Radian - a new plane from Parkzone - Page 7 - WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

Hi-Performance and Sailplanes RC hotliners, electric pylon racers, F5B, F5D, sailplanes and gliders

Radian - a new plane from Parkzone

Old 07-20-2009, 02:42 PM
  #151  
j4ck4
A Real WingNut
 
j4ck4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Tulsa, Ok.
Posts: 1,102
Default

Originally Posted by phillipmorris View Post
Thermals are fun but caution, easy to lose the visual, nothing like it tho..BEST ..<>..

True, I spent probably 10 minutes or so at the same altitude, about 800' or so thinking wow this is fun not using the motor and staying right there. Then all at once I'm about 400' fett or so higher, and or field is inside the Tulsa International flight pattern if the winds are just right. Otherwise they don't get closer than about 2 miles to the field. But, for some reason yesterday with a real light north north easterly wind they flying aound the field. Anyway it was a complete blast as we used to say when I was a kid.
j4ck4 is offline  
Old 07-27-2009, 10:12 PM
  #152  
simibill
General Factotum
 
simibill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Simi Valley,CA
Posts: 1,166
Default Crummy connectors

I just got my Radian and when I tried to tighten the little screw to secure the elevator pushrod, it broke off. I can't imagine why they put these things on in the first place. I see the replacement parts show a Dubro type micro connector which should be much better.

Anybody else have this problem?
simibill is offline  
Old 07-28-2009, 04:17 AM
  #153  
HeliScRapYard
Foam Junkie
 
HeliScRapYard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Greer, SC
Posts: 811
Default

What kind of range do you have on the AR500 RX?
HeliScRapYard is offline  
Old 07-28-2009, 04:55 AM
  #154  
AEAJR
Community Moderator
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 5,832
Default

As far as you can see the plane.
AEAJR is offline  
Old 07-28-2009, 07:25 PM
  #155  
j4ck4
A Real WingNut
 
j4ck4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Tulsa, Ok.
Posts: 1,102
Default

I was flying the other day cruising around in no wind, would fly up about 800ft or so and let her float back down to 150' there abouts. About the fourth time I started to run the motor up and off flies the canopy and I hear this thunking sound. Bring her on down and glide in for as pretty a landing as I've ever made walk over and the shaft has pulled out of the motor, look inside and the back of the motor bell is cracked. So, my Radian is down for a while until I can get a replacement motor from Parkzone or Eflite whoever it has to come from. Thinking as Dave LHS owner said, I may need to look into upgrading to a 480 with a metal bell. Sure put a damper on all my fun for the summer.
j4ck4 is offline  
Old 07-28-2009, 11:38 PM
  #156  
AEAJR
Community Moderator
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 5,832
Default

If you bought it from the LHS, then you should take it to him for warranty service.
AEAJR is offline  
Old 07-29-2009, 03:11 AM
  #157  
j4ck4
A Real WingNut
 
j4ck4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Tulsa, Ok.
Posts: 1,102
Default

He told me they won't do warranty work though a LHS, that the owner has to mail it in. He said, "they won't send a replacement to the LHS."
j4ck4 is offline  
Old 07-29-2009, 05:08 AM
  #158  
AEAJR
Community Moderator
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 5,832
Default

You ask Horizon. And if they tell you that is the case, then you tell the LHS that you will be doing business on-line from now on. What good is he if he is going to make you ship out a defective plane that you purchased from him?

