E-Flite Helicopters Discuss E-Flite helicopters in this forum such as the Blade CX, Blade CX2, Blade CP Pro and all other E-Flite rc helis.

Blade cx2 questions

Old 11-04-2013, 08:54 PM
  #1  
dontrinko
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 34
Default Blade cx2 questions

Sorry if this is a dupe but I can not find my other post.
I have a Blade scout and a CX2 with the 3 in one. The scout came with a stuck servo but once I got the moving it flies fine.
The CX2 I have trouble with . I think most of the time the problem is not a big enough living room to make adjustments. At best it moves around a little during attempted hover.
I attempted to fly it outside once. Not good but it survived.
I have several questions.
1. I ordered the Replacement tail. Will it help indoor flight?
2. I am new at this. Are there any other mods that will make it easier to fly indoors?
3. Is there anything available that is larger than the Scout but smaller than the CX2 for indoor flight?
4. If I replace one blade should I replace both?
Thanks; Don
dontrinko is offline  
Old 11-04-2013, 09:33 PM
  #2  
xmech2k
Ya got any Beeman's?
 
xmech2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 3,099
Default

Hi dontrinko.
1. Hate to sound like a smart-alec, but what replacement tail? I think the cx2 is fine as long as it has some mass as a tail. I've tried without a tail and it isn't pretty!

2. The aluminum swash plate and balance bar holder (I forget the technical term for that) make the controls a little less sloppy. The cx2 is a bit large for in a house. I was using it in a warehouse.

3. It's not bigger than the scout, but the mcx2 is a nice flyer. Our if you're just looking for anything to fly inside to keep your fingers trained, I gave in and got a nano qx quad copter and it's a blast! And I'm no big fan of quads. It's more stable and more maneuverable than the mcx2.

4. I don't think so. I haven't flown my cx2 in a while but I think I only replaced one at a time.

One thing about flying heli's or quads indoors, is flying low or close to objects causes turbulence. It's easiest to hover higher and away from anything so the rotos are working in clear air.
xmech2k is offline  
Old 11-04-2013, 10:35 PM
  #3  
dontrinko
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 34
Default

The replacement tail is from Boom town, carbon tail with plastic fins. I have read that it makes outdoor flight easier but you still need calm wind. Don
dontrinko is offline  
Old 11-05-2013, 01:49 AM
  #4  
Heli Jim
Grandpa, Golfer, Pilot
 
Heli Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,404
Default

You can replace one rotor blade if it breaks, but you need to make sure
that the PAIR of blades are balanced. take both blades (off the heli) and
screw them together. Then balance them on the balls between two glasses or the
jaws of a vice, or whatever. Add a little scotch tape to the light blade till
they sit level.
Heli Jim is offline  
Old 11-05-2013, 02:39 AM
  #5  
xmech2k
Ya got any Beeman's?
 
xmech2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 3,099
Default

Originally Posted by dontrinko View Post
The replacement tail is from Boom town, carbon tail with plastic fins. I have read that it makes outdoor flight easier but you still need calm wind. Don
It might help a tiny bit, but that upper rotor is designed to keep a zero relative wind condition. So if there is any wind, it will try to fly with it, and you'll be fighting it with the lower rotor.
xmech2k is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
dontrinko
Multi-Rotors
3
12-19-2013 05:00 AM
TomKnollRFV
E-Flite Helicopters
9
07-24-2013 09:42 PM
DCDetector
General RC E-Heli Talk
4
10-03-2012 09:27 PM
uncledaddy
General RC E-Heli Talk
1
06-17-2011 02:04 PM
Old Blade Man
Beginners - Helis
2
05-14-2011 02:01 PM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Quick Reply: Blade cx2 questions


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.09521 seconds with 14 queries