Batteries & Chargers Discuss Li-P, Li-Ion, NiMh, Nicad battery technology and the chargers that juice 'em up!

Is sequence important?

Old 11-15-2007, 01:51 PM
Dogsnout

Default Is sequence important?

I'm new to all of this and am waiting for the wind to die before trying my Super Cub. I noticed that the manuals say to turn on the transmitter before hooking up the battery and for charging they say to hook the battery up to the charger and then plug it in. Then reverse both processes when finished.

Is there a reason for using that sequence?
Old 11-15-2007, 02:06 PM
cliffh

I don't know about the battery/charger thing, but you definately want your transmitter turned on before you turn on your airplane receiver. If the plane is turned on first, the servos may just go crazy and try to travel to an extreem position, depending on what type of signals it may be receiving or electrical background noise, possibly to the point of damaging the servo. The transmitter signal will keep things centered nicely.

Transmitter turned on first....and off last.
Old 11-15-2007, 02:29 PM
Dogsnout

Alright, thank you very much!
Old 11-15-2007, 03:04 PM
Mark Wood
Owner: LipoSack.com

Depending on the charger but most of them "interrogate" the battery to set up the charge sequence. Therefore, hook up battery first so that the charger can "see" it.

Cliff is absolutely spot on about the transmitter sequence.

mw
Old 11-15-2007, 05:59 PM
Rodneh

Most modern chargers have you set up the parameters before connecting the battery; i.e. choose NiMh, NiCad, LiPo etc. before starting the charge or connecting the battery. On some, it makes no difference as the battery is not connected internally until you push the "Charge" button.
Old 11-15-2007, 06:06 PM
firemanbill
Community Moderator