Power Systems Talk about motors, ESC speed controllers, gear drives, propellers, power system simulators and all power system related topics

Lower Kv motor with bigger prop to maximize flight times

Old 11-08-2014, 05:04 PM
Eindecker_pilot

Default Lower Kv motor with bigger prop to maximize flight times

I'm new to giant scale electric power systems and I'm looking for a gut check...

I would like verification that I'm using Motocalc correctly & interpreting its results right...

I've enjoyed using Motocalc to optimize my power system and I'm impressed with all of the different motors & components already loaded into the software, makes it very easy to run various simulations. I ran a bunch of different combinations trying to maximize flight time (that's what I'm defining as better in this case).

My airplane project is a WWI biplane, 1/4 scale, about 19lbs total weight. As such, I'm not after high power or high speed. I want relatively slow scale speed, but long duration.

My baseline power system is a RimFire 1.20 brushless motor, running a single 5000mah 6S lipo and a 15x8 prop. That gave me about 11 minutes of flight time (predicted by Motocalc). I wanted more flight time.

So I've used Motocalc to study a lot of different motor and prop combinations to improve flight time without adding the weight of additional parallel batteries.

I found that I could gain an additional 3 minutes of flight time just by going with a larger motor & prop. For instance, with a RimFire 1.60 and a 19x12 prop, I can get over 14 minutes of flight time, with the exact same 6S 5000mah lipo. (at similar throttle positions and flight performance)

The RimFire 1.60 is a lower kv motor (it's 250 vs. the 450 kv of the RimFire 1.20) and it can take much higher voltages than 6S, but according to Motocalc's "Opinion" analysis, the simulation is predicting that I will still get pretty good in-flight performance running this bigger motor (the RimFire 1.60) on the 6S lipo.