3D Flying Discuss everything related to "3D" flying including construction, power setups and flying techniques

What is a good 3D beginner airplane??

Old 02-08-2012, 11:38 PM
  #26  
Bub Steve
Super Contributor
 
Bub Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Shadeville Fl,
Posts: 7,189
Default

Originally Posted by microflight View Post
i have been practicing on a simulator with an aircraft lie the extra 300 and ive been able to pull off flat spins, tumbles, inverted stuff and basic stuff like that, and should i get a better controller than the dx5e that i currently own??? thanks i know im a beginner and how frusterating that can be.
I fly my micro 4-site & extra 300 micros on my DX 5 ,,does great,, I fly all my 3/d planes do'in everything in the book on 10-12 year old FM TX's with no expo or bell's & whistles,,, back in the day we didn't have computer TX's with all the tweeks and trim mix, Etc,, you can learn to fly with your thumbs or spend a little more,,Don't let your lack of a fancy pork'ie'pine 2.4 TX stop you from flying any plane out therebubsteve
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	315485_276601665699684_100000495592743_1108692_3458893_n.jpg
Views:	412
Size:	134.2 KB
ID:	157109   Click image for larger version

Name:	76718_1655581983202_1046641667_1765802_1410754_n.jpg
Views:	425
Size:	90.0 KB
ID:	157110   Click image for larger version

Name:	392923_304383206254863_100000495592743_1213038_451003532_n.jpg
Views:	397
Size:	183.6 KB
ID:	157111  
Bub Steve is offline  
Old 02-09-2012, 02:56 AM
  #27  
Pete48
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Don't forget about the "you can do 3D" by Great Planes. The fuselage and wing can actually flex and bend...

Unfortunately, my brother found out the hard way that he "can't" do 3D.
Pete48 is offline  
Old 02-09-2012, 08:25 AM
  #28  
squidger
Member
 
squidger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Horley Surrey UK
Posts: 748
Default

I bought one of those couple of years ago. Trust me you dont want one.Prob the worse aircraft I ever flew.
squidger is offline  
Old 02-10-2012, 07:11 PM
  #29  
Pete48
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Here's ours after last Saturday!
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	2012-02-07_06-52-12_513.jpg
Views:	571
Size:	91.6 KB
ID:	157144  
Pete48 is offline  
Old 03-13-2012, 09:21 AM
  #30  
phillipmorris
Super Contributor
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Sterling, Illinois
Posts: 1,707
Default

Am quite new to 3D Flight, but ran into the Nirtroplanes Sbach, wow it has some speed, did nose it up, so far seems to be nose heavy else a hoot to fly, landing needs power not the deadstick floater, but still working on moving the rear COG. More conventional flights at the moment. If you don't have a transimitter the RTF version isn't bad as dial in settings,

In the wings have a Precision Aerobatics Katana, purchased online and looks beautiful, balsa, will hold back on this one till more Sbach flying as a more easily repairalbe foamy.
phillipmorris is offline  
Old 03-13-2012, 02:05 PM
  #31  
squidger
Member
 
squidger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Horley Surrey UK
Posts: 748
Default

Happens sometimes Pete. Look on the bright side, you now have room for a new model.
squidger is offline  
Old 03-13-2012, 06:14 PM
  #32  
Doc Austin
Team Extreme Flight
 
Doc Austin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Largo, Florida
Posts: 139
Default

There are a lot of different ways to go, but for the newer pilos who are glying a T28 or something, the best option is foam. I am currently flying a Twisted Hobbgys Sbach, but we had a fun video with their new Crack Yal, and I plan to get one of those.

Make sure you get to the very bitter end, after the credits, to see the butt catch:



For more experienced pilots who have already been flying conventional aerobatics, you can go into 3D with almost anything good. Most 3D planes are stable and agile, so as long as you have good orientation skills and a reasonable mastery of conventional aerobatics, a good balsa 3D plane will seve you well.
Doc Austin is offline  
Old 04-05-2012, 02:47 AM
  #33  
jackword
jackword
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Delaware
Posts: 8
Default

The new micro beast with the stability control is unbelievable! Hobby Zone BNF $139.
jackword is offline  
Old 04-05-2012, 04:48 PM
  #34  
Nitro Blast
Community Moderator
 
Nitro Blast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sunny San Diego Ca
Posts: 4,052
Default

I'd reccomend this from Techone, or a AirfoilZ Edge or Yak.
The Yak (from 2 Dog RC) is now available from NitroPlanes.

