General Electric Discussions Talk about topics related to e-powered RC flying

KW club

Old 03-28-2014, 11:32 AM
  #301  
xmech2k
Ya got any Beeman's?
 
xmech2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 3,100
Default

Thanks guys. As far as the cg, there was the bounce into the air at takeoff, then in every turn it felt super sensitive on the elevator, and seemed like the tail just wanted to kick out, if you get what I mean.
xmech2k is offline  
Old 03-28-2014, 12:06 PM
  #302  
JetPlaneFlyer
Super Contributor
 
JetPlaneFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
Posts: 6,122
Default

Sounds like you probably just need less throw on the elevator, or more exponential. It didn't look tail heavy to me judging from the video. In fact with the hot landing I thought you might say it was nose heavy. A genuinely tail heavy model would tend to put it's nose op and lose airspeed rapidly when you close the throttle. The nose was bouncing up all along the take off run, nut sure if it's possible to bend the main gear back a little, or maybe put different wheels on to be less bouncy?
JetPlaneFlyer is offline  
Old 03-28-2014, 12:10 PM
  #303  
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 19,269
Default

Do a Fast 100 MPH Inverted low pass about 3 feet off the deck and see if you need to hold in a lot of Down Elevator to keep the jet level LOL, that will tell you if its nose or tail heavy real quick Ok, Just Kidding
CHELLIE is offline  
Old 03-28-2014, 01:45 PM
  #304  
BroncoSquid
Workin on it...
 
BroncoSquid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: San Diego
Posts: 396
Default

Nice Tom, Yeah do that 100MPH thing chellie said and you will become a 100MPH speed demon too!
BroncoSquid is offline  
Old 03-28-2014, 05:38 PM
  #305  
xmech2k
Ya got any Beeman's?
 
xmech2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 3,100
Default

JPF, I considered that, but I wasn't having to hold any up elevator for the landing. I just failed to slow her down early enough. If it was a nose heavy condition, I would have been running out of elevator, right? The second landing was a little better. You could be right about the elevator, it has that big full flying stabilizer. But iirc I was in low rate after I got her to altitude. Maybe I just need to get a better feel for her, but I think I'll go to recommended cg just to play it safe for a while.

Chellie, you just want me to turn this plane to confetti before we can have that race! For all our smack talk, it seems neither one of us have flown our speed demons much.

Bronc! How's it going? If I could fly like that, I'd find a way to get paid to do it!
xmech2k is offline  
Old 03-28-2014, 05:47 PM
  #306  
dahawk
Super Contributor
 
dahawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Keller, TX
Posts: 5,019
Default

xmech,

The full scale version was called "The Brick" Since you're in San Diego, why not really impress the Navy dudes there and install a retractable tail hook. Lay a bungee across the runway. Then throw a tail hook party ! Great plane. I know you have a lot invested in that one.

-Hawk
dahawk is offline  
Old 03-28-2014, 06:43 PM
  #307  
JetPlaneFlyer
Super Contributor
 
JetPlaneFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
Posts: 6,122
Default

Originally Posted by xmech2k View Post
If it was a nose heavy condition, I would have been running out of elevator, right?
Yeah, if it was badly nose heavy you would have to haul back hard on the stick to slow her up.

To be honest it looked just about bang on to me but I'm sure a little nose weight wont cause any great issue, so no harm in trying it. Don't go too far though. Is it fitted with flaps?.. They would help increase the rate of descent.
JetPlaneFlyer is offline  
Old 03-28-2014, 07:59 PM
  #308  
xmech2k
Ya got any Beeman's?
 
xmech2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 3,100
Default

Yes, it has flaps. Wasn't trying them on the first flight per the instructions though. Maybe I keep listening to all the wrong advice. My biggest fear was getting too slow though. Another club member was there earlier who is an excellent pilot, and happens to be the guy who got me in the air the first day I showed up at the club field with my Apprentice! (He does rolling circles and inverted flat spins with his Multiplex Mentor. On floats!) He told me he had an EF Phantom, and destroyed it by getting too slow on final. Forgot how many flights he had on it. Not many. So it got me nervous.
xmech2k is offline  
Old 03-29-2014, 12:18 AM
  #309  
JetPlaneFlyer
Super Contributor
 
JetPlaneFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
Posts: 6,122
Default

Tom,

Yes, that's good advice, better land hot than get low and slow and stall. It's probably also good advise to leave the flaps until you are more accustomed to the model. They will most likely upset the trim and need some elevator mixing, plus the extra drag can catch you out and slow you up too much. But once dialled in and with practice they should help.
JetPlaneFlyer is offline  
Old 07-12-2014, 06:14 AM
  #310  
NJSwede
3D wannabe
 
NJSwede's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,893
Default

Requesting membership to the 2kW club.

