Spinner nut falls off - WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

General Electric Discussions Talk about topics related to e-powered RC flying

Spinner nut falls off

Old 07-23-2012, 04:34 PM
waterfire

Default Spinner nut falls off

I'm new to airplanes and I need some help. I have a used O.S. Surpass 4 stroke .48 engine.
I have no problem starting and running it, it's just that the prop spinner keeps getting loose.
One question: the engine turns ccw standing in front, the prop nut is a right hand thread, the starter
rotates ccw....so... if I keep using the starter ccw and the spinner is a right thread won't it keep
making the prop spinner loose all the time....Do they make a cw spinner? thanks
Old 07-23-2012, 04:36 PM
rcers
Super Contributor

Double nuts help a great deal on 4 stroke engines. You might be a bit to wet causing the detonation too early too.

We are dedicated to "e" flight here but thought I would help out with that.

Mike
Old 07-23-2012, 05:24 PM
solentlife
Super Contributor

Really should be posted in a Glow Engine forum ........... but anyway ..

4 strokes are notorious for shaking nuts loose and of course here you have a starter cone that is also trying to undo the nut against higher compression 4Stroker.

Solution ? If the double nut is not suitable - then you fit a proper spinner that covers the prop nut. Then starter will then be applied to a spinner instead of to the prop nut. It is not a good idea to use a combination prop-nut - spinner on such an engine.

Now here's a strange thing ... how big is the hole in the rubber starter cone you use ? The cone is reversable ... big hole for spinners, little hole for prop nuts. BUT I never used the small hole - preferred to bear the starter cone onto the prop ...
Old 07-23-2012, 05:48 PM
Rodneh