old parts on new slow stick? - WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

ParkFlyers Talk about all backyard and parkflyer aircraft here

old parts on new slow stick?

Old 10-15-2010, 07:10 AM
  #1  
loquito
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 32
Default old parts on new slow stick?

I had a slow stick that i crashed quite a few years ago.
My old slow stick had a wood rod for the fuselage that is 1/8"x1/4" and that is what the motor mount mounts to.
I think at the time i bought the GWS flight pack with ESC/receiver/and servos.
I saved all of the parts.
She was powered by a GWS 7.2v/270mAH NI-CD

I am hoping to buy a park glider version and use all of my original equipment.

Can I mount my old motor on the new slow stick?

Thank you
loquito is offline  
Old 10-15-2010, 07:42 AM
  #2  
loquito
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 32
Default

well if i am correct the new slow stick fuslage is 10mmx10mm square.

If that is the case then my motor mount will not work.

So the next option is buying one of the brushed motor equipt ones.

Does anyone remeber what flight packs were being sold when the fuselage was still wood?

Will my current ESC work with the slow stick with EPS400C power system?
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	P1010074.jpg
Views:	187
Size:	86.7 KB
ID:	137249   Click image for larger version

Name:	P1010073.jpg
Views:	181
Size:	167.1 KB
ID:	137250   Click image for larger version

Name:	P1010070.jpg
Views:	180
Size:	87.4 KB
ID:	137251   Click image for larger version

Name:	P1010072.jpg
Views:	166
Size:	169.5 KB
ID:	137252   Click image for larger version

Name:	P1010069.jpg
Views:	148
Size:	46.1 KB
ID:	137253  

loquito is offline  
Old 10-15-2010, 08:23 AM
  #3  
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 19,255
Default

Originally Posted by loquito View Post
well if i am correct the new slow stick fuslage is 10mmx10mm square.

If that is the case then my motor mount will not work.

So the next option is buying one of the brushed motor equipt ones.

Does anyone remeber what flight packs were being sold when the fuselage was still wood?

Will my current ESC work with the slow stick with EPS400C power system?
just drill out the wood from the motor mount, and it should slip onto the new fuselage, if you want to upgrade to a brushless motor, thats easy to do, and cheap

the motor you now have looks like a 180 motor, and it draws low amps, the 400 motor draws more amps and may burn out the esc that you now have, the EPS400C requires a 15 apm ESC, if your esc is a 15 AMP ESC it will work, if its less than 15 AMPs you will burn it out

http://www.allerc.com/product_info.php?products_id=611
CHELLIE is offline  
Old 10-15-2010, 08:33 AM
  #4  
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 19,255
Default

What part of the world are you at so i can direct you to a store


you can even use 3/8" or 10mm square basswood for a fuselage

http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=16392
CHELLIE is offline  
Old 10-15-2010, 08:52 AM
  #6  
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 19,255
Default

And Before i Forget, Welcome to Wattflyers loquito
CHELLIE is offline  
Old 10-15-2010, 04:03 PM
  #7  
soar-ne
Omaha Ne.
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 363
Default

I believe from the pics that your old plane was a Lite Stick, and not a slow stick. The Lite Stick was smaller than the Slow Stick and more of a indoor flier. It had the smaller wood stick, while the SS had a Alumium (SP) and later a fiberglass stick
Yours used the IPS-A geared motor that the Pico Moth and that line of GWS planes use.
Parts from the bigger SS and the Pico Lite Stik for the most part are not interchangeable. The Lite Stick is still in production in the red wing and the Yellow cub style wing though I think.
Your RX should work with a SS but the ESC, battery and motor are much too small. The little Pico liite stick only draws about 2 amps so not heavy duty enough for the SS.

Happy Flying
Bob
soar-ne is offline  
Old 10-16-2010, 12:55 AM
  #8  
loquito
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 32
Default

Originally Posted by soar-ne View Post
I believe from the pics that your old plane was a Lite Stick, and not a slow stick. The Lite Stick was smaller than the Slow Stick and more of a indoor flier. It had the smaller wood stick, while the SS had a Alumium (SP) and later a fiberglass stick
Yours used the IPS-A geared motor that the Pico Moth and that line of GWS planes use.
Parts from the bigger SS and the Pico Lite Stik for the most part are not interchangeable. The Lite Stick is still in production in the red wing and the Yellow cub style wing though I think.
Your RX should work with a SS but the ESC, battery and motor are much too small. The little Pico liite stick only draws about 2 amps so not heavy duty enough for the SS.

