New motor for Parkzone Typhoon 2 - WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

ParkFlyers Talk about all backyard and parkflyer aircraft here

New motor for Parkzone Typhoon 2

Old 09-16-2008, 05:18 AM
  #1  
dustinfr
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 7
Default New motor for Parkzone Typhoon 2

Just getting into this hobby and starting to realize how expensive it can be . I have a Parkzone Typhoon 2, and so far have really enjoyed it. Unfortunately, in mid-flight the motor shaft snapped right behind the pinion. Looking for some advice on replacing it.

I don't really want to buy the stock motor since I'm a bit worried about the design (sounds like others have had the same issue). Any thoughts on this cheap motor from hobbyking:
KB20-40-15L

Seems like my other option is to go with an eflite - but their shaft size is .3 mm smaller than the stock. Not sure how to find a pinion which would match mine and would fit.

Any help or opinions are much appreciated!
dustinfr is offline  
Old 10-05-2008, 11:58 PM
  #2  
max-nix
max-nix
 
max-nix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: South Central MO
Posts: 309
Default Typhoon with Outrunner

I decided I would replace the inrunner supplied with the Typhoon with a
outrunner to eliminate gearbox & bent shaft problems which have occourd
in the past.
My hexTronik DT750 Brushless Outrunner 750kv looked like a good candidate, so I mounted it on my well used @ abused Typhoon 3Dwith good results.

10x4.75 prop (more than 28 oz thrust)
13 amp draw @ full throttle
flies it good at 60% throttle
very quiet
$10.95 @
hobbycity.com

Note: I fly this model as a sport plane, not a 3D
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	TY2-BW2.jpg
Views:	969
Size:	36.2 KB
ID:	79961  

Last edited by max-nix; 10-06-2008 at 12:54 AM.
max-nix is offline  
Old 10-07-2008, 05:56 AM
  #3  
pdown1231
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 91
Default Typhoon with Outrunner

Thank you for replying to Dustinfr. I was wondering what outrunner to put on my Typhoon. The gear box version has a very wimpy prop shaft. Now I know what to do with mine the next time it has an "unscheduled" landing
pdown1231 is offline  
Old 10-07-2008, 05:58 AM
  #4  
dustinfr
New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 7
Default

Yeah - thanks for the info - what did you use for a motor mount? Looks hand-made - any tips?
dustinfr is offline  
Old 10-09-2008, 09:56 PM
  #5  
max-nix
max-nix
 
max-nix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: South Central MO
Posts: 309
info Motor Mount Info

This is a piece of scrap honeycomb material that is used when refurbishing commercial aircraft. A thoughtful friend gave me a few scraps.

For your info this motor is unusually efficient, perhaps because of it's largish diameter. If you google you may find discussions in the forums. It is said to be extremely easy to rewind.

The motor does not come with a prop adapter but 4 mm nuts & two washers have worked for me. I could not get a collet type adapter to hold & the motor may be too powerful for a wobbly "O" riing type?

With the motor mounted the Typhoon was slightly tail heavy when using a 5.7 oz 3s 2200 lipo moved as far forward as possible.& I had to add some weight (1 oz.). I would not be concerned with getting a real light mounting surface. Moving the motor more forward would be a good idea.

I balanced the Ty on the rear edge of the wing spar.

Happy Landings

Last edited by max-nix; 10-23-2008 at 05:11 AM.
max-nix is offline  
Old 10-23-2008, 01:14 AM
  #6  
Bob O
AMA 489725
 
Bob O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Negaunee, Michigan
Posts: 58
Default

Is there a way to mount a brushless outrunner and still use the front cowl?
Bob O is offline  
Old 10-23-2008, 05:07 AM
  #7  
max-nix
max-nix
 
max-nix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: South Central MO
Posts: 309
Question Outrunner With Cowl Reply

Hello Bob O
I could not come up with an acceptable way to mount the original cowl over this outrunner, I will leave that problem for some other hardy soul to solve.
It would be a big plus though. and I am still thing about it.

Update

Shown here: http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/show...659#post492659

Post #12 shows a neat way to mount the motor and adjust the length to suite the cowl, this would help to simplify the mod.

