What are your CLUB TRAINER airplanes? - WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

General Electric Discussions Talk about topics related to e-powered RC flying

What are your CLUB TRAINER airplanes?

Old 01-02-2011, 02:16 PM
Saddlebum
The Old Guy Returneth...

Default What are your CLUB TRAINER airplanes?

I am going to be building a Club Trainer this winter to use to train total beginners next year and would like to know what your Club uses for that purpose before I make my decision on what to build.

When you respond can you also tell us just how effective each trainer is? What I mean is, many clubs have a "few" trainer airplanes and some may be more suitable for raw beginners, some may be good intermediate trainers, some may be great on grass or only useful on pavement. That kind of stuff.

I'd like to hear from the Flight Instructors primarily as they have probably trained dozens of beginners on many different airplanes, but if you have experience being trained or watching others being trained and have an observation, please chime in!

Thanks... The Bum
Old 01-02-2011, 02:38 PM
CHELLIE
Super Contributor

Easystar with landing gear, why, its strong, slow, gives the new pilot time to think and react, the prop is protected and will boost a newby confidence right away, a High wing trainer is a great Intermidiate plane, after learning the basics with a power glider. the easystar or high wing trainer will fly great off of grass with big lite foam wheels, that can also be used on asphalt, just my 2 cents worth, Take care and have fun, Chellie
Old 01-02-2011, 03:48 PM
FlyingMonkey
Flite Test Fan

I'd say for the dozen or so people I've worked with getting flying, BluBaby, the Miss 2 and recently, the new Hobbyzone Champ have had the most success.
Old 01-02-2011, 04:31 PM
Grasshopper
Some Assembly Required