General Electric Discussions Talk about topics related to e-powered RC flying

Dynam Waco Motor Failure

Old 06-11-2014, 07:36 PM
  #1  
garyp1029
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 184
Default Dynam Waco Motor Failure

This morning I flew my Dynam Waco (using the stock set-up 4s 2200 battery and 12/6 prop) for the first time (and it flew beautifully), but on the 3rd flight the motor began making a loud metallic noise, so I landed the plane. I found the drive shaft/propellar almost frozen and very difficult to turn. It seemed to catch every few mm of hand turning. When I first unboxed the plane I had noticed a mild catching, but being an electric newbie I thought it would loosen up after running. Obviously, I was wrong. The motors of my first two planes---Apprentice and Super Sportster rxr---turn freely and smoothly. I emailed Nitro this AM and told them the story and asked for a new replacement motor. The phone number on their website---626 968-9860---does not work, and the substitute given is only 7 digits long---626 0664---and is therefore incomplete. SO . . . do you agree that the motor was defective OR is there another factor that should be considered Thanks. Gary P.S.--Does anyone have their complete 10 digit number?
garyp1029 is offline  
Old 06-11-2014, 08:31 PM
  #2  
fhhuber
Super Contributor
 
fhhuber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 4,786
Default

Hard to say but normally these motors only fail from defect or foreign objects getting into them. Many hours of use on the motors I have from models in this series.

Dynam usually makes good motors. I've never had one fail and I have 4 Dynam motors that are over 8 years old. Reports of failures that are not due to crash damage are rare.
fhhuber is offline  
Old 06-11-2014, 08:52 PM
  #3  
simibill
General Factotum
 
simibill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Simi Valley,CA
Posts: 1,166
Default

[QUOTEThe phone number on their website---626 968-9860[/QUOTE]

I called the number and got a response to choose sales or tech support. They also have a live chat function you might try.
simibill is offline  
Old 06-11-2014, 08:56 PM
  #4  
kyleservicetech
Super Contributor
 
kyleservicetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 8,952
Default

Originally Posted by garyp1029 View Post
This morning I flew my Dynam Waco (using the stock set-up 4s 2200 battery and 12/6 prop) for the first time (and it flew beautifully), but on the 3rd flight the motor began making a loud metallic noise, so I landed the plane. I found the drive shaft/propellar almost frozen and very difficult to turn. It seemed to catch every few mm of hand turning. When I first unboxed the plane I had noticed a mild catching, but being an electric newbie I thought it would loosen up after running. Obviously, I was wrong. The motors of my first two planes---Apprentice and Super Sportster rxr---turn freely and smoothly. I emailed Nitro this AM and told them the story and asked for a new replacement motor. The phone number on their website---626 968-9860---does not work, and the substitute given is only 7 digits long---626 0664---and is therefore incomplete. SO . . . do you agree that the motor was defective OR is there another factor that should be considered Thanks. Gary P.S.--Does anyone have their complete 10 digit number?
I wonder if a magnet came loose?
kyleservicetech is offline  
Old 06-11-2014, 09:15 PM
  #5  
mclarkson
Super Contributor
 
mclarkson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 3,958
Default

That was my thought as well. That, or some foreign matter in the motor.
mclarkson is offline  
Old 06-11-2014, 09:32 PM
  #6  
garyp1029
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 184
Default

I got the original phone number working and got through to Nitro. They told me to send the motor back for replacement. I took the motor off and found that the 4 screws holding the motor onto the X mount were loose, in fact very loose. When turned by hand the crankshaft turns with a clunk, clunk, clunk noise. I don't know what the problems is, but I suspect it was there from the start and damaged the motor even more from flying. As I said there was a little "hitch" in the motor out of the box. I guess I should have notified Nitro at that time. Anyway, I'll mail it back today. Thanks. Gary
garyp1029 is offline  
Old 06-12-2014, 12:00 AM
  #7  
fhhuber
Super Contributor
 
fhhuber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 4,786
Default

sounding a bit like a loose screw got in the motor.
fhhuber is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
garyp1029
General Electric Discussions
5
05-24-2014 07:40 AM
garyp1029
General Electric Discussions
2
05-04-2014 03:04 AM
chestnutree
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros
14
06-19-2013 02:38 PM
Maladroit
Warbird Electrics
11
03-11-2012 11:19 PM
Nieuport Fly Guy
Airplanes - Electric For Sale & WTB
2
08-19-2011 12:52 AM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Quick Reply: Dynam Waco Motor Failure


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.09082 seconds with 13 queries