General Electric Discussions Talk about topics related to e-powered RC flying

help SPEKTRUM DX7

Old 08-22-2011, 01:24 AM
  #1  
Fulanito_uk
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: London
Posts: 106
Default help SPEKTRUM DX7

Hi all,

Having problem with my DX7,

Turning it on i get no display, however i do hear a beep and the BIND/RANGE test at the back is flashing green....

Any ideas what it could be i'm guessing due to the beep and flashing light at the rear its not the fuse right?

(PS due to my location I think i need to somehow fix this my self as shipping to USA will be pretty hard, im in Chile and the post sucks just moved here and my electrical instruments are very very limited)

THANK you so much for you help
Fulanito_uk is offline  
Old 08-22-2011, 01:31 AM
  #2  
NJSwede
3D wannabe
 
NJSwede's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,893
Default

Originally Posted by Fulanito_uk View Post
Hi all,

Having problem with my DX7,

Turning it on i get no display, however i do hear a beep and the BIND/RANGE test at the back is flashing green....

Any ideas what it could be i'm guessing due to the beep and flashing light at the rear its not the fuse right?

(PS due to my location I think i need to somehow fix this my self as shipping to USA will be pretty hard, im in Chile and the post sucks just moved here and my electrical instruments are very very limited)

THANK you so much for you help
Doesn't sound like the fuse, but I'd open it up and check anyway just to be sure. It takes about 2 minutes...
NJSwede is offline  
Old 08-22-2011, 01:41 AM
  #3  
Grasshopper
Some Assembly Required
 
Grasshopper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 12,070
Default

Ok, this may be a stupid question, but have you charged it fully?
Grasshopper is offline  
Old 08-22-2011, 01:44 AM
  #4  
Fulanito_uk
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: London
Posts: 106
Default

Thanks for the reply... well it worked fine when it got here (low power warning) I had it sent over here from UK where i was living however i think i got sent the wrong charger so pluged it in for 5 minutes and then remembered that the Spektrum uses a diffrent sort of charger so quickly unpluged it... turned it on and had the problem above, makes a beep and the light flashes on the rear...

the charger that was sent to me is a Amerang i think i used it on my old hitec TX, it will not be fully charged but should have enough juice to turn on.....
Fulanito_uk is offline  
Old 08-22-2011, 01:53 AM
  #5  
kyleservicetech
Super Contributor
 
kyleservicetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 8,952
Default

Originally Posted by Fulanito_uk View Post
Thanks for the reply... well it worked fine when it got here (low power warning) I had it sent over here from UK where i was living however i think i got sent the wrong charger so pluged it in for 5 minutes and then remembered that the Spektrum uses a diffrent sort of charger so quickly unpluged it... turned it on and had the problem above, makes a beep and the light flashes on the rear...

the charger that was sent to me is a Amerang i think i used it on my old hitec TX, it will not be fully charged but should have enough juice to turn on.....
H'mmm
I've done that with my DX7. If you pull the back cover off, you will find a small metric fuse located in the lower half of the main circuit board. Hopefully all that is wrong is this fuse is blown. Not certain of its value, might be around one ampere or so.

Good luck!
kyleservicetech is offline  
Old 08-22-2011, 01:53 AM
  #6  
firemanbill
Community Moderator
 
firemanbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sevierville, Tennessee
Posts: 20,593
Default

Originally Posted by Fulanito_uk View Post
Thanks for the reply... well it worked fine when it got here (low power warning) I had it sent over here from UK where i was living however i think i got sent the wrong charger so pluged it in for 5 minutes and then remembered that the Spektrum uses a diffrent sort of charger so quickly unpluged it... turned it on and had the problem above, makes a beep and the light flashes on the rear...

the charger that was sent to me is a Amerang i think i used it on my old hitec TX, it will not be fully charged but should have enough juice to turn on.....

Hitec and JR/Spektrum have opposite neg/pos leads on the charger. If you used one that is for Hitec then you could have problems. Hopefully it's just the fuse. easy fix as i did that on mine. Mine didn't light up the bind button or beep though, it was completely dead.
firemanbill is offline  
Old 08-22-2011, 01:56 AM
  #7  
Grasshopper
Some Assembly Required
 
Grasshopper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 12,070
Default

If I remember correctly, the charger for the DX7 is the same as the JR charger and the negative terminal is in the center with the positive on the outside of the plug. It's reversed from others.

