Seperate RX battery..does the LIPO pack need to be connected to program the ESC - WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

General Electric Discussions Talk about topics related to e-powered RC flying

Seperate RX battery..does the LIPO pack need to be connected to program the ESC

Old 06-11-2011, 05:56 PM
  #1  
liposucker
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 56
Default Seperate RX battery..does the LIPO pack need to be connected to program the ESC

Hello all.

Just a quick query....I am going to start using seperate RX batteries and not the BEC in the ESC.

I am aware that one wire needs to be removed/isolated from the ESC to the RX. This isn't a problem.

Am I right in thinking that when the BEC is no longer active, and the ESC is connected into the RX, and the RX is connected to its own battery, I can program the ESC without the flight pack LIPO being attached to the ESC.

Sorry if its a little basic but its my first non-BEC outing.

Many thanks.
liposucker is offline  
Old 06-11-2011, 06:25 PM
  #2  
Sir Crash-A-Lot
Crash Specialist
 
Sir Crash-A-Lot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 302
Default

I would say no, the ESC needs to get its power from some place. You will need the flight pack connected to the ESC.

The center wire is the one that needs to be removed.

Mike
Sir Crash-A-Lot is offline  
Old 06-11-2011, 06:30 PM
  #3  
kyleservicetech
Super Contributor
 
kyleservicetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 8,952
Default

Originally Posted by liposucker View Post
Hello all.

Just a quick query....I am going to start using seperate RX batteries and not the BEC in the ESC.

I am aware that one wire needs to be removed/isolated from the ESC to the RX. This isn't a problem.

Am I right in thinking that when the BEC is no longer active, and the ESC is connected into the RX, and the RX is connected to its own battery, I can program the ESC without the flight pack LIPO being attached to the ESC.

Sorry if its a little basic but its my first non-BEC outing.

Many thanks.
The only "Dumb" question is the one asked after you've fried something .

As "Sir crash a lot" indicated, these ESC's can't be programmed if they are not powered up. And if you power it up, be aware, take the prop off of the motor.

Check out those uBEC's (switching power supply Battery Elimination Circuits) such as the 10 Amp Castle Creations unit. You can likely buy them for less than the cost of a good quality receiver battery. And you've eliminated the hassle of keeping the receiver battery fully charged. Plus, it weighs 1/2 ounce, a fraction of the weight of a four or five cell AA Nih battery pack.

I've got 7 of them, four by Castle Creations, three by Common Sense. All have performed flawlessly over the past four years. I've got their 10 Amp uBEC on a giant scale electric model with seven Hitec 645MG servos. My onboard voltage monitor indicates the CC uBEC has never dropped below 6.0 Volts DC. It's programmed for 6.6 VDC. (That giant scale model also has an A123 two cell battery backup system. Tests show that current has never been pulled out of the backup battery during my past 28 flights.)

http://www.castlecreations.com/products/ccbec.html
kyleservicetech is offline  
Old 06-11-2011, 08:05 PM
  #4  
road king 97
old hat
 
road king 97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: joliet il
Posts: 3,105
Default

I just disconnected a great planes bec from the esc by removing the red wire that goes to the reciever on its plug . Now i plug it into the throttle so the esc only works the throttle and my reciever battery go,s into the batt on my reciecer but through my on off switch first . I dont know if its the same wire on every one or if you can do it to every one but on mine i could. I would read the instructions on the esc,bec first. Hope this helps. joe
road king 97 is offline  
Old 06-11-2011, 08:24 PM
  #5  
Henry Sistrunk
Member
 
Henry Sistrunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ochlocknee Ga
Posts: 863
Default

I use those from Castle. Also these from Heads Up RC. Both work well.
Henry
http://www.headsuprc.com/servlet/the...iversal/Detail
Henry Sistrunk is offline  
Old 06-12-2011, 01:38 AM
  #6  
kyleservicetech
Super Contributor
 
kyleservicetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 8,952
Default

Originally Posted by road king 97 View Post
I just disconnected a great planes bec from the esc by removing the red wire that goes to the reciever on its plug . Now i plug it into the throttle so the esc only works the throttle and my reciever battery go,s into the batt on my reciecer but through my on off switch first . I dont know if its the same wire on every one or if you can do it to every one but on mine i could. I would read the instructions on the esc,bec first. Hope this helps. joe
Yup
This is correct for 99% of the ESC's out there. The center red wire is the one that must be pulled. FYI, not a good idea to just cut the wire. What if you want to put it back??? If you cut the wire and want to put it back, solder it, now your wire is to danged short! And your receiver battery goes to the switch, which in turn goes to the receiver battery input.

I just gently lift the locking plastic tab (don't break it off!!), and put a bit of shrink tubing over it.

Should you go for one of those uBEC's switching regulators, the red wire needs to be isolated, and the uBEC output is simply permanently plugged into the receiver battery input. Don't need the on off switch, just something to go wrong.
kyleservicetech is offline  
Old 06-12-2011, 01:40 AM
  #7  
road king 97
old hat
 
road king 97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: joliet il
Posts: 3,105
Default

Yup thats what i did then taped to the other wres back a bit. joe
road king 97 is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
CHELLIE
Hi-Performance and Sailplanes
2016
Yesterday 09:50 PM
bobskinner
Radio Equipment For Sale & WTB
0
05-10-2011 03:43 AM
Henry111
Batteries & Chargers
118
03-18-2011 06:27 PM
Jzone99
Beginners
24
01-09-2011 08:16 PM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Quick Reply: Seperate RX battery..does the LIPO pack need to be connected to program the ESC


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.05920 seconds with 13 queries