Last edited by max-nix; 10-25-2008 at 06:44 PM. Reason: Add motor mount reference.
max-nix is offline  
Old 10-26-2008, 03:00 AM
  #8  
Bob O
AMA 489725
 
Bob O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Negaunee, Michigan
Posts: 58
Default

Here are two I found from RCgroups.com

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...ight=typhoon+2

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...ight=typhoon+2
Bob O is offline  
Old 10-26-2008, 03:08 AM
  #9  
Bob O
AMA 489725
 
Bob O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Negaunee, Michigan
Posts: 58
Default

Instead of using the plastic spacers and long screws, I'm going to try using these two mounts from E-flight attached to the plywood firewall.

http://www.e-fliterc.com/Products/De...rodID=EFLM1915

http://www.e-fliterc.com/Search/Defa...ll+stick+mount

Check post #29 of this thread on the Super Cub. This is where I originally got the information on the mounts, so proper credit should be given to ministeve. I'm sure the mounts would work nicely on the Typhoon, someone just has to do it and takes pics and such. I'm going to build a Typhoon 2 as my next project, hopefully in the next month, and I'll take pics along the way.

http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/show...035#post493035

Last edited by Bob O; 10-26-2008 at 02:53 PM. Reason: ADDED INFORMATION
Bob O is offline  
Old 01-19-2010, 02:46 AM
  #10  
byzcol
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1
Thumbs up I know this is an old thread but....

Just wanted to let folks know I had a similar issue with the stock motor shaft snapping behind the pinion. So I changed the motor over to a Hobbypartz.com $11 Elite 400 4200kv brushless inrunner http://www.hobbypartz.com/elite-400-...ess-motor.html

Let me tell you having a 225w 4200kv inrunner on the Typhoon2 makes it rock!!!! And it was a cheap fix although I had to put a supplementary air inlet between the 2 existing holes in the cowl. Testing on the weekend with an Oracle datalogger showed I was at times pushing 250w
and the Typhoon2 was vertical out of sight! It hovers now at about 50% throttle.

An ok, but not fantastic video of it is here [media]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DIHx6SrjOkA[/media]

Cheers
Byron
byzcol is offline  
Old 06-23-2010, 08:24 AM
  #11  
samste
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 119
Default

Hi All Interesting Thread And Reading
I thought Id Better Contribute Something as i have learned a lot from here as well.
I Have a Stock Typhoon 2 3d, Though after Flying it several dozen times i wanted a bit more Power from it, But not an Extreme Rebuild.
Here was my quick Fix That Any one can Do.
Just a Simple swap out the motor with a 4800kv From Hobbyking.
Esc still Stock, Prop Still Stock and i use the 13.5 x 7 prop
Wattmeter test 22amps at 208 watts with 9.37volts 3s 1300ma lipo.
On Fresh Battery Peaks at 30 amps and well over 300 watts.
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbycity/s...idProduct=3848

I have flown it half a dozen times now and its a beauty.

I had ordered as well 4200kv version with the 4800kv to see how that goes as well but haven't installed it yet as im happy with the 4800kv in it at moment it punches through the verticals with ease and approx 8 min flights giving heaps.
But if your conservative and cautious try the 4200kv as it would be good extra power boost with a peak at 25 amps max and 260 watts plus on a fresh battery.

I bought a spare complete gear set so i could swap from stock to test easily with just three mount screws, but i cannot see why you cannot just take off the old cog and fit to new motor if you have a bit of know how to save yourself some money.

I hope this Helps some out There.

P.s I was thinking of putting Night Lights on Typhoon 2 3d, so if anyone has done it let us know.

Samste
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	AMBA0073 [800x600].JPG
Views:	489
Size:	77.8 KB
ID:	130795   Click image for larger version

Name:	KB204012L.jpg
Views:	466
Size:	16.5 KB
ID:	130796  
samste is offline  
Old 06-23-2010, 06:47 PM
  #12  
quadracer111
Member
 
quadracer111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 191
Default

Just to let you guys know I have a mint t-28 up for sale if anyones interested.
quadracer111 is offline  
Old 06-23-2010, 11:34 PM
  #13  
squidger
Member
 
squidger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Horley Surrey UK
Posts: 748
Default

I swapped the motor and gearbox on my typhoon with an outrunner and just screwed the crossmount into the plastic and refitted the original cowl.The typhoon now hangs off the prop and climbs vertically on not much above half throttle.Cant remember which outrunner I fitted now but i think it draws about 300 watts and 25 amps ish
squidger is offline  
Old 07-13-2010, 11:35 PM
  #14  
squidger
Member
 
squidger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Horley Surrey UK
Posts: 748
Default