I use a JR charger on mine. It states the output at 11.6V 50mA.
Grasshopper is offline  
Old 08-22-2011, 01:57 AM
  #8  
Fulanito_uk
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: London
Posts: 106
Default

I hope its the fuse... what worries me is the light and the beep i hope its not a bigger problem
Fulanito_uk is offline  
Old 08-22-2011, 01:58 AM
  #9  
Grasshopper
Some Assembly Required
 
Grasshopper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 12,070
Default

Too slow again I see. When the fuse blew on my DX7, everything was dead as Bill stated.
Grasshopper is offline  
Old 08-22-2011, 01:59 AM
  #10  
Fulanito_uk
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: London
Posts: 106
Default

i pluged it in to this one
http://alshobbies.com/shop/lookupstock.php?pc=34752
Fulanito_uk is offline  
Old 08-22-2011, 02:00 AM
  #11  
firemanbill
Community Moderator
 
firemanbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sevierville, Tennessee
Posts: 20,593
Default

Originally Posted by Fulanito_uk View Post
yeah... that's the wrong one.
firemanbill is offline  
Old 08-22-2011, 02:02 AM
  #12  
Fulanito_uk
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: London
Posts: 106
Default

so should just be the fuse right (fingers crossed)
Fulanito_uk is offline  
Old 08-22-2011, 02:14 AM
  #13  
firemanbill
Community Moderator
 
firemanbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sevierville, Tennessee
Posts: 20,593
Default

Originally Posted by Fulanito_uk View Post
so should just be the fuse right (fingers crossed)
Only one way to find out, take the back off and check. It's very easy to see and get too. You'll know it as soon as you take the back off.
firemanbill is offline  
Old 08-22-2011, 02:16 AM
  #14  
Fulanito_uk
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: London
Posts: 106
Default

need to buy a better screwdriver tomorrow... what does a burnt fuse look like?
Fulanito_uk is offline  
Old 08-22-2011, 02:21 AM
  #15  
firemanbill
Community Moderator
 
firemanbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sevierville, Tennessee
Posts: 20,593
Default

Originally Posted by Fulanito_uk View Post
need to buy a better screwdriver tomorrow... what does a burnt fuse look like?
it's a clear glass tube with metal ends and a wire running through it. If it's blown the wire will be burned in two.
firemanbill is offline  
Old 08-22-2011, 02:24 AM
  #16  
Fulanito_uk
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: London
Posts: 106
Default

well i will be back tomorrow... THANKS EVERY ONE FOR YOUR HELP!!
(so angry at myself... walking to the corner in shame)
Fulanito_uk is offline  
Old 08-22-2011, 02:25 AM
  #17  
Grasshopper
Some Assembly Required
 
Grasshopper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 12,070
Default

If it's blown, it will look like this.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	imagesCACXYJBO.jpg
Views:	112
Size:	5.0 KB
ID:	152137  
Grasshopper is offline  
Old 08-22-2011, 02:34 AM
  #18  
kyleservicetech
Super Contributor
 
kyleservicetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 8,952
Default

Originally Posted by Fulanito_uk View Post
need to buy a better screwdriver tomorrow... what does a burnt fuse look like?

If you have access to a digital multimeter, turn of your transmitter, set the meter to the resistance X1 range and short the two meter leads together. The meter should show zero ohms, or very close to it.

Then touch the meters probes to each side of that fuse. Again, the meter should show zero ohms or very close to it. If not, its blown.
kyleservicetech is offline  
Old 08-22-2011, 02:35 AM
  #19  
Fulanito_uk
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: London
Posts: 106
Default

i hope i see that tomorrow!

Kyle left all my stuff like that behind so dont have a multimeter (not even a good screwdriver)...

However if the fuse is blow i should'nt hearing any beeps i'm guessing....thats what will keep me up tonight...
Fulanito_uk is offline  
Old 08-22-2011, 02:38 AM
  #20  
kyleservicetech
Super Contributor
 
kyleservicetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 8,952
Default

Originally Posted by Fulanito_uk View Post
i hope i see that tomorrow!
Or, set your multimeter to a 20 Volt DC range, turn on your transmitter, and check the voltage across that fuse. It should be zero. If it shows 9 volts or battery voltage, again that fuse is blown.
kyleservicetech is offline  
Old 08-22-2011, 02:48 AM
  #21  
Fulanito_uk
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: London
Posts: 106
Default

However if the fuse is blow i should'nt hearing any beeps or getting a green flashing light i'm guessing.... i hope i haven't blown anything else
Fulanito_uk is offline  
Old 08-22-2011, 10:06 PM
  #22  
Fulanito_uk
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: London
Posts: 106
Default

Ok Fuse is ok... looks like blow somthing in the control, i think i'm cursed....

I'm thinking it might be cheaper just to buy a DX6 a throw this one in the bin due to me being in Chile the shipping charges repair cost etc... waiting in time will be a pain in the you know what!!!

And i guess the DX6 should work on the radien pro.
Fulanito_uk is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Philx
Radio Equipment For Sale & WTB
6
01-29-2013 09:51 PM
PhantomSC
Radio Equipment For Sale & WTB
0
07-05-2011 06:56 PM
firemanbill
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros
12
05-06-2011 09:42 PM
grumman5277
Radio Equipment For Sale & WTB
0
03-09-2011 01:35 AM
TSky28
Radio Equipment For Sale & WTB
0
02-08-2011 11:22 PM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Quick Reply: help SPEKTRUM DX7


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.20529 seconds with 17 queries