RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

I have a question regarding the new 16 channel transmitters.

Old 05-05-2011, 04:40 AM
  #1  
FlyWheel
Ochroma Pyramidale Tekton
Thread Starter
 
FlyWheel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Blackstock, South Carolina
Posts: 3,029
Default I have a question regarding the new 16 channel transmitters.

Why?




I'm seroius. I can't even think of 16 things to put on an airplane!

Let's see now, if I have a seperate servo for each aileron, flap and spoiler, that makes what, 6? Add the elevator and rudder and you have 8, motor makes 9. Retracts? 10. Bomb bay doors will use Ch. 11 and the bomb release will be on Ch 12.

Let's put a camera on this plane too (why? I don't know why! That's why I'm asking this stupid question!). So channel 13 could be used for pan/tilt and 14 will release the shutter or start/stop the video.

Lets see that leaves what, two channels? How about phasers on 15. Ok, so just one left. Channel 16? OK, wait a minute, let me think...










...hang on, I'll come up with something...









...Hmm, do I still have that extra flux capacitor in the garage..?

Posted via Mobile Device
FlyWheel is offline  
Old 05-05-2011, 04:48 AM
  #2  
crxmanpat
Community Moderator
 
crxmanpat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 6,897
Default

Bigger planes that have 4 servos on the wings (two for ailerons, two for flaps), dual rudder and elevator servo setups, landging gear sequencing doors, nav lights, working canopy, working speed brakes, working drogue chute. The list goes on and on.

XPS is coming out with a new 16-ch radio soon. 1000 model memory (my 9303 is full), telemetry, user interface, remote updating, and on and on. But the best part about it is the price, $249! I can't wait to get mine! (Even though I typically fly no more than 3 channels! )
crxmanpat is offline  
Old 05-05-2011, 05:08 AM
  #3  
kenchiroalpha
Retired Master Chief USN
 
kenchiroalpha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,837
Default

Originally Posted by crxmanpat View Post
Bigger planes that have 4 servos on the wings (two for ailerons, two for flaps), dual rudder and elevator servo setups, landging gear sequencing doors, nav lights, working canopy, working speed brakes, working drogue chute. The list goes on and on.

XPS is coming out with a new 16-ch radio soon. 1000 model memory (my 9303 is full), telemetry, user interface, remote updating, and on and on. But the best part about it is the price, $249! I can't wait to get mine! (Even though I typically fly no more than 3 channels! )
Hi Pat
Quite right
In fact 2 of my warbirds the Jug and the Lightning use just such setups
My JR 12x can handle them as easily as my parkflyers and in the long run is a bargin for all that it allows me to do
Most of my aircraft fixed wing and heli are controlled by it so the large model memory is a plus as well
I dont regret the expense one bit as it will serve me very well for quite a long time
Take care dear friend
Yours Hank

Last edited by kenchiroalpha; 08-15-2011 at 02:41 AM.
kenchiroalpha is offline  
Old 05-05-2011, 06:00 AM
  #4  
Nitro Blast
Community Moderator
 
Nitro Blast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sunny San Diego Ca
Posts: 4,052
Default

Originally Posted by crxmanpat View Post
Bigger planes that have 4 servos on the wings (two for ailerons, two for flaps), dual rudder and elevator servo setups, landging gear sequencing doors, nav lights, working canopy, working speed brakes, working drogue chute. The list goes on and on.

XPS is coming out with a new 16-ch radio soon. 1000 model memory (my 9303 is full), telemetry, user interface, remote updating, and on and on. But the best part about it is the price, $249! I can't wait to get mine! (Even though I typically fly no more than 3 channels! )

Indeed! I'm on the short list for one also. Mixing Mixing Mixing is why you would want so many channels. Sure, not every plane, every application, but soon, my radio setups will be LIMITLESS!!
Nitro Blast is offline  
Old 05-05-2011, 06:25 AM
  #5  
Larry3215
Look out for that tree!!!
 
Larry3215's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Gig Harbor, Wa USA
Posts: 7,061
Default

More power!!!!!!!!!!!

Larry3215 is offline  
Old 05-05-2011, 11:53 AM
  #6  
solentlife
Super Contributor
 
solentlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ex UK Brit now in Latvia west coast - Ventspils
Posts: 12,553
Default

Thing that I've noticed is that we have increased number of ch's but also lost some of the old facilities.

My old 1980's 8ch JR Propo had buttons on top for Snap roll left, right and inverted ... exponential rudder/throttle coordination etc.



even though it was not a computer job ... it had mixing and set-ups that had you oooooohing and arrrrrrring when it appeared on shop shelves !

