Spektrum DSM Airmod with Futaba T7CAP? - WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Spektrum DSM Airmod with Futaba T7CAP?

Old 10-11-2008, 06:52 PM
  #1  
KE4NYV
Member
Thread Starter
 
KE4NYV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Greenbackville, VA
Posts: 58
Default Spektrum DSM Airmod with Futaba T7CAP?

Has anyone tried using the Spektrum Airmod module that uses the link port with a Futuba T7CAP or similar radio?

I have a literally brand new 7CAP. I have two helios with DSM2 receivers already and I want to go full 2.4, but I do not want to move to a DX7 Specktrum radio. I have the 2.4 Spektrum that came with my Eflite CX2 and it works well for the CX2 and mCX, but I would like to move to 2.4 on my Honey Bee King 2.

I would love to find out if the Airmod works, because then I can simply add it on and make my T7CAP fully 2.4 DSM2 compatiable.
KE4NYV is offline  
Old 10-11-2008, 06:54 PM
  #2  
Twmaster
Registered User
 
Twmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dallas, TX, USA
Posts: 6,632
Default

They work fine. The only feature you lose is the ability to utilize 'model match' which prevents you from trying to fly the wrong bird.
Twmaster is offline  
Old 10-11-2008, 07:29 PM
  #3  
KE4NYV
Member
Thread Starter
 
KE4NYV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Greenbackville, VA
Posts: 58
Default

Originally Posted by Twmaster View Post
They work fine. The only feature you lose is the ability to utilize 'model match' which prevents you from trying to fly the wrong bird.
Does that mean you just have to bind each time, to each model?

My biggest gripe right now is servo direction settings. My CX2 and mCX are both made by Eflite and use the built in receivers. Yet, I have to reverse three servos to fly each one, back and fourth. By moving up to my 7CAP, I want to gain the ability to have the mutiple models, just like I have now when running 27MHz and set those servo directions in each model seperately.
KE4NYV is offline  
Old 10-11-2008, 07:45 PM
  #4  
Twmaster
Registered User
 
Twmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dallas, TX, USA
Posts: 6,632
Default

You do bind each receiver individually like any DSM system. Model match simply stops you from flying your CX when you meant to fly your mCX.
Twmaster is offline  
Old 10-11-2008, 11:33 PM
  #5  
Rabbitcreekok
Community Moderator
 
Rabbitcreekok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: McAlester, Oklahoma
Posts: 8,818
Default

Originally Posted by KE4NYV View Post
Does that mean you just have to bind each time, to each model?
You don't have to bind each time you fly, just one time to each receiver in each model.
Rabbitcreekok is offline  
Old 10-12-2008, 01:22 AM
  #6  
KE4NYV
Member
Thread Starter
 
KE4NYV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Greenbackville, VA
Posts: 58
Default

Originally Posted by Rabbitcreekok View Post
You don't have to bind each time you fly, just one time to each receiver in each model.
Great! Thanks for the info guys! I feel much better now about plunking down $110 for the module.

Jason
RPC Electronics
www.rpc-electronics.com
KE4NYV is offline  
Old 10-12-2008, 03:02 AM
  #7  
AEAJR
Community Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 5,832
Default

by the Air Mod, I presume you mean the Spektrum Module that is made for Futaba module based radios, like the Futaba 9C.

But your 7CAP is not a module based radio, so the Spektrum module will not work. You can't use a Futaba FASST conversion module in it either.

You reference a link port feature but I have never seen this on an Spektrum module. What is that?
AEAJR is offline  
Old 10-12-2008, 03:16 AM
  #8  
Twmaster
Registered User
 
Twmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dallas, TX, USA
Posts: 6,632
Default

Good catch Ed. I don't fly Futaba gear so I'd just assumed he had a module based TX.
Twmaster is offline  
Old 10-12-2008, 03:33 AM
  #9  
Twmaster
Registered User
 
Twmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dallas, TX, USA
Posts: 6,632
Default

I just did some poking about. Spektrum says their Airmod is compatible with Futaba 7 radios. I can see where the OP may have got the idea this would work. And yes, the 7CA line of Futaba TX's will not work with the Spektrum module. The 7 Super will.
Twmaster is offline  
Old 10-12-2008, 09:38 PM
  #10  
KE4NYV
Member
Thread Starter
 
KE4NYV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Greenbackville, VA
Posts: 58
Default

Damn, sounds like I'm SOL then.

This is the module that I was referring to:

http://www.spektrumrc.com/Products/D...rodID=SPMMSMZ7

I was hoping that this module was good for any computer based Futaba with that specific link port. I really don't want to buy a Spektrum and I do not want a FASST system. I might have zero choice but to settle on the Spektrum DX7.

Looks like I'm back to square one.

I think I fell into the "tons of transmitters" pit when I got back into RC a few years ago. When I was first in the hobby, you had one radio and that was it. Now, you get a damn radio with everything, so you end up with this stockpile. I have at least a few around here that I plan to sell off when I get fully converted to 2.4.