Setup:
Motor: Motrolfly 4330 298Kv
ESC: Castle Creation ICE 100A
BEC: N/A. Separate 2300mAh 2s LiPo receiver battery.
Battery: 2x 4200 mAh 4s 25C YellowJackets LiPo in series for a 8s setup.
Propeller: PT Carbon Fiber 20x8 Electric
Plane: Aeroplus 76" Edge 540.

Results: 2250W. Higher during spool up, but it seems to settle around 2250W. I tried a 19x10 prop and got 2500W, but I don't have a good video of that.

Evidence: Shaky youtube video of the spool up.

http://youtu.be/S0JAUs2Joy0
NJSwede is offline  
Old 07-12-2014, 11:28 AM
  #311  
Don Sims
Administrator
 
Don Sims's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Middle Tennessee
Posts: 15,521
Default

Congrats NJ!
Don Sims is offline  
Old 07-21-2014, 01:28 AM
  #312  
crash_out
Misanthropic Member
 
crash_out's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: West Tennessee
Posts: 557
Default

My submission to get my 2kW award

Hangar 9 27% Extra 260
E-Flite Power 160
Castle Creations 110HV ESC
APC 20x10 E
Turnigy Nanotech 10s 5000mah

I think if I had held it a little more I would have gotten to 3kW...maybe next week.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Snapshot 1 (7-20-2014 6-24 PM).jpg
Views:	161
Size:	77.5 KB
ID:	176696  
crash_out is offline  
Old 07-21-2014, 01:40 AM
  #313  
Don Sims
Administrator
 
Don Sims's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Middle Tennessee
Posts: 15,521
Default

Congrats Nick! Here's a couple of shots of you and your bird....birds....
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Nicks Extra 7-20-14 (6) (Medium).JPG
Views:	144
Size:	218.1 KB
ID:	176704   Click image for larger version

Name:	Nicks Extra 7-20-14 (5) (Medium).JPG
Views:	149
Size:	243.1 KB
ID:	176705  
Don Sims is offline  
Old 03-22-2015, 02:27 AM
  #314  
GunnyJeeves
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 311
Default Can I get a 5KW badge?

Hi All,

I had a tough time finding this thread.

Posted 124.5 AMPS at 12S on my Yak.

91" Extremeflight Yak (Build and maiden on this forum under 3D)
Turnigy Rotomax 50cc paired to Turnigy DLUX 160 Amp.
12S (2 x 6S 5000) with 23x8 Xoar prop

Video here: (Father-in-law reading the Amp Meter, two folks holding it down, and daughter recording.)

http://www.youtube.com/v/XVXaOl5QcSY

Thanks,

Gunny

Last edited by GunnyJeeves; 03-22-2015 at 02:29 AM. Reason: Forgot ESC...
GunnyJeeves is offline  
Old 03-22-2015, 09:47 AM
  #315  
Don Sims
Administrator
 
Don Sims's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Middle Tennessee
Posts: 15,521
Default

Congrats Gunny!!
Don Sims is offline  
Old 03-22-2015, 03:31 PM
  #316  
GunnyJeeves
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 311
Default

Originally Posted by Don Sims View Post
Congrats Gunny!!
Thank you very much!
GunnyJeeves is offline  
Old 02-06-2016, 03:03 AM
  #317  
fhhuber
Super Contributor
 
fhhuber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 4,786
Default 3 kw...

Watt meter from my Freewing F-14

Just one of the 2 EDFs because of the parallel/series hookup when running 2 i had to disconnect one motor since I could only get the watt meter between one set of 2X3S 4500, not both.

I can't seem to figure out how to hold the camera to get the picture upside up when pointed down...

And the watt meter cycles through the displays such that I can't time a still photo (which i could flip in a photo editor)

so I have an upside down video of the readings.



Power System
2x 3530-1750kV Brushless Outrunner Motor
Electronic Speed Control
2x 80A ESCs, 8A UBEC, EC5 Connector
Propeller / EDF
2x 80mm Metal EDF with 12 Blade Fan
2 X 3S 4500 30C CHL LiPo for 6S 22.2V 4500mAh

************

It will use 4 of the 3S 4500 LiPos for flight connected in series-parallel for 6S 9000 mah.

Last edited by fhhuber; 02-06-2016 at 03:31 PM.
fhhuber is offline  
Old 02-06-2016, 12:43 PM
  #318  
Don Sims
Administrator
 
Don Sims's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Middle Tennessee
Posts: 15,521
Default

Fhhuber please give me the details so we can hook you up.

