Flight Simulators Discuss computer flight simulators here

FMS Eclipse 7 set-up

Old 02-09-2009, 06:01 AM
  #1  
Chipster
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 17
Default FMS Eclipse 7 set-up

I am having a little difficulty setting up my new (Eclipse 7) tx with FMS. It seems logical that the elevator should be on the right hand control forward to bring nose up and back to bring nose down. Mine is doing just the opposite. The rudder and ailerons seem to be OK, but the throttle is backwards (to my way of thinking) forward is less and back is more engine rpms is that the way it is supposed to be? How do I go about correcting what is wrong? Thanks!
Chipster is offline  
Old 02-09-2009, 06:05 AM
  #2  
Chipster
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 17
Default OOPS!

My elevator controls are doing what I described, I think they should be back for nose up and forward for nose down and they are doing just the opposite. Throttle is on left hand control and back is full throttle, forward is less. Although on actual aircraft the throttle is pulled out for more rpms, so maybe that is the correct way (just not the way I expected.) I just don't want to be learning the wrong way on these controls, probably would not work too well.
Chipster is offline  
Old 02-09-2009, 10:03 AM
  #3  
slipstick
Super Contributor
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: N.Staffs, UK
Posts: 2,350
Default

There are several different ways of assigning the transmitter controls for RC models. What you are describing is Mode 2 which is the most common in the US and some parts of the UK etc. AIleron should be on the RH stick with rudder on the LH stick (obviously the L-R movement with the sense you'd expect, stick left, plane turns/banks left).

Elevator should be back (or down) for nose up.
Throttle should be forward (or up) for more power.

If they're working in the opposite sense just click the INV (invert) boxes against those controls in the FMS mapping/calibration screen.

Steve
slipstick is offline  
Old 02-09-2009, 03:55 PM
  #4  
Chipster
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 17
Default Thanks! And a couple more questions

Steve, Thanks for your help. Just to make sure that I have the proper controls assigned: Ch 1 = rudder (right hand control side to side),
Ch 2 = elevator (right hand control fwd back)
Ch 3 = throttle (left hand control fwd back)
Ch 4 = aileron (left hand control side to side)

So each channel has the ability to move the associated servo both directions. One other thing, does the servo automatically go to neutral when the lever is centered (except the throttle lever of course?) Also, do different (computer generated) aircraft handle differently? I have a super cub that I downloaded, would that be a good starter aircraft? If not do you have another suggestion. The cub seems to make things happen a little too fast before you get to the *reflex control* stage.

It appears that, if the above is correct, I am on my way to learning to keep the nose of the plane out of the ground.

Thanks, Chip
Chipster is offline  
Old 02-09-2009, 04:05 PM
  #5  
Chipster
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 17
Default FMS trim

Steve (or whoever is out there), One other question came to mind when I went back to the sim: How should the plane fly if properly trimmed out and controls centered? Thanks, Chip
Chipster is offline  
Old 02-09-2009, 09:14 PM
  #6  
slipstick
Super Contributor
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: N.Staffs, UK
Posts: 2,350
Default

Which part of "Aileron should be on the RH stick with rudder on the LH stick" was particularly unclear ? On a plane with ailerons the Aileron is Ch1, Rudder Ch4. If the plane doesn't have ailerons then you can put the rudder on Ch1 because it is then the control you use to turn the plane.

Not sure I understand "How should the plane fly ?"...it should fly more or less straight, not turning, climbing when you add throttle etc. Getting it to do that is what "properly trimmed" means. Though it's not easy to trim some of the models in FMS so that they don't turn at all.

Steve
slipstick is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
antonvdh
General RC E-Heli Talk
7
06-25-2009 04:40 AM
GreenAce92
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros
20
12-29-2008 10:15 PM
soundbound
Flight Simulators
0
08-26-2008 09:02 PM
Hodgehound
Off Topic Chit Chat
71
02-23-2008 12:50 AM
Doppelganger
General Electric Discussions
12
08-17-2005 12:45 PM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Quick Reply: FMS Eclipse 7 set-up


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.09075 seconds with 13 queries