Happy Flying
Bob
I looked around the net under "lite-stick" and I think you are right and that is what I have.
Do you think the motor will have enough umpf to get a slow stick in the air?
Thanks for the welcome everyone
loquito is offline  
Old 10-16-2010, 04:58 AM
  #9  
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 19,255
Default

your power system may have enough power for the Pico Stick

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...V296V8Y63XTSZ7





but it wont have enough power for a full size Slow Stick
CHELLIE is offline  
Old 10-16-2010, 04:15 PM
  #10  
soar-ne
Omaha Ne.
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 363
Default

loquito:
I agree with Chellie that the little motor you have is too small for the SS. I have had 2 of the SS models and they will fly fine with the stock 300 geared motor that comes with most kits if you want a economy plane. They also make a version with a 400 geared motor in the box. As said both of mine came with the 300 motor and I used GWS Pico and nano size servos, a ICS 300LI ESC which is 8amp and various size 2 cell lipos. You can use economy Lipos because the motor only draws about 6 amps so no need of high 25-30C batteries. I liked my planes flight with a 12X6 prop because we always have a breeze out here on the plains.
My son-inlaw has one with a 400 geared motor and it flies fine also but that motor needs 3 cell lipos to produce decent power and is a ounce heavier. The 400 motor works best for us with a 9X5HD prop on 3s and the motor is very tough and will last a very long time with this combo.
A couple of years ago I replace my brushed motor with a brushless motor and ESC from Headsuprc, cost was about $30 for the combo if I remember right. Still use the 2 cell lipos and the prop he recomended. Has a little more power than the stock motor but the main advantage is that brushless last forever (well almost) unless you have a high gravity situation.

Good Luck
Bob
soar-ne is offline  
Old 10-16-2010, 06:00 PM
  #11  
Radbuster
Park Flyer
 
Radbuster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Cambria, California
Posts: 118
Default While you're at it, replace the wing...

I rebuilt a similar slo-flyer (Slo-Vee) and got the best improvement by replacing the wing with a Mountain Models Magpie wing (foam, see pic). I also powered it up with brushless. Flies great!
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Mod-Vee.JPG
Views:	135
Size:	318.6 KB
ID:	137317  
Radbuster is offline  
Old 10-24-2010, 06:35 AM
  #12  
loquito
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 32
Default

(unless you have a high gravity situation)
no jinksing
CHELLIE will you help me shop some more?
I have a radical rc adjustable motor mount and standard size battery tray coming with my slow stick.
I've bookmarked your list for a future shopping spree and it is appreciated.
so i would like to know if you will help me shop a little more?
my slow stick is going to be green
steven
loquito is offline  
Old 10-24-2010, 06:40 AM
  #13  
loquito
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 32
Default

i guess the first question will be if i can use my pico gear ( servos and reciever) with brushless and lipos. and the servos on a larger plane.
i just want to float around, not be speedy
loquito is offline  
Old 10-24-2010, 07:05 AM
  #14  
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 19,255
Default

Originally Posted by loquito View Post
(unless you have a high gravity situation)
no jinksing
CHELLIE will you help me shop some more?
I have a radical rc adjustable motor mount and standard size battery tray coming with my slow stick.
I've bookmarked your list for a future shopping spree and it is appreciated.
so i would like to know if you will help me shop a little more?
my slow stick is going to be green
steven
Sure Steven thats what we are all here for is to help out, PM Me if you need any assistance,

you dont need the adjustable motor mount a GWS motor mount works well.

radical adjustable motor mount


gws motor mount, it will fit most 28mm motors


http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s...idProduct=5135
CHELLIE is offline  
Old 10-24-2010, 07:22 AM
  #15  
loquito
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 32
Default

Originally Posted by CHELLIE View Post
Sure Steven thats what we are all here for is to help out
well cool

do you know if the rec and servos will do?

will the motor mounts be needed even with the radical rc adjustable mount coming?

The motor description left the motor shaft diameter info blank
can you point me to the proper prop saver, extra bands. and an appropriate dc charger
I want the one charger you listed for at home but also one for off the car battery.
I read about some kind of protective bag for when you charge lipos, do you know about these?
I supose if you look at my above pics you can tell how far behind the times I am, boy i feel old.
Thank you for the help
Steven
loquito is offline  
Old 10-24-2010, 07:27 AM
  #16  
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 19,255
Default

Originally Posted by loquito View Post
i guess the first question will be if i can use my pico gear ( servos and reciever) with brushless and lipos. and the servos on a larger plane.
i just want to float around, not be speedy
Your pico/lite stick servos may only be about a 5 gram servo, its on the lite side, it would be best to use 9 gram servos, you dont want a servo breaking when your flying, and a gust of wind could come up and strip out a servo thats not big enough, servos are cheap, and you just need 2 of them,

http://www.headsuprc.com/servlet/the...sh---9g/Detail


SERVO - 9g TP SG90 Sub Micro Servo



The TP SG90 is similar in size and weight to the Hitec HS-55, and is a good choice for most Parkflyers. We've used this servo in lots of different models, including the GWS Slow Stick, E-Flite Mini Edge, GWS Corsair, Simple Stik, GWS Beaver, and World Models 48" Piper Cub. If you are looking for a servo that won't break the bank, yet gets the job done reliably, consider the TP SG90.


