flap servo (servos).

Thanks
Elmer
moorinee is offline  
Old 11-26-2010, 10:33 PM
  #2  
Trammellc2001
Member
 
Trammellc2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Claremore, OK
Posts: 176
Default 3-position flaps using flap and gear switch?

You need to use one of your mixes. I have done it before. I will try to remember what I did.
Trammellc2001 is offline  
Old 11-26-2010, 10:50 PM
  #3  
moorinee
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 9
Default

OK. Remember, I am using the DX-6i in airplane mode.
Thanks, waiting to hear back.
moorinee is offline  
Old 11-27-2010, 12:42 AM
  #4  
Trammellc2001
Member
 
Trammellc2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Claremore, OK
Posts: 176
Default

DX6i, great radio.

I think it was some thing like this:
Mix 1 (or 2)
1) Flap - Flap ACT
2) Rate D ?% U ?%
3) SW ? Trim INH

Basically you need to assign a switch that your not using for line 3. Such as elev D/R, Gear, etc.

Then you just need to play with Line 2 until you get the desired effect. If you have any questions or problems let me know. This was all from just looking at the remote. But if needed I can set one of my planes up to check my self.
Trammellc2001 is offline  
Old 11-27-2010, 01:24 AM
  #5  
moorinee
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 9
Default

Oh, that looks like it should work. I will just get a servo and plug it into the channel and play with it to see if that does what I want.
Thanks.
I just went to a 6i from a 5e and so have stuff to learn about the setups.
Elmer
moorinee is offline  
Old 11-30-2010, 06:31 AM
  #6  
moorinee
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 9
Default

Thanks again Trammellc2001,
I played with those settings for one night with a servo plugged into the receiver and couldn't quite get what I wanted. But I finally alternated between the Monitor function and the Mix 1 function, and got EXACTLY what I was wanting. Here are the settings I ended up with:
Mix 1
Gear - Gear ACT
Rate D -100% U 0%
SW - Flap Trim INH

Now, with the flap servo plugged into the Gear output on the receiver, and both the flap and gear switches at 0 (or down), flaps are off.
With the flap switch on 1 (or up), I get 50% flap.
With the flap switch on 0 (or down), I get 100% flap.

I don't really understand the theory of how that mix and the positive and negative values play, but man, I have just what I wanted. Thanks again, buddy.
Elmer
moorinee is offline  
Old 11-30-2010, 06:34 AM
  #7  
moorinee
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 9
Default

Ooops. SorryTrammellc2001.
I goofed on my last message, Delete the line tht says 'with the flap switch on 0 (or down) I get 100% flap.
Instead I meant, with the flap switch up, AND the gear switch up, then I get 100% flap.
I just typed faster than my brain worked.
Elmer
moorinee is offline  
Old 11-30-2010, 08:51 AM
  #8  
Trammellc2001
Member
 
Trammellc2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Claremore, OK
Posts: 176
Default 3-position flaps using flap and gear switch?

Anytime. Glade it worked out.
Trammellc2001 is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
dmarko
Delta & Flying Wings
30
06-16-2011 05:46 PM
ap_rpm
Aerial Photography
5
07-12-2010 02:45 AM
geekmedic
ParkFlyers
0
09-14-2009 02:35 PM
Aero Ace Ace
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros
3
05-16-2008 07:03 AM
Major Bladebraker
Foamies
11
06-20-2006 02:08 AM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Quick Reply: 3-position flaps using flap and gear switch?


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.07160 seconds with 15 queries