The Effects of Wind - WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

Foamies Talk about building, power setups and anything having to do with e-powered foamy planes!

The Effects of Wind

Old 08-10-2012, 03:35 AM
Flying Fiz

Default The Effects of Wind

Hi Guys,

I'm new to planes, (been flying helis for a few years though) And I love the scale flying and comfort factor with these compared to a big heli. So I'm a compentent plane newbie I guess.

A few weekends ago I bought a new a PZ Wildcat and flew it for the first time on a super calm day and I just loved it, flying fast it was solid and predictable flying slow it was calm and easy with no wing tip tendancies. I had six perfect flights. So I then purchased the PZ P51 Mustang and took them both to a quiet field to have another great days flying.

BUT on this day there was occassional strong gusts of wind mainly above the tree line. I need to occassionaly go above the tree line because it is such a small park. On the first occassion with the Mustang when the wind hit me I seemed to lose controlof the plane, I couldn't turn into the wind, and over say a 10 second period of time I seemed to only have occassional control, it was squirrely and non responsive and then overly responsive, then it just started getting blown away and I thought I must have lost my signal, but I managed to get it facing back at me and I put its nose down a little and gave it full throttle back to me. Luckily it made it back to me and a safe landing. Later a similar thing happened with the Wildcat. Both planes unscathed, but the pilot was a bit mentally scarred! BTW, it was a DX8 tx and a 1300mAh batt in the planes.

My question , is this normal, is this the effect a strong gust of wind can have, and what is the best method of dealing with this when it happens.

Thanks in advance.
Old 08-10-2012, 07:57 AM
JetPlaneFlyer
Super Contributor