War bird for a new(ish) pilot? - WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

Warbird Electrics Discuss e-powered warbirds in here!

War bird for a new(ish) pilot?

Old 02-14-2012, 05:29 PM
colby45

Default War bird for a new(ish) pilot?

Hi all,

I am fairly new to the world of r/c planes, but I've been flying a Hobbyzone SuperCub, and a few scratch foamies that I've made and I'm looking to get a new plane and I love the scale appearance of the electric war birds. I feel very comfortable with the high wing trainers, and I want to get into war birds, so I was wondering what would be a good first plane to get? I've heard that the PZ T-28 or T-28 Micro is a good first, and I've also heard good things about the Dynam T-28, but I wanted to get some outside opinions before I bought anything. Thanks!
Old 02-14-2012, 06:39 PM
xmech2k
Ya got any Beeman's?

I have to give my obligatory promo for the PZ Corsair here. If you're not into the T-28's looks, it's an easy to fly warbird, too.
Old 02-14-2012, 08:07 PM
rcers
Super Contributor

The PZ T-28 no question. Then the F4F from PZ - that Wildcat is the bee's knee's.

Mike
Old 02-15-2012, 07:34 AM
colby45

Thanks guys! I think I'll start with the T-28 and probably ending up buying the F4U and the F4F. Their two of my favorite planes. Thanks for your suggestions!
Old 02-15-2012, 08:37 AM
mclarkson
Super Contributor

Ultra-micro planes have many advantages but they are actually twitchier than larger models. So the Parkzone T-28, for example, would be a better 2nd plane than the Parkzone UMX T-28.
Old 02-15-2012, 12:51 PM
dahawk
Super Contributor

Originally Posted by colby45 View Post
Thanks guys! I think I'll start with the T-28 and probably ending up buying the F4U and the F4F. Their two of my favorite planes. Thanks for your suggestions!