My LHS handles warranty issues locally. That is why I send all the new pilots there.
AEAJR is offline  
Old 07-29-2009, 02:06 PM
  #159  
j4ck4
A Real WingNut
 
j4ck4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Tulsa, Ok.
Posts: 1,102
Default

Yeah I am calling Horizon this morning as soon as they open. If they say take it to him, you betcha he is going to see me today as soon as he opens the door motor in hand. Thanks for the headsup though.
j4ck4 is offline  
Old 07-30-2009, 02:00 PM
  #160  
j4ck4
A Real WingNut
 
j4ck4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Tulsa, Ok.
Posts: 1,102
Default

Spoke with Scott from Horizon they said mail the motor in to them LHS can do nothing to help with service.
j4ck4 is offline  
Old 07-30-2009, 02:18 PM
  #161  
phillipmorris
Super Contributor
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Sterling, Illinois
Posts: 1,707
Default

Gads thats a bummer, my canopy came off so many times I've lately elected to simply leave it off, heck your looking at the ship from the underside, should perhaps simply band the canopy etc to lock it in, but I don't miss it at all, again flew off too many times for me...BEST..<>..
phillipmorris is offline  
Old 08-03-2009, 07:36 PM
  #162  
EpoweredRc
3D Flyer
 
EpoweredRc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: B.N.R in Paulding now In Buchanan,GA
Posts: 2,200
Default

Well I contaced Horizen told them what happened it was on a thurs i emailed well on the next week wed i think got email back saying they would send me a new prop. I belive it was the next day or two days got another email saing would be shiped. well took about 2 weeks but fnally got new prop in mail. new prop and spinner. I would have been happier with two props and no spinner but oh well Thanks horizen just wish you would update the spinner and prop and send everyone owns one one for half price or something. and anyone lse who broke old one one for free or something... its better then nothing I am still flying the one I mod for it. you just got to bump the throttle to get the prop not pocking down big deal sometimes not so much others.
EpoweredRc is offline  
Old 08-22-2009, 10:17 PM
  #163  
phillipmorris
Super Contributor
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Sterling, Illinois
Posts: 1,707
Default

Mega Lift today...time around 2 PM and was catching medium light lift even trailed some low flying hawks, great fun...towards the end of the rides it arrived, the big Kahuna, huge lift, up to a spec and then some, and kept going up, am use to huge lift but this was enormous...simply did very tight circling and it held only for a moment then up again, so knife edge circling was working for a few seconds, but up she goes some more getting out of visual, only catching flashing glimpses, forced to downstick, finally caught it in view and slowly brought it home....again ran into numerous increadible lift, however this one was awsome...BEST ..<>..

Continues next day Sunday, winds at last calm, even before 9 AM great medium to light lift goin on, simply circled the field for 10 minutes of low elevation, then up later and hit countless medium lifts, careful to avoid the dead zones of negative, flew exactly 1 hour of pure fun, decent altitude at times, loads of circling, wish we had more conditions like this !!

Last edited by phillipmorris; 08-23-2009 at 03:41 PM.
phillipmorris is offline  
Old 08-24-2009, 05:43 AM
  #164  
AEAJR
Community Moderator
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 5,832
Default

Got my Radian this weekend.

I was flying in an Eastern Soaring League thermal duration soaring contest (no motors) all weekend. www.flyesl.com

After the competition was over on Sunday I put the Radian together. I did a hand throw to test the balance. It just floated out of my hand, so I hit the power and took it up at about 2/3 throttle. Flew great!

OK, I am offically a Radian owner and pilot.

Thanks Parkzone for making a great little electric glider.

If any of your Radian owners get hooked on soaring and decide you want to give pure gliders a try, let me know. I would be happy to help you out any way I can.

Last edited by AEAJR; 08-24-2009 at 12:59 PM.
AEAJR is offline  
Old 08-24-2009, 11:28 AM
  #165  
phillipmorris
Super Contributor
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Sterling, Illinois
Posts: 1,707
Default

Have a Multiplex on the shelf, will likely be doing the pure sailplane and hi-start on that one later this year....

