Go Back  WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Electric R/C Airplanes > General Electric Discussions
Reload this Page >

New Member, Reinstalling Super Cub LP Electronics: Worried about Power Failure

General Electric Discussions Talk about topics related to e-powered RC flying

New Member, Reinstalling Super Cub LP Electronics: Worried about Power Failure

Old 08-14-2013, 02:50 PM
brockac12

Question New Member, Reinstalling Super Cub LP Electronics: Worried about Power Failure

Hello, I'm new to RC Planes and have recently bought a Hobbyzone Super Cub LP RTF. I have learned to fly it quite well, but now I would like to upgrade the electronics, and add ailerons and lights. I'm attempting to understand the Voltage, Amps, and Watts so I can choose all parts myself. I think I'm on the right track, but I am still a beginner.

My main concern is that the BEC is only giving 5V to the Receiver, but the servos and Lights all have a max of 6V. Would this cause a power failure in flight, or would it work at all? Any Suggestions would be helpful!

I created this electronics schematic to visually understand all the parts I will need. Thanks for any comments! (Parts are from Hobbyking.com)

Click image for larger version

Name:	Super Cub Future Wire Schematic.PNG
Views:	451
Size:	42.2 KB
ID:	170249

Last edited by brockac12; 08-14-2013 at 10:47 PM.
Old 08-14-2013, 04:12 PM
xmech2k
Ya got any Beeman's?

Hi and welcome to WF. Looking at your schematic, I'm wondering about your Turnigy(?) 30A ESC. You indicated you're kind of new to the electronics part, so are you aware there are ESC's for brushed motors, and ESC's for brushless? Just asking as your diagram didn't specify it.

If you're going this far, maybe you want to go with a brushless motor. There are many threads on upgrading the legendary SuperCub, here and on other forums. I'm sure there would be plenty of motor suggestions out there.