Jason
RPC Electronics
www.rpc-electronics.com
KE4NYV is offline  
Old 10-12-2008, 09:54 PM
  #11  
Rabbitcreekok
Community Moderator
 
Rabbitcreekok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: McAlester, Oklahoma
Posts: 8,818
Default

Originally Posted by KE4NYV View Post
Damn, sounds like I'm SOL then.

This is the module that I was referring to:

http://www.spektrumrc.com/Products/D...rodID=SPMMSMZ7

I was hoping that this module was good for any computer based Futaba with that specific link port. I really don't want to buy a Spektrum and I do not want a FASST system. I might have zero choice but to settle on the Spektrum DX7.

Looks like I'm back to square one.

I think I fell into the "tons of transmitters" pit when I got back into RC a few years ago. When I was first in the hobby, you had one radio and that was it. Now, you get a damn radio with everything, so you end up with this stockpile. I have at least a few around here that I plan to sell off when I get fully converted to 2.4.

Jason
RPC Electronics
www.rpc-electronics.com
Find a good used Futaba that does use a removable module and purchase the Spektrum module. Then get rid of all the extra radios. That should do the job.
Rabbitcreekok is offline  
Old 10-12-2008, 10:13 PM
  #12  
KE4NYV
Member
Thread Starter
 
KE4NYV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Greenbackville, VA
Posts: 58
Default

Originally Posted by Rabbitcreekok View Post
Find a good used Futaba that does use a removable module and purchase the Spektrum module. Then get rid of all the extra radios. That should do the job.
Yeah, I forgot to mention that my other option was finding a 9C and going THAT module route
KE4NYV is offline  
Old 10-13-2008, 01:02 AM
  #13  
Twmaster
Registered User
 
Twmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dallas, TX, USA
Posts: 6,632
Default

Jason,

Yes the 9C will solve that.

Happy skies.
Twmaster is offline  
Old 10-13-2008, 02:16 AM
  #14  
pilotpete2
Pilotpete2
 
pilotpete2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NorthEast Kingdom, VT
Posts: 518
Default

Jason,
I would call Spektrum for the definitive answer. As far as I know you can use the module you provided the link to, as it is designed to plug unto the trainer port of the radio.
Best of luck,
Pete
pilotpete2 is offline  
Old 10-13-2008, 05:32 AM
  #15  
AEAJR
Community Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 5,832
Cool

Originally Posted by pilotpete2 View Post
Jason,
I would call Spektrum for the definitive answer. As far as I know you can use the module you provided the link to, as it is designed to plug unto the trainer port of the radio.
Best of luck,
Pete
The manual is very specfic on pages 6 and 22 that this is for the MZ system. The module plugs into the MZ module slot AND into the trainer port.

I would not expect it to work with the 7C. But a call to Futaba would not hurt.
AEAJR is offline  
Old 10-16-2008, 11:02 PM
  #16  
KE4NYV
Member
Thread Starter
 
KE4NYV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Greenbackville, VA
Posts: 58
Default

Thanks guys. I am going to give Spektrum a call in the morning and get their official on the issue. I will report back here when I get it.
KE4NYV is offline  
Old 10-18-2008, 01:32 PM
  #17  
Ze-BOB
New Member
 
Ze-BOB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2
Default

Hello, i'm French and i would like to upgrade my JR XP7202 to 2.4Ghz.
Is it possible to wire PPM signal that come from the radio to the Spektrum Module, i'm looking for any information on this modification.
In the same idea, i've got a Futaba 2PL car radio and i want to pute it in 2.4Ghz too.

Sorry for my bad English.
Ze-BOB is offline  
Old 10-20-2008, 05:37 AM
  #18  
Rabbitcreekok
Community Moderator
 
Rabbitcreekok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: McAlester, Oklahoma
Posts: 8,818
Default

Hello Ze-Bob and welcome to WattFlyer.

I am not sure of the answer to your question, but I don't believe PPM works with any of the 2.4 Ghz transmitters. I don't believe it is necessary as most of the 2.4 Ghz systems have a fail safe position that is set upon binding. I don't believe PPM gives you anything that is not available on most 2.4 Ghz transmitters.
Rabbitcreekok is offline  
Old 10-20-2008, 06:00 AM
  #19  
Twmaster
Registered User
 
Twmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dallas, TX, USA
Posts: 6,632
Default

According to the FAQ the Spektrum Airmod is not compatible with your XP7202. Can't speak for your ground radio.
Twmaster is offline  
Old 10-20-2008, 07:41 AM
  #20  
Ze-BOB
New Member
 
Ze-BOB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2
Default

OK, thank you.
Ze-BOB is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
KE4NYV
General RC E-Heli Talk
0
06-20-2008 12:05 AM
floridawen
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros
5
03-18-2008 12:38 AM
John-NYC
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros
2
05-25-2007 09:23 PM
skiman762
General Electric Discussions
45
03-07-2007 02:52 PM
rmbler
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros
8
05-24-2006 05:30 PM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Quick Reply: Spektrum DSM Airmod with Futaba T7CAP?


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.07830 seconds with 9 queries