WWI Era Discuss all your favorite WWI warbirds here!

Anybody repaired a Flyzone SE-5a broken axle?

Old 05-08-2013, 03:20 AM
Griff Murphey

Default Anybody repaired a Flyzone SE-5a broken axle?

Just now I had a hard landing and knocked a wheel off of my park flyer SE-5. The piece left with the wheel is too short to go all the way through the wheel, let alone be mounted in the spreader bar. It looks like the axle snapped off with only about 1mm of the stump showing. My thought is that I will need to try to drill out the remains of the axle and put in a new one. I am a dentist so I can use a high speed air turbine. Looked at the parts offered by Tower and the axle seems like one long piece of piano wire but the part still in the spreader bar won't budge.

Has anyone repaired one of these? I am wondering how long the axle actually is. I am pretty sure it is not a continuous piece all the way through the spreader bar because it does NOT rotate as on their Nieuport. Rather it seems to be two stub axles acc'ed into the spreader bar. Any suggestions?

Last edited by Griff Murphey; 05-08-2013 at 04:09 AM.
Old 05-08-2013, 02:39 PM
Griff Murphey

Default Piano wire in Fort Worth???

Are there any hobby shops in Cowtown that still carry it?
Old 05-08-2013, 03:36 PM
fhhuber
Super Contributor

Piano wire can usually be found at Hobby Lobby craft stores if you can't find a "RC hobby retailer"

Any decent hobby retail store should have the wire. I know there are several active RC clubs in the Dallas/Ft Worth area so there should be some hobby shops.
Old 05-08-2013, 04:51 PM
Griff Murphey

Thanks. The plane has two little stub axles that only go a short way - perhaps 3 mm - into the spreader bar. It was probably not possible to mold a hole for the axle all the way through the thing. The factory wire is very brittle hence the sudden breakage.