First ever flight - WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

Beginners New to e-power flying? Get the low down in here from experienced e-power RC pilots!

First ever flight

Old 01-10-2015, 01:20 AM
mbushell

Default First ever flight

Sorry I cant be more interesting. I bought the apprentice s 15e, and flew it right out of the box. Never had an RC controller in my hands before. Took it off and landed un instructed 3 times... My neighbor came with me to video. He also was able to takeoff and land 3 times. We both flew up to 500 PLUS ft in a 15 mph wind. What a cool beginner plane. Its a hobby I always loved, and didnt have the money to crash and burn until now. SOOOO what is next?
Old 01-10-2015, 05:24 AM
Mogg2112
Coming in hot!

Nice job! What mode were you flying it in? I'm a beginner myself, but I took a different route than you did and I started out with a HobbyZone Champ and recently bought a ParkZone T-28 Trojan. The Apprentice is great because it has beginner, intermediate, and expert flying modes, in addition to SAFE and AS3X technology. If you flew in beginner mode, then perhaps try intermediate mode and see how comfortable you are with it.
Old 01-10-2015, 07:33 AM
solentlife
Super Contributor

Its great to see another join our great hobby ....

Not trying to put a dampner on it ... but be careful if you are relying on SAFE to help you. You need to wean of that over time and get to actually fly the model.
If you are using SAFE and then go to another model without ... it's a disaster waiting to happen.

SAFE is a good tool ... but that's the fact - it's a TOOL that needs to be used to best advantage .. and that means changing through the modes till you are flying without it.

I assume you must be using SAFE beginner mode for both of you to fly straight of with no previous time on Tx ...

But anyway - ENJOY !!

Nigel
Old 01-10-2015, 01:57 PM
speedyb

continue to crash and burn money of course !

on a more serious note..