Beginners New to e-power flying? Get the low down in here from experienced e-power RC pilots!

How to mount an outrunner?

Old 03-08-2006, 08:37 PM
  #1  
pootman
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 9
Default How to mount an outrunner?

I bought a hacker A30 for my new plane. Being new to electrics, how do I mount this motor? The paperwork that came with the motor is minimal. I think I have it more or less figured out, but would like advise from those with more experience before I blow the motor up. Thanks!
pootman is offline  
Old 03-08-2006, 08:52 PM
  #2  
Rugar
FAA# OUTLAW!
 
Rugar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: San Bernardino, Ca. USA
Posts: 2,621
Default

Welcome to WattFlyer!

We need more info such as what plane you want to mount it on, what ESC will you be using, what batteries etc....
Rugar is offline  
Old 03-08-2006, 10:37 PM
  #3  
pootman
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 9
Default

It's a Fliton Rogue 3D with a hacker x30 esc and a thunderpower 3s/2000mAH lipoly. The motor mount that was provided on the hacker A30 motor allows me to mount the engine both forwards and backwards. It also allows me to add a prop shaft on the rear of the motor to allow a backwards mounting. My questions is, there are several parts included for the motor mount, what parts are required for forward mounting and what parts for backwards mounting. For example, with a backwards mount (the mount that seems to work best on this aircraft) the original prop shaft faces to the rear and an alternate prop shaft is mounted on the opposite side of the motor. I used the mount that looks like an X, do I need to use anything else? What the lightweight collar for? Or the round wood mount or spacer (not sure) for? Thanks for the advise.
pootman is offline  
Old 03-08-2006, 10:53 PM
  #4  
Rugar
FAA# OUTLAW!
 
Rugar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: San Bernardino, Ca. USA
Posts: 2,621
Default

Originally Posted by pootman View Post
It's a Fliton Rogue 3D with a hacker x30 esc and a thunderpower 3s/2000mAH lipoly. The motor mount that was provided on the hacker A30 motor allows me to mount the engine both forwards and backwards. It also allows me to add a prop shaft on the rear of the motor to allow a backwards mounting. My questions is, there are several parts included for the motor mount, what parts are required for forward mounting and what parts for backwards mounting. For example, with a backwards mount (the mount that seems to work best on this aircraft) the original prop shaft faces to the rear and an alternate prop shaft is mounted on the opposite side of the motor. I used the mount that looks like an X, do I need to use anything else? What the lightweight collar for? Or the round wood mount or spacer (not sure) for? Thanks for the advise.
The collar goes on the shaft and pushed all the way on when you mount the motor backwards like your planning on doing. It basically is a safety retainer to help hold the shaft in place in case one of the c clips breaks so the shaft wont come out. The wood mount is just another way to mount the motor on different applications.

All you should need to do is put the collar on the shaft, and then bolt the X mount on the same side of the motor. Then bolt the prop adapter on the opposite end of the motor and your all set. I always use Blue Loc Tite when bolting that stuff up to be sure nothing comes loose.
Rugar is offline  
Old 03-10-2006, 05:43 PM
  #5  
pootman
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 9
Default

Thanks for the info. The collar threw me off.
pootman is offline  
Old 03-10-2006, 06:51 PM
  #6  
hoppy
Watts up Doc?
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 491
Default

The round wooden plywood mount can be glued to a firewall on the front of the plane. The motor shaft goes through the firewall /plywood mount and the 4 screws hold the motor on. The motor is behind the firewall in this case. I generally just use a piece of 3/32" plywood for the firewall and mount the motor to it using the supplied round plywood as a template for where to cut the holes. In this case the collar is not used.
hoppy is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
CHELLIE
Power Systems
218
07-29-2017 08:01 PM
hawkman-rcu
Power Systems
1
06-05-2008 01:14 AM
wattflyer6161
General Electric Discussions
2
11-03-2007 08:49 PM
RSS Feed
RCU RSS Feed
0
09-05-2006 05:10 AM
LDM
Power Systems
2
01-03-2006 08:59 PM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Quick Reply: How to mount an outrunner?


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.14835 seconds with 12 queries