General Electric Discussions Talk about topics related to e-powered RC flying

Conscendo Evolution Spectrum Binding

Old 08-14-2021, 08:29 PM
  #1  
MidwestGuy
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Posts: 4
Default Conscendo Evolution Spectrum Binding

Hello,

I have a Spectrum DX6 and a bunch of Horizon planes. I continue to be baffled, after years, at how they can exhibit different bind behavior, with some being trouble-free and others just not.

Here is my question. I setup my new Evolution today. I created a new Acro-type model in the DX6 per the instructions. I can bind no problem *if I first remove the receiver cover and press the bind button* - but not if not.

With most of my HH planes, I plug in the battery, turn on the TX, then bind.

Why is this one different? Am I doing something wrong?

A screw holds on the RX cover and removing it to bind is a PITA in the field.

Please enlighten me, and thanks in advance!
MidwestGuy is offline  
Old 08-15-2021, 12:22 AM
  #2  
Don Sims
Administrator
 
Don Sims's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Middle Tennessee
Posts: 15,361
Default

Are you binding every time you fly? On mine, I bind once and then am done.I turn on the transmitter first then plug the plane in.
Don Sims is offline  
Old 08-15-2021, 03:28 AM
  #3  
MidwestGuy
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Posts: 4
Default

Even if you fly another plane with that TX? If I switch planes I have to rebind. I am almost positive controls do nothing until I bind again.
MidwestGuy is offline  
Old 08-15-2021, 12:07 PM
  #4  
quorneng
Super Contributor
 
quorneng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cheshire, UK
Posts: 2,036
Default

Midwestguy
Something is definitely wrong. All my receivers (various makes) stay bound to the appropriate model 'slot' in a DX6i in my case and have remained so for the life of the plane (years).
Once bound and everything is set up correctly its just a case of switch on the TX, select the appropriate model, connect the battery in the plane. ESC 'arms', control check and you are away, every time.
quorneng is offline  
Old 08-15-2021, 12:25 PM
  #5  
Don Sims
Administrator
 
Don Sims's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Middle Tennessee
Posts: 15,361
Default

Yes, I can fly multiple planes on the transmitter and not bind between planes. As each plane is set up in the radio they keep the initial bind. Don't recall how many models the DX6 had in memory but there were several. New DX6 radios have 250 model memory.
When binding a new plane, sometimes I need to be a few feet away and they don't bind up close. But when flying several different planes, change the model in the transmitter then be sure the transmitter is on first then plug the plane in. https://spektrumrc.com/Products/Defa...ProdId=SPM6700 is a link to the newer DX6 manuals.
Don Sims is offline  
Old 08-15-2021, 04:54 PM
  #6  
MidwestGuy
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Posts: 4
Default

Originally Posted by quorneng View Post
Midwestguy
Something is definitely wrong. All my receivers (various makes) stay bound to the appropriate model 'slot' in a DX6i in my case and have remained so for the life of the plane (years).
Once bound and everything is set up correctly its just a case of switch on the TX, select the appropriate model, connect the battery in the plane. ESC 'arms', control check and you are away, every time.
My TX is a gen 1, one of the earliest. Maybe time for a new one!
MidwestGuy is offline  
Old 08-15-2021, 07:00 PM
  #7  
solentlife
Super Contributor
 
solentlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ex UK Brit now in Latvia west coast - Ventspils
Posts: 12,789
Default

Originally Posted by MidwestGuy View Post
My TX is a gen 1, one of the earliest. Maybe time for a new one!
Shouldn't make any difference ...

You bind each model to a separate model slot on the TX .... so when you switch on TX - you choose which model you want and then power up that model.

It sounds like you are using only one model slot on your TX for all models ..... time for reading the Manual I think !!
solentlife is offline  
Old 08-15-2021, 07:46 PM
  #8  
quorneng
Super Contributor
 
quorneng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cheshire, UK
Posts: 2,036
Default

MidwestGuy
That may be a good idea. The DX6 Gen 1 does have some reported weaknesses but even so it is not as old as my DX6i.
quorneng is offline  
Old 08-16-2021, 02:04 AM
  #9  
MidwestGuy
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Posts: 4
Default

Originally Posted by solentlife View Post
Shouldn't make any difference ...

You bind each model to a separate model slot on the TX .... so when you switch on TX - you choose which model you want and then power up that model.

It sounds like you are using only one model slot on your TX for all models ..... time for reading the Manual I think !!
Nope - I have each plane setup under a different - Model.

There is really no other way to have per-plane settings.

Maybe there is some other reason the Evolution makes me rebind it every time I fly it.
MidwestGuy is offline  
Old 08-16-2021, 02:31 AM
  #10  
Don Sims
Administrator
 
Don Sims's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Middle Tennessee
Posts: 15,361
Default

Any chance of changing receives in it?
Don Sims is offline  
Old 08-25-2021, 03:50 PM
  #11  
AEAJR
Community Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 5,867
Default

I would suspect there is a problem with the receiver. Check with Horizon Hobby.

As I understand the binding process, in simple terms, the transmitter provides an identification code to the receiver which stores it. The receiver looks for that code in the transmission and will ignore all others. If it loses the binding code it will have to be bound again.

Sounds like yours is not holding the binding code.
AEAJR is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Bald Paul
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros
65
06-07-2017 11:42 AM
Dirky
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros
27
09-05-2015 09:33 AM
woodmangler
Beginners
6
05-22-2015 02:08 AM
abborgogna
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros
3
04-15-2015 07:08 AM
Skyydogg
Beginners
1
02-24-2011 03:33 AM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Quick Reply: Conscendo Evolution Spectrum Binding


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.11807 seconds with 13 queries