Note on my Radian had a recent issue the elevator missbehaved and shuttered to the point unfit to fly....believing it was simply the servo replaced it but same problem, so now checked the transmitter and the pot on the elevator was failing, changed to another DX5 transmitter and it all cleared up..so back in buisness now ready to fly...BEST ..<>..
phillipmorris is offline  
Old 08-24-2009, 01:00 PM
  #166  
AEAJR
Community Moderator
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 5,832
Default

Send the DX5 back for warranty repair/replacement.
AEAJR is offline  
Old 08-25-2009, 03:46 PM
  #167  
Huffy01
Huffy01
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 587
Default

I just got the parts for my Radian today. It took along time to get here. I almost thought of buying a different brand of folding propeller but they finally came as well my new canopy.
I'm building a Great Planes Siren Elite kit at the moment. It's been on hold until I got servo extensions for the wing servo's.
I got them today a long with 4 servo's, I have to wait for R/E servo's.
I bought it so I don't have to charge batteries all the time so I can fly all day if the weather is favourable.
Huffy01 is offline  
Old 09-09-2009, 10:58 AM
  #168  
Huffy01
Huffy01
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 587
Default

I finally got some flying weather today ,it's been nothing but winter for months.
Got up this morning and there was no wind so I charged up the battery.
Checked that the Radian was still working properly after my last crash .
Tossed it out in the hay crop just in case it decided to fall out of the sky again ,this time it had a nice cushion of tall grass.
I caught a little bit of lift until the wind started blowing again and had to bring it back in early because of erran's.
Huffy01 is offline  
Old 09-11-2009, 04:14 AM
  #169  
eghershey
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: All over the country
Posts: 28
Default

Originally Posted by BigB View Post
Yup - this thing is sooooo much fun, and easy to fly!

Yesterday, in a small field, I was afraid the gravel might scratch the foam, so I was able to glide it toward me slowly at 10% throttle to slow it down, and flew it right into my right hand..

Didn't even touch the ground... Perfect "hand landing" on the 6th flight ever!!!


All I need is some good paint, some stencils, and stickers, and you'll see the San Diego Chargers Glider!!!

And I'm going to add a 2100mah battery..
Gotta ask: why would you want a battery that big? I'm flying it with an 800mah 3 cell. Enough power to climb at a 45 degree angle and the small amount of lighter weight from a 1300mah battery seems to let it glide even better. I still fly for an hour or so with decent thermals.
I assume your using the glider as a sport plane too thus needing more battery?
eghershey is offline  
Old 09-11-2009, 04:57 AM
  #170  
eghershey
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: All over the country
Posts: 28
Default

BTW: Has anyone added flaps to their glider to facilitate landing??? Sometimes you feel you need to tie a rock to the plane to make it come back down and land
eghershey is offline  
Old 09-11-2009, 01:47 PM
  #171  
cbatters
Super Contributor
 
cbatters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,050
Default

Originally Posted by eghershey View Post
BTW: Has anyone added flaps to their glider to facilitate landing??? Sometimes you feel you need to tie a rock to the plane to make it come back down and land
Flaps would actually increase lift at lower speed. Spoilers would reduce lift.
cbatters is offline  
Old 09-11-2009, 02:40 PM
  #172  
Charlie Watts
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: western North Carolina
Posts: 112
Default

I am getting my Radian today from my LHS and have a question before I assemble it. The manual I downloaded says to use the tape provided to secure the horizontal stabilizer, but I read somewhere on a forum to also use some CA on it. CA being brittle, is it possible Parkzone want's that play, or is it just a bad idea of the designers that is weak and needs reinforcing?
Charlie Watts is offline  
Old 09-11-2009, 03:20 PM
  #173  
lilleyen
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 52
Default

Originally Posted by mrsand View Post
snipped
I tryed to reglue rear of the fuse with M-CA...doesn't want to stick together...don/t know what else to do. Very unhappy

Mrsand
Gorilla glue-works great
My fuselage is about 30% gorilla glue now:o
lilleyen is offline  
Old 09-11-2009, 04:04 PM
  #174  
Charlie Watts
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: western North Carolina
Posts: 112
Default

Thanks!
Charlie Watts is offline  
Old 09-11-2009, 04:05 PM
  #175  
Charlie Watts
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: western North Carolina
Posts: 112
Default

ADDENDUM: Is all Gorilla Glue foam safe for the Radian?
Charlie Watts is offline  

Quick Reply: Radian - a new plane from Parkzone


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.14439 seconds with 13 queries