Turns out it was a bit too much for the foam airframe. I noticed some side to side play in the motor and on inspection the plastic was coming away from the foam probably due to the shear thrust from the outrunner. So I shaped a 1/4 thick piece of wood and hot glued and dowelled to the front screwed the outrunner directly to it and this seems to be holding.
squidger is offline  
Old 07-14-2010, 12:00 AM
  #15  
samste
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 119
Default

That Outrunner sounds Like a good replacement with low amps what kv is it.
I'm still running the 4800kv in runner and still going strong with great verticals i do have a 4300kv that i want to try as i like to run less amps for longer flight times but i think i just stick to 4800kv for the moment.

I guess the only down fall with the stock setup and upgrading is you still have a geared setup but if careful and don't front end crash it should last.

Though i have a spare gear complete just in case for a quick swap over.

Samste
samste is offline  
Old 07-28-2010, 10:03 PM
  #16  
squidger
Member
 
squidger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Horley Surrey UK
Posts: 748
Default

Sorry for the delay in answering. My email is playing up and I wasn't notified of your post. I cant remember which motor I fitted but I think its about 1350 kv.
squidger is offline  
Old 07-28-2010, 10:26 PM
  #17  
samste
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 119
Default

Originally Posted by squidger View Post
Sorry for the delay in answering. My email is playing up and I wasn't notified of your post. I cant remember which motor I fitted but I think its about 1350 kv.
Thanks for the info.

My 4800kv Inrunner Still going Strong Going to leave it as is.

Samste
samste is offline  
Old 07-31-2010, 12:37 AM
  #18  
samste
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 119
Default

Typhoon Night Flying and they look great on during the day as well.

Very very Bright

[media]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FZG8r2kYcZw&feature=player_embedded[/media]

Running off Flight Lipo drawing 12 volts 1.16 amps approx 14 watts

Going to add more just for the fun of it as you do.

Samste
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Typhoon Top [1600x1200].jpg
Views:	294
Size:	78.8 KB
ID:	132789   Click image for larger version

Name:	Typhoon Bottom [1600x1200].jpg
Views:	289
Size:	66.8 KB
ID:	132790  
samste is offline  
Old 08-06-2010, 10:10 AM
  #19  
samste
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 119
Default

Night Flying

[media]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gRhk9CU80sE[/media]

Samste
samste is offline  
Old 11-23-2010, 09:09 PM
  #20  
DragonWeezel
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 144
Default WOW

You lit the holly hell out of that thing. Looks amazing. Blinding even. I bet going up high and hovering a bit, then JUMPING into FF would bring in a 911 call or two.
DragonWeezel is offline  
Old 11-23-2010, 09:43 PM
  #21  
squidger
Member
 
squidger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Horley Surrey UK
Posts: 748
Default

Yep certainly can see it
squidger is offline  
Old 11-23-2010, 09:55 PM
  #22  
samste
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 119
Default

Yes i Definately get a big audience at night with cars pulling over and watching.

Lol
Even heard one old lady talking to shop Keeper at the corner store thought she saw a UFO last night Flying Everywhere at the Park, Had to let her know were not being Invaded.

Doesn't Bother Lipo None runninmg 3s 2200ma , and getting well over 10 min Flight Time.

Samste

P.s Will Have to do a HD video Clip One Night as the above Video doesn't do it Justice as it does look
awsome in the night and very clear and visible far away better than at daytime for orientation.
samste is offline  
Old 07-20-2012, 01:57 PM
  #23  
zawaprz
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 18
Default

Hi there,

Once you know how to fly, in-runner for Typhoon is OK. but.... original one got broken in mine (magnets inside got broken!!) - anybody would suggest for me cheap substitution in-runner motor that would hold to original specs? I have too many spare parts to get read of in-runner solution (gearbox, shafts)...

Thx!
zawaprz is offline  
Old 08-26-2012, 12:40 PM
  #24  
zawaprz
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 18
Default

DOES ANYBODY KNOWS IF : http://www.ebay.com/itm/Inrunner-Bru...58559677793044

WOULD do as a substitution motor for Typhoon 3D? Thx!
zawaprz is offline  
Old 08-26-2012, 12:45 PM
  #25  
zawaprz
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 18
Default

also, how to create a new thread?
zawaprz is offline  

Quick Reply: New motor for Parkzone Typhoon 2


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.16399 seconds with 18 queries