Orange 3 Axis Stabilizer - Page 7 - WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

General Electric Discussions Talk about topics related to e-powered RC flying

Orange 3 Axis Stabilizer

Old 05-13-2013, 12:20 PM
  #151  
Panther
Super Contributor
 
Panther's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: South East Queensland, Australia
Posts: 1,522
Default

I have given up on these. The Eagle A3 Pro is way better and only around $30. It also has 3D mode and switchable in flight.
Panther is offline  
Old 05-13-2013, 12:57 PM
  #152  
newjak
AMA Park Pilot Partner
 
newjak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Cheswold, DE
Posts: 4,657
Default

I have 3 of them in use without a single issue.
newjak is offline  
Old 05-13-2013, 01:33 PM
  #153  
LPatrick
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 20
Default

Regarding the strange pin arrangement which makes the conventional futaba type plug useless, go to

http://hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store...h=orange%20fli

and in the photo is is very apparent that the pin spacing is not standard.
Anyone have a solution?
LPatrick is offline  
Old 05-13-2013, 01:45 PM
  #154  
newjak
AMA Park Pilot Partner
 
newjak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Cheswold, DE
Posts: 4,657
Default

Originally Posted by LPatrick View Post
Regarding the strange pin arrangement which makes the conventional futaba type plug useless, go to

http://hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store...h=orange%20fli

and in the photo is is very apparent that the pin spacing is not standard.
Anyone have a solution?

Its just appears that way in the photo. I tried to recreate the same angle. Here are some pics with a standard servo plugged in. The only thing special you need is a male-male servo jumpers. http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=21758
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	SAM_0361.jpg
Views:	93
Size:	108.7 KB
ID:	168856   Click image for larger version

Name:	SAM_0362.jpg
Views:	101
Size:	117.1 KB
ID:	168857   Click image for larger version

Name:	SAM_0363.jpg
Views:	113
Size:	110.3 KB
ID:	168858  

Last edited by newjak; 05-13-2013 at 02:32 PM.
newjak is offline  
Old 05-13-2013, 02:49 PM
  #155  
flypaper 2
Super Contributor
 
flypaper 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Kingston Ont. Can.
Posts: 1,237
Default

Another pic of the useless Futaba servo plug plugged in. The spacing on the Futaba plugs is the same as the JR plugs. You can see the middle plug with the Futaba tab sticking out that doesn't work. I'll give you a dollar for it.

Gord.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Connectors 001.jpg
Views:	122
Size:	145.2 KB
ID:	168860   Click image for larger version

Name:	Connectors 002.jpg
Views:	130
Size:	133.4 KB
ID:	168861  
flypaper 2 is offline  
Old 05-13-2013, 03:01 PM
  #156  
Rodneh
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 753
Default

I've use two of these, all with Futaba connectors with no problems.
Rodneh is offline  
Old 05-13-2013, 04:16 PM
  #157  
starcad
Model Designer
 
starcad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Tucson, Az
Posts: 584
Default

I'm not seeing an issue with mine. Flypaper in your photo it appears you haven't plugged it in correctly and missed a pin.
starcad is offline  
Old 05-13-2013, 07:24 PM
  #158  
flypaper 2
Super Contributor
 
flypaper 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Kingston Ont. Can.
Posts: 1,237
Default

The slot is not wide enough to miss a pin. You can see the Futaba tab in the slot. Besides it works fine the way it is.
flypaper 2 is offline  
Old 05-13-2013, 08:09 PM
  #159  
BigO
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 82
Default

I just ordered One to play with http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...elta_AUX_.html

Will it work with a Sig Hummer ( no rudder )
BigO is offline  
Old 05-13-2013, 10:51 PM
  #160  
LPatrick
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 20
Default

newjak,
I am not interested in an argument; what I want is a solution. My eyes are very good, and my caliper is accurate. The distance between the signal pin and the positive pin is .08", and the distance between the positive pin and the ground pin is .106. This the case on the lower four pin sets, the upper ones are standard.
LPatrick is offline  
Old 05-13-2013, 10:58 PM
  #161  
newjak
AMA Park Pilot Partner
 
newjak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Cheswold, DE
Posts: 4,657
Default

Originally Posted by LPatrick View Post
newjak,
I am not interested in an argument; what I want is a solution. My eyes are very good, and my caliper is accurate. The distance between the signal pin and the positive pin is .08", and the distance between the positive pin and the ground pin is .106. This the case on the lower four pin sets, the upper ones are standard.
I don't know where you see anything argumentative in my post. I posted to show that they are not all misaligned not to make light of your issues.

Lighten up Francis!

Last edited by newjak; 05-13-2013 at 11:20 PM.
newjak is offline  
Old 05-14-2013, 12:35 AM
  #162  
flypaper 2
Super Contributor
 
flypaper 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Kingston Ont. Can.
Posts: 1,237
Default

OK .One more time. The pin distances are .100 thou. apart for futaba and JR. Bend the pos. pin towards the neg. pin till it shows .100. Then bend the signal pin till it measures .100 from the pos. pin then plug in your Futaba plug.

