Trim Settings Change While Flying - WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

General Electric Discussions Talk about topics related to e-powered RC flying

Trim Settings Change While Flying

Old 10-23-2017, 05:49 PM
garyp1029

Default Trim Settings Change While Flying

I have been flying my GWS Formosa for over two years. The last few times the trim settings, particularly the elevator, change without my touching the trim switches. Have made successful emergency landings so far. Have checked the servos--they seem OK---and done a successful range check. What could be causing this--Transmitter, ESC, Receiver, Servos??? Which would be the most likely suspect? the least likely? Thanks. Gary
Old 10-23-2017, 06:19 PM
Wildflyer
Past President of PSSF

I have had the same thing happen.
I finally realized it wasn't the radio system at all. It was the way I was storing the plane.

My plane was all EPP foam, and during storage, one or more control surfaces were touching or laying on something. This caused a slight warp, but during flight the warp relaxed.

Of course I would trim the plane at the start of the flight and then have to retrim later.

I changed how I stored the plane, being careful not to put stress on things and it flew fine.

I don't know if this is what is happening to your plane.
I would try to look at exact servo positions before and after the trim changes if possible.
That would tell you if the servo is moving.

I hope this might help
Old 10-23-2017, 06:26 PM
firemanbill
Community Moderator

Agreed, especially with older foam, they just don't last forever. A little bit of softness and going from heat to cool or cool to heat causes fluctuations in the foam. Doubt you have any issues with your radio. you just need to check it as soon as you get airborne and adjust.

Now on the other hand you say emergency landings... is it so bad it is not flyable? if so you have bigger issues somewhere.
Old 10-23-2017, 06:29 PM
solentlife