http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=59294
Nitro Blast is offline  
Old 04-20-2012, 07:07 AM
  #35  
huayuhobby
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Shenzhen, China
Posts: 3
Default

EPP Foamy planes will be good option, like Yak 54, Extra 330, Edge -540 ...
huayuhobby is offline  
Old 04-20-2012, 08:41 PM
  #36  
WayfaringDreamer
Member
 
WayfaringDreamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Harrisburg PA
Posts: 90
Default

Originally Posted by losifanatic View Post
Before buying a plane I highly recommend a better radio. Since you alreadu fly Spektrum I recommend a dx7 or dx8. The dx6i is not a very good radio and WILL hinder performance on a 3D aircraft. So first and formost buy a GOOD radio. with that radio you will notice how much nicer and easier your current planes will fly. Then you will be ready to get a 3D plane.

I have dx6i can someone explain why it is not a good radio and will hinder performance on a 3D aircraft?
WayfaringDreamer is offline  
Old 04-20-2012, 09:43 PM
  #37  
losifanatic
RC Addict
 
losifanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: OBX, NC
Posts: 199
Default

Poor resolution and very high latency are the main things. Also the EPAs are not very good so you dont get full travel out of your servos compared to other radios.
losifanatic is offline  
Old 04-20-2012, 11:00 PM
  #38  
Bub Steve
Super Contributor
 
Bub Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Shadeville Fl,
Posts: 7,189
Default

Originally Posted by WayfaringDreamer View Post
I have dx6i can someone explain why it is not a good radio and will hinder performance on a 3D aircraft?
see my post # 26,,, you can 3/D well with nearly any TX,, I'm useing a 9 year old TX FM at the SEFF 3/D smack-Down this year,, done it before and most will say I done just fine,,,,If you don't get the throw you need use longer servo 3/D horn's,, I've been Wow'ed watching friends 3/D with their DX-6's,, just my two cent's worth,bubsteve
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	309881_271423916217459_100000495592743_1088804_8052769_n.jpg
Views:	280
Size:	171.9 KB
ID:	159057   Click image for larger version

Name:	76718_1655581983202_1046641667_1765802_1410754_n.jpg
Views:	209
Size:	90.0 KB
ID:	159058   Click image for larger version

Name:	307380_288803867812797_100000495592743_1153744_334811930_n.jpg
Views:	203
Size:	82.5 KB
ID:	159059   Click image for larger version

Name:	SAM_0424.jpg
Views:	192
Size:	201.1 KB
ID:	159060  
Bub Steve is offline  
Old 04-20-2012, 11:43 PM
  #39  
losifanatic
RC Addict
 
losifanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: OBX, NC
Posts: 199
Default

Longer servo arms only make your resolution worse. Trust a good tx makes a huge difference all around
losifanatic is offline  
Old 04-21-2012, 02:41 AM
  #40  
Bub Steve
Super Contributor
 
Bub Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Shadeville Fl,
Posts: 7,189
Default

Originally Posted by losifanatic View Post
Longer servo arms only make your resolution worse. Trust a good tx makes a huge difference all around
Like I said ,,just my two cents worth,, I really haven't heard much about this resolution prob you speak of,, I'll look into it as I was think'in about getting a used one SEFF,, I've only heard good stuff about the "6" but never owned one and will do some more research on it, The DX 6's I have flown (several)seemed fine to me, bubsteve
Bub Steve is offline  
Old 04-21-2012, 04:07 AM
  #41  
losifanatic
RC Addict
 
losifanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: OBX, NC
Posts: 199
Default

if you ever get the chance to set up a plane with a dx6i and a dx7s you will be amazed at the difference. 512 resolution compared to 2048 and full travel out of the radio. Also a latency from 60 to 80ms down to only 22 or 11ms in the high responce mode with digital servos. Alot to gain for just going up one class of radio.
losifanatic is offline  
Old 08-29-2012, 01:04 PM
  #42  
jw357_23043
Honey Badger Don't Care..
 
jw357_23043's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Deltavile, VA
Posts: 39
Default

Originally Posted by losifanatic View Post
if you ever get the chance to set up a plane with a dx6i and a dx7s you will be amazed at the difference. 512 resolution compared to 2048 and full travel out of the radio. Also a latency from 60 to 80ms down to only 22 or 11ms in the high responce mode with digital servos. Alot to gain for just going up one class of radio.
OMG!!! I made the switch about 2 years ago and all I have to say is wow!! NO more turning this clevis or that clevis to remove a bind or lose the throw I'm looking for in a surface. Whew, I love my DX7. Setup was easy. As for expo I have to agree that the small micro's require it. My UMX Beast was a PITA when I tried to fly it without expo and I've been flying over 20+years off and on.
jw357_23043 is offline  
Old 09-11-2012, 08:46 PM
  #43  
TopSpin
Member
 