Gord.
flypaper 2 is offline  
Old 05-14-2013, 03:29 AM
  #163  
starcad
Model Designer
 
starcad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Tucson, Az
Posts: 584
Default

I'll have to get mine out of the plane tonight and take a look. I did have a problem getting them aligned as at the time I installed it the Cataract on my left eye made me blind in that eye and I had a hard time seeing in 3-D ( Perspective ). I finally had my Grand Daughter align the first plug and then just followed the plugs with my fingers as a guild. It worked. Since Cataract surgery I now see things perfectly and better without my glasses, go figure.
starcad is offline  
Old 05-14-2013, 04:38 AM
  #164  
fhhuber
Super Contributor
 
fhhuber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 4,786
Default

Originally Posted by LPatrick View Post
newjak,
I am not interested in an argument; what I want is a solution. My eyes are very good, and my caliper is accurate. The distance between the signal pin and the positive pin is .08", and the distance between the positive pin and the ground pin is .106. This the case on the lower four pin sets, the upper ones are standard.
Following up on the correct spacing post above.

Sounds like the center pin(s) is(are) bent. Should be even spacing.

Slight bend can cause it to be hard to plug in... but once straightened it should be fine.
fhhuber is offline  
Old 05-18-2013, 02:54 PM
  #165  
matiac
What, me worry?
Thread Starter
 
matiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Westerly R.I.
Posts: 340
Default Why did i wait so long??!!

Finally got a chance to fly the FMS 750MM P47 with the Orange installed, and all I can say is WOW! Whole 'nother airplane, and while take-offs and landings were absolutely flawless, full throttle dives caused the tail to wag noticeably, I'm thinking I may only have to decrease the gain for the tail? Other than that, it flew like a trainer, nice and smooth. After the first relaxing flight, I let it cool down for a bit, and went through all 3 batteries I brought along, just a complete joy to fly, not fighting it at all like before, I wholeheartedly recommend this Orange gizmo...
matiac is offline  
Old 05-18-2013, 03:30 PM
  #166  
flypaper 2
Super Contributor
 
flypaper 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Kingston Ont. Can.
Posts: 1,237
Default

Yep, just back off on the gain a weeny bit and it'll be fine.

Gord.
flypaper 2 is offline  
Old 05-18-2013, 07:01 PM
  #167  
matiac
What, me worry?
Thread Starter
 
matiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Westerly R.I.
Posts: 340
Default

I'm thinking that was it. Before the rudder had a tad too much corrective throw, and now it's about 1/4 of that, so we'll put 'er up again tomorrow morning, and see what happens. I'm actually giddy with anticipation...can't WAIT to go flying again! I'm thinking about possibly getting an Eagle Tree for Sonny Boy's P47 because after watching the horror show I went through with mine originally, He's scared to death to fly his...then He saw how mine flew today...I've created a Monster...
weird, why did it dead-link "Monster"?
even weirder, now "Monster" isn't dead-linked...not linked at all now??? Hmm...
matiac is offline  
Old 05-19-2013, 12:19 PM
  #168  
sbstnp
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 13
Default

Every owner of the V1, V2 and V3 should give this a try:

Open Flight Stabilizer

Open source, slew of new features, PPM sum (cppm), sideways orientation, can directly be flashed onto each of the above using a USBASP (~$4 on ebay).

Much better than the original firmware. Has both rate mode and attitude hold, I think 3D mode is in the works.
sbstnp is offline  
Old 05-19-2013, 06:35 PM
  #169  
matiac
What, me worry?
Thread Starter
 
matiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Westerly R.I.
Posts: 340
Default

Didn't know you could update the firmware on these?? There's a port for that? Maybe I just never noticed it...hmm...
matiac is offline  
Old 05-20-2013, 01:46 AM
  #170  
Panther
Super Contributor
 
Panther's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: South East Queensland, Australia
Posts: 1,522
Default

There is no port as such. They have to be opened and in the case of the V2 , wires have to be soldered to them. The V1 has pins internally apparently.
Panther is offline  
Old 05-20-2013, 06:47 AM
  #171  
sbstnp
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 13
Default

Originally Posted by matiac View Post
Didn't know you could update the firmware on these?? There's a port for that? Maybe I just never noticed it...hmm...
V1 has external 6 pin ISP header so it's plug-and-flash.

V2 and V3 have only the pads exposed, so I just soldered a header, cut a bit of the case and that was it. 10 minute job.
sbstnp is offline  
Old 05-20-2013, 01:28 PM
  #172  
matiac
What, me worry?
Thread Starter
 
matiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Westerly R.I.
Posts: 340
Default

I've got 2 version 1's in both my bigger planes, possibly something to look into...
matiac is offline  
Old 05-20-2013, 07:26 PM
  #173  
matiac
What, me worry?
Thread Starter
 
matiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Westerly R.I.
Posts: 340
Default

Took 'er out today in 10-15mph, gusting to 20mph wind, and it was basically a non-issue. Once I got the tail gain turned down quite a bit from what I had originally set it to, it flew great! All settings are now just a notch below 50%, and it's perfect! By the way, this was my first time flying in anything other than dead-calm, and all the apprehension was for nothing. It was like the wind wasn't even there.
matiac is offline  
Old 05-21-2013, 02:54 AM
  #174  
matiac
What, me worry?
Thread Starter
 
matiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Westerly R.I.
Posts: 340
Default

Here's video from this evening, wind was still around 10mph, and the planes was solid:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ew6SI...ature=youtu.be
matiac is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
RacerPaul
Radio Equipment For Sale & WTB
0
03-10-2012 12:46 AM
cc83
General Electric Discussions
2
03-05-2012 03:44 AM
easyflyer01
Beginners - Helis
0
01-21-2012 02:52 PM
4stripes
Electric Ducted Fan Jets
5
11-03-2011 02:29 AM
Nieuport Fly Guy
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros
10
06-10-2011 04:15 PM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Quick Reply: Orange 3 Axis Stabilizer


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.14862 seconds with 21 queries