Last edited by CHELLIE; 10-24-2010 at 08:29 AM.
CHELLIE is offline  
Old 10-24-2010, 07:32 AM
  #17  
loquito
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 32
Default

the adjustable mount is on it's way already. I was hoping it would help me use my old gear( motor) . I bought it before I relized I had Piko sized gear.

if I am correct I will attach the motor suggested by you to the GWS motor mount and then to the radical adj motor mount?
The GWS mount is still a needed product?

Today was horrible so this is a wonderful distraction being able to think about my plane.
loquito is offline  
Old 10-24-2010, 07:34 AM
  #18  
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 19,255
Default

Originally Posted by loquito View Post
well cool

do you know if the rec and servos will do?

will the motor mounts be needed even with the radical rc adjustable mount coming?

The motor description left the motor shaft diameter info blank
can you point me to the proper prop saver, extra bands. and an appropriate dc charger
I want the one charger you listed for at home but also one for off the car battery.
I read about some kind of protective bag for when you charge lipos, do you know about these?
I supose if you look at my above pics you can tell how far behind the times I am, boy i feel old.
Thank you for the help
Steven
the shaft size is 3.17 mm, what country do you live in, that will make it easier to direct you to a store. for now i will direct you to HC

We all have to start someplace

http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s...idProduct=3739

prop saver

http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s...?idProduct=662

servo
CHELLIE is offline  
Old 10-24-2010, 07:35 AM
  #19  
loquito
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 32
Default

Originally Posted by CHELLIE View Post
Your pico gear servos may only be about a 5 gram servo, its on the lite side, it would be best to use 9 gram servos, you dont want a servo breaking when your flying, and a gust of wind could come up and strip out a servo thats not big enough, servos are cheap, and you just need 2 of them,

http://www.headsuprc.com/servlet/the...sh---9g/Detail


SERVO - 9g TP SG90 Sub Micro Servo



The TP SG90 is similar in size and weight to the Hitec HS-55, and is a good choice for most Parkflyers. We've used this servo in lots of different models, including the GWS Slow Stick, E-Flite Mini Edge, GWS Corsair, Simple Stik, GWS Beaver, and World Models 48" Piper Cub. If you are looking for a servo that won't break the bank, yet gets the job done reliably, consider the TP SG90.

do you have a sugestion for servos from the store in the first links?
loquito is offline  
Old 10-24-2010, 07:36 AM
  #20  
loquito
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 32
Default

Originally Posted by CHELLIE View Post
the shaft size is 3.17 mm, what country do you live in, that will make it easier to direct you to a store. for now i will direct you to HC

We all have to start someplace

http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s...idProduct=3739

prop saver

http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s...?idProduct=662

servo
I am from Alaska.
I am told it is part of the USA (poor joke)
loquito is offline  
Old 10-24-2010, 07:37 AM
  #21  
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 19,255
Default

Originally Posted by loquito View Post
the adjustable mount is on it's way already. I was hoping it would help me use my old gear( motor) . I bought it before I relized I had Piko sized gear.

if I am correct I will attach the motor suggested by you to the GWS motor mount and then to the radical adj motor mount?
The GWS mount is still a needed product?

Today was horrible so this is a wonderful distraction being able to think about my plane.
I belive you will need the GWS mount also, i dont know what comes with the Adjustable mount, if the mount fits loose, just wrap some masking tape around the shaft, that will make it fit snug onto the motor mount,
CHELLIE is offline  
Old 10-24-2010, 07:38 AM
  #22  
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 19,255
Default

Originally Posted by loquito View Post
I am from Alaska.
I am told it is part of the USA (poor joke)
Are you sure Alaska is Part of the USA, its to nice up there to be part of the USA
CHELLIE is offline  
Old 10-24-2010, 07:40 AM
  #23  
loquito
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 32
Default

is this the right extra bands?

http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s...idProduct=8234


I was slow in seeing that you gave me a hobbyking link for the servos.
Thank You.
loquito is offline  
Old 10-24-2010, 07:41 AM
  #24  
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 19,255
Default

Did you order the full size slow Stick or the smaller pico stick ?
CHELLIE is offline  
Old 10-24-2010, 07:42 AM
  #25  
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 19,255
Default

Originally Posted by loquito View Post
is this the right extra bands?

http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s...idProduct=8234


I was slow in seeing that you gave me a hobbyking link for the servos.
Thank You.
yes those are the ones
CHELLIE is offline  

Quick Reply: old parts on new slow stick?


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.10329 seconds with 18 queries