TopSpin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Northern Va.
Posts: 291
Default

Just finished this a few days ago and need a calm day to wring it out. Cheap flat foamie but a nightmare to assemble so it had better fly right or I will dissasemble it the hard way.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Chick Fil A 004.JPG
Views:	241
Size:	167.5 KB
ID:	162525   Click image for larger version

Name:	Chick Fil A 005.JPG
Views:	275
Size:	165.7 KB
ID:	162526  
TopSpin is offline  
Old 09-18-2012, 11:47 PM
  #44  
Bub Steve
Super Contributor
 
Bub Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Shadeville Fl,
Posts: 7,189
Default

Originally Posted by TopSpin View Post
Just finished this a few days ago and need a calm day to wring it out. Cheap flat foamie but a nightmare to assemble so it had better fly right or I will dissasemble it the hard way.
Looks great, they can be a pain in the butt to get all the Carbon rods on and keep it strait while your do'in it, what TX you gonna use?, Bubsteve
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0124 (2).jpg
Views:	201
Size:	131.3 KB
ID:	162678  
Bub Steve is offline  
Old 11-14-2012, 02:01 AM
  #45  
archd7
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5
Default

I would say a parkmaster. That is what I learned on and it takes a beating!
archd7 is offline  
Old 11-14-2012, 03:14 PM
  #46  
jw357_23043
Honey Badger Don't Care..
 
jw357_23043's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Deltavile, VA
Posts: 39
Default

I found an old 45" Extreme Flight Extra and tormented it. I have crashed that plane and it asks for more. Blew the firewall out at SEFF and at my field, ripped the wing and LG off. In all about 5 hours of repairs it still flies great and IMO balsa flies better and you actually get that "Balsa Plane" feel. Regardless of plane type you're going to eat the dirt at some point if you want too learn 3D. Just do things high enough to become proficient and then bring it down. When it comes to hovering that is something I feel needs to be learned down low as the perspective of the plane is harder to judge up high. Besides, with a small model the damage is minimal to none if you drop it on the tail as I have done quit a few times at 6 to 10 feet. In all, just go for it!!
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Extra 45.jpg
Views:	211
Size:	233.2 KB
ID:	164143   Click image for larger version

Name:	CIMG0098.jpg
Views:	217
Size:	71.7 KB
ID:	164144   Click image for larger version

Name:	CIMG0067.jpg
Views:	209
Size:	57.0 KB
ID:	164145   Click image for larger version

Name:	CIMG0097.jpg
Views:	222
Size:	173.0 KB
ID:	164146  
jw357_23043 is offline  
Old 11-24-2012, 08:54 PM
  #47  
road king 97
old hat
 
road king 97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: joliet il
Posts: 3,105
Default

Ultron 3-D plane plans and videos are here http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...ghlight=ultron I bought 3 sheets of dollar tree foam for 3 dollars and pulled the paper of of them to build mine and used gorrila glue cause iam cheap. Here is mine almost ready for the radio and motor . I still have some sanding on my fuse and i need to tape my big ail on buts its close . joe
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	full color ultron.jpg
Views:	203
Size:	59.3 KB
ID:	164385  
road king 97 is offline  
Old 11-26-2012, 06:58 AM
  #48  
helen3
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 3
Default

The F/A-18 known as the Hornet is a supersonic, all-weather, carrier-capable, multirole fighter jet.
helen3 is offline  
Old 11-26-2012, 07:22 AM
  #49  
Nitro Blast
Community Moderator
 
Nitro Blast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sunny San Diego Ca
Posts: 4,052
Default

Originally Posted by helen3 View Post
The F/A-18 known as the Hornet is a supersonic, all-weather, carrier-capable, multirole fighter jet.

And your point is?



(me smells something fishy as that is the farthest thing from a Beginner, 3D plane as you can get)
Nitro Blast is offline  
Old 01-12-2013, 08:09 AM
  #50  
alcarafa
MONTEsorry Rc Club México
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mèxico
Posts: 38
Default

Cheap , performs well and equipment required is available at same place.

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...00mm_KIT_.html
alcarafa is offline  

Quick Reply: What is a good 3D beginner airplane??


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.11809 seconds with 29 queries