Best 4CH Trainer Planes - Page 3 - WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

Beginners New to e-power flying? Get the low down in here from experienced e-power RC pilots!

Best 4CH Trainer Planes

Old 01-08-2015, 10:20 PM
  #51  
cj2563
Newbie Pilot
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Cedar Grove TN
Posts: 66
Default

I didn't know I knew some can get I'm the 20 25k range I was jw
cj2563 is offline  
Old 01-08-2015, 11:20 PM
  #52  
xmech2k
Ya got any Beeman's?
 
xmech2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 3,099
Default

I have edf's. My closest to a jet is my E-Flite F-4 Phantom. I do have a turbine trainer plane and slightly used Jetcat P-80SE waiting to get assembled.
xmech2k is offline  
Old 01-08-2015, 11:27 PM
  #53  
xmech2k
Ya got any Beeman's?
 
xmech2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 3,099
Default

I think those $20k+ are all turbines. I didn't cheap out on my Phantom equipment so including the batteries, I have $1k up there! Really increases the pucker factor!
xmech2k is offline  
Old 01-09-2015, 12:01 AM
  #54  
dahawk
Super Contributor
 
dahawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Keller, TX
Posts: 5,019
Default

That phantom is awesome !

Cj, the wet turbine world is a whole new ball game. $$$$. Plus, one needs to get an AMA turbine waiver to fly one. Have to fly in front of AMA officers to prove proficiency. Like a type rating check ride.

Cool to watch and that's all I'll ever do.

Hawk
dahawk is offline  
Old 01-09-2015, 12:12 AM
  #55  
xmech2k
Ya got any Beeman's?
 
xmech2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 3,099
Default

Actually, you don't need an AMA turbine waiver to fly a turbine, but you do to fly one at an AMA field or event. If you look on the AMA site there's a couple of documents on the requirements and sign-offs.
xmech2k is offline  
Old 01-09-2015, 12:33 AM
  #56  
dahawk
Super Contributor
 
dahawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Keller, TX
Posts: 5,019
Default

Ya true . I only fly on AMA fields so I guess if you want to find an abandoned K Mart parking lot, you can fly those birds. Lol
dahawk is offline  
Old 01-09-2015, 01:33 AM
  #57  
dereckbc
Super Contributor
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 1,221
Default

Apprentice S 15E hands down the easiest to fly. It is so good I did not use an Instructor although I do not advise doing that.

The Gyro receiver in Beginner mode makes it very hard to crash, and with the PANIC Button will snap the Plane into straight level flight instantly in any of the 3 modes. It will save your butt. No such thing as a Tip Stall in Beginner mode even if you tried.
dereckbc is offline  
Old 01-09-2015, 03:00 AM
  #58  
cj2563
Newbie Pilot
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Cedar Grove TN
Posts: 66
Default

I don't have an instructor I fly in my horse pasture I preety much taught myself how to fly with a little bit of help from my cousin who is an Awesome heli and plane pilot
cj2563 is offline  
Old 01-09-2015, 03:02 AM
  #59  
cj2563
Newbie Pilot
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Cedar Grove TN
Posts: 66
Default

I forgot to put super cub after fly Oops I'm a totalk newbie if you haven't found that out yet lol
cj2563 is offline  
Old 01-16-2015, 10:46 PM
  #60  
cj2563
Newbie Pilot
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Cedar Grove TN
Posts: 66
Default

I have found out that you can fly a super cub lp inverted by keeping the rudder turned
cj2563 is offline  
Old 01-21-2015, 03:27 PM
  #61  
Angler-Hi
Super Contributor
 
Angler-Hi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Ft Hood, Tx
Posts: 4,137
Default

I haven't flown in over a year, so I picked up the Apprentice from my LHS. I HATE the SAFE technology in that thing. Great for helis or quads, but not for this plane. I just wanted something easy to fly and get my comfort zone back. I have never flown a plane in which I felt that I had almost no control of the aircraft. I've never had to use so much rudder in my life...this was also the case in "experienced" mode.