My new 2.4Ghz jobs have switches and knobs on ... menus to do all sorts of fancy stuff .......... but no snap-roll buttons !
solentlife is offline  
Old 05-05-2011, 12:46 PM
  #7  
buzzltyr
Member
 
buzzltyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 326
Default

Originally Posted by solentlife View Post
Thing that I've noticed is that we have increased number of ch's but also lost some of the old facilities.

My old 1980's 8ch JR Propo had buttons on top for Snap roll left, right and inverted ... exponential rudder/throttle coordination etc.

even though it was not a computer job ... it had mixing and set-ups that had you oooooohing and arrrrrrring when it appeared on shop shelves !

My new 2.4Ghz jobs have switches and knobs on ... menus to do all sorts of fancy stuff .......... but no snap-roll buttons !
The Aurora9 from Hitec has a snap-roll function you can program for four different snap rolls. The directions are on page 109 of the manual. Given the A9's programmability, I'd guess the snap roll function could be assigned to any of the multiple switches.

Mark
buzzltyr is offline  
Old 05-05-2011, 02:39 PM
  #8  
spad
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 643
Default

Is that like a California roll?
spad is offline  
Old 05-05-2011, 08:36 PM
  #9  
solentlife
Super Contributor
 
solentlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ex UK Brit now in Latvia west coast - Ventspils
Posts: 12,553
Default

Originally Posted by buzzltyr View Post
The Aurora9 from Hitec has a snap-roll function you can program for four different snap rolls. The directions are on page 109 of the manual. Given the A9's programmability, I'd guess the snap roll function could be assigned to any of the multiple switches.

Mark

The beauty of the old JR buttons was they were press to make momentary buttons ... I'd not like to flick a switch to do same - even a sprung one - just not the same .... and they fell near to index finger for use ... based on I used to thumb my sticks.

California Roll ?? Assuming it's not a bit of sarcasm .. is that another US alternative name to what rest of world calls it ?

JR8 manual page ....

solentlife is offline  
Old 05-05-2011, 11:21 PM
  #10  
crxmanpat
Community Moderator
 
crxmanpat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 6,897
Default

Banana Hobby has a 15-servo F-18E coming out later this month. It features:

Throttle
Ailerons
Elevators
Rudders/Steerable Nosewheel
Flaps/Leading Edge Slats
Retracts
360 Thrust Vectoring Nozzles
Opening Canopy
Folding Wings

All those buttons and switches are going to come in handy!
crxmanpat is offline  
Old 05-08-2011, 05:55 PM
  #11  
dmoody19
Dave101
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Space Coast Florida
Posts: 2
Talking 16 channels

If you have a good sized 3d plane you will have 4 servos for ailerons (2 on each side) , flaps, twins for elevator, (or triples like the 38% extra 330S from great planes) plus twins for rudder the list goes on and on....

As for the snap roll.......... My airtronics SD10G has twin buttons like your old radio.... not to mention triple rate switches...... The buttons are there for things like ...... snap rolls.....

I will have to also try out the new 16 if it finally shows up.... The voice link etc will be great... If it works like claimed then it would be a radio that you could fly almost anything with without having to get a new radio when you go bigger and with more planes. The amount of planes it remembers is great. If you guys are like me you always want another plane... Even if you bought 20 or more in the last year or so .... LOL......
dmoody19 is offline  
Old 05-08-2011, 06:20 PM
  #12  
solentlife
Super Contributor
 
solentlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ex UK Brit now in Latvia west coast - Ventspils
Posts: 12,553
Default

............As for the snap roll.......... My airtronics SD10G has twin buttons like your old radio.... not to mention triple rate switches...... The buttons are there for things like ...... snap rolls..... ............
Look around at how many do not have such buttons ... in 80's most multi channel sets of 8ch etc. had them ... now most don't.
My JR in that picture also has triple rates ... not just dual .... but that even then was unusual. In fact I could flick a switch and the 3 rate switches ... Rudder, Aileron and Elevator would effectively dual rate a different setting ... I even had various interlocks, switch out / in combos ....

But then again it was the Rolls Royce of radios then ...
solentlife is offline  
Old 05-08-2011, 07:20 PM
  #13  
dmoody19
Dave101
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Space Coast Florida
Posts: 2
Red face cool

I wasn't in the sport back then. It looks like it was a great radio though. I have a 72 mhz 378 that is actually a great radio yet and as more go to 2.4 it is easier to fly on weekends at the local field. When I got my Airtronics my wife inherited the JR. Great radio.. I am wondering how much longer it will be for the 16 to show.....

Last edited by dmoody19; 05-08-2011 at 08:09 PM.
dmoody19 is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
zzlentz
Beginners
108
02-19-2011 03:31 PM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Quick Reply: I have a question regarding the new 16 channel transmitters.


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.14876 seconds with 11 queries