Plane
Motor
Speed control
Prop
Power pack

So I can copy paste it into the award. Thanks!
Don Sims is offline  
Old 02-10-2016, 03:02 AM
  #319  
kyleservicetech
Super Contributor
 
kyleservicetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 8,952
Default 4500 Watts!

Hi Don

I've got a Rimfire 50 cc electric motor, powered by a 12S3P A123 pack. I've measured 133 Amps at full power while spinning a 22X10 prop at 6600 RPM. Metering was with a Sears Craftsman #82369 digital AC/DC clamp on ammeter. At a measured 2.81 Volts on one cell at 133 Amps, that calculates out to 4300 Watts.

However, I don't have a wattmeter that can handle this power level. With my battery connections, it isn't safe to connect a voltmeter to the system with that big prop running up front.

Does this qualify me for the 4000 Watt status, if I provide a photo of the 133 Amps?

I did run that up to 5400 Watts briefly with a 13S3P A123 pack, but that is above the rating of the motor, and it won't be flown with that setup.

The model is a Peak models Edge 95 inch wingspan, 1400 Square inch area, with a total weight ready to fly of exactly 20 pounds.

Ref:
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2563126

Thanks
kyleservicetech is offline  
Old 02-10-2016, 03:14 AM
  #320  
fhhuber
Super Contributor
 
fhhuber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 4,786
Default

They didn't like my report of melting down an Astroflight Wattmeter on 12S LiPo with the last reading of 105 amps...
fhhuber is offline  
Old 02-10-2016, 03:18 AM
  #321  
kyleservicetech
Super Contributor
 
kyleservicetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 8,952
Default

Originally Posted by fhhuber View Post
They didn't like my report of melting down an Astroflight Wattmeter on 12S LiPo with the last reading of 105 amps...
LOL

That's the wattmeter I've got. Don't think it will last very long at the 133 Amps!
kyleservicetech is offline  
Old 02-10-2016, 11:35 AM
  #322  
Don Sims
Administrator
 
Don Sims's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Middle Tennessee
Posts: 15,521
Default

The format for the information that we use is:
Plane -
Motor -
ESC -
Battery -
Prop -

That way I just copy paste your information into the award manager. Usually take a few hours to leave a request in the thread, that way folks have time to comment if they doubt and want to question the information posted.
Don Sims is offline  
Old 05-03-2016, 06:54 AM
  #323  
Paul Paolozzi
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 6
Default

Problems with emax servos es08md11 metal servo will not mesh with the plastic servo arms included with the servos...
Can you heat the plastic arm so it will expand then slip it on the metal gear?

Last edited by Paul Paolozzi; 05-03-2016 at 06:57 AM. Reason: AMLIFIED PARTS ADD SHOWED UP IN MY QUESTION SPACE
Paul Paolozzi is offline  
Old 05-03-2016, 07:25 AM
  #324  
kyleservicetech
Super Contributor
 
kyleservicetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 8,952
Default

Originally Posted by Paul Paolozzi View Post
Problems with emax servos es08md11 metal servo will not mesh with the plastic servo arms included with the servos...
Can you heat the plastic arm so it will expand then slip it on the metal gear?
I would not do that.

Our club has members that have lost models due to the servo arm's spline not matching the servo output shaft. The mis-matched arm/output shafts have slipped in flight, resulting in the models going in.

One of them was a 85 inch wingspan giant Cessna scale model when the elevator servo arm slipped on its shaft. The number of splines on the servo arm didn't match the number of splines on the servo output shaft. A third member nearly lost a $$$$ kerosene turbine model when the same thing happened on an aileron servo. He landed the jet model with the right aileron popped up at 30 degrees, with the left aileron held up with near full left aileron control. Just a little bit more slippage on the arm of that right wing servo, and that model would have made a $$$$$$ turbine shaped splat in the ground.
kyleservicetech is offline  
Old 05-03-2016, 09:19 AM
  #325  
fhhuber
Super Contributor
 
fhhuber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 4,786
Default

Plane
Freewing F-14
Motor
2x 3530-1750kV Brushless Outrunner Motor
Electronic Speed Control
2x 80A ESCs, 8A UBEC, EC5 Connector
Battery
2 X 3S 4500 30C CHL LiPo for 6S 22.2V 4500mAh (per motor)
Propeller / EDF
2 X 80mm Metal EDF with 12 Blade Fan

1586 watts per motor
fhhuber is offline  

Quick Reply: KW club


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.13151 seconds with 16 queries