However, everyone I've talked to that has flown this plane prior to the SAFE technology has nothing but great things to say. I now have an AR7000 Rx in her and am waiting for the chance to get her up. Great thread folks. Any thoughts on an alternate (4ch beginner) would be greatly appreciated. Haven't been able to follow the market in quite sometime. Thanks.
Angler-Hi is offline  
Old 01-21-2015, 04:26 PM
  #62  
Brian VT
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 99
Default

Originally Posted by Angler-Hi View Post
Any thoughts on an alternate (4ch beginner) would be greatly appreciated. Haven't been able to follow the market in quite sometime. Thanks.
It seems to come down to what size plane you want and how much $ you want to spend.
As mentioned earlier, I love my Ares Gamma 370 Pro (+ 3ch. wing for lazier days).
I'd love a Fun Cub some day too.
Brian VT is offline  
Old 01-21-2015, 06:19 PM
  #63  
xmech2k
Ya got any Beeman's?
 
xmech2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 3,099
Default

Angler-hi, you experienced the stuff I didn't like about safe as well. The huge turn radius. Though in experienced mode, SAFE shouldn't be doing any limiting at all. Maybe it was the AS3X part? The friend I helped learn to fly has one of these and once he got the hang of it he was really bored with it. We're waiting for a chance for him to try my non-SAFE Apprentice for the same reason you swapped your rx. Maybe for a total beginner AS3X is ok on the Apprentice, but I think it's overkill in the long run, and numbs a really good plane. Hope it works for you.
xmech2k is offline  
Old 01-21-2015, 09:28 PM
  #64  
cj2563
Newbie Pilot
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Cedar Grove TN
Posts: 66
Default

The cub is Awesome but the only down side it is 3ch but it is still a fun little plane to have idk about the super cub s though I have the lp
cj2563 is offline  
Old 01-22-2015, 04:24 PM
  #65  
road king 97
old hat
 
road king 97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: joliet il
Posts: 3,105
Default

Originally Posted by cj2563 View Post
I have been looking at the pz T-28 and I think that will probably be my first low wing plane. The apprentice seems to have No bad reviews and isn't just too awfully expensive
My son learned to fly with his apprentice and i enjoy flying it also for a relaxing once in a while.The reason i bought the apprentice was because its a larger plane easy to see ,plenty of power and it can be flown on windy days with no problem . Here by Chicago its either learn to fly on windy days or dont fly at all.lol Its ok to fly a real small plane early in the morning or late afternoon but not so fun on a sat or sunday when the wind is blowing anything over 10 mph and the tiny plane is struggling . Its hard to get any stick time that way ,just saying ! lol joe
road king 97 is offline  
Old 01-23-2015, 02:34 AM
  #66  
Angler-Hi
Super Contributor
 
Angler-Hi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Ft Hood, Tx
Posts: 4,137
Default

Thanks guys. I'm hoping to get out next week and put her up. A re-maiden if you will, lol. I've flown several of the PZ planes before and absolutely love them! Looking to get one for myself real soon. Great thread folks.

Mike
Angler-Hi is offline  
Old 01-23-2015, 03:34 AM
  #67  
fhhuber
Super Contributor
 
fhhuber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 4,786
Default

I've been having great result from the Dynam appx 1250mm (+/- a bit) series aircraft.

On my list to get, but not bought yet is their T-28
http://www.nitroplanes.com/60a-dy894...y-rtf-24g.html

Noting differences from the Parkzone:
(most reasonably comparable packages, Parkzone BNF v Dynam RTF, considering the Dynam TX and RX as disposable)

Dynam comes with retracts.
Dynam is appx $60 cheaper. (which puts the price almost exactly the same dropping in a Spektrum RX and trashing the Dynam radio)
Dynam 1270mm span vs Parkzone 1118 mm span
Dynam 3S 2200 vs Parkzone 3S 1800

I already have 6 aircraft from the Dynam appx 1250mm span series.
Typically these can handle 4S 4000 mah with no issues, without even changing props. The P-51 in the series needs the 4S 4000's weight to improve its glide.

The Dynam radio is OK... but its variable control response rate dial is dangerous. You can dial it to 0 control too easily. Other than that its reliable and adequate for the models they ship it with.
fhhuber is offline  
Old 02-01-2015, 01:35 AM
  #68  
cj2563
Newbie Pilot
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Cedar Grove TN
Posts: 66
Default

The t-28 seems like a really good plane but seems a little fast for me lol.
cj2563 is offline  
Old 02-01-2015, 01:40 AM
  #69  
cj2563
Newbie Pilot
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Cedar Grove TN
Posts: 66
Default

From what I have heard i don't think safe will last long with me. lol
cj2563 is offline  
Old 02-05-2015, 02:22 AM
  #70  
cj2563
Newbie Pilot
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Cedar Grove TN
Posts: 66
Default

Well i have done some research and change of plans i am going to be getting the t 28 i decided i would want something that would last a long time so that is what iam going with.
cj2563 is offline  
Old 02-16-2015, 01:24 PM
  #71  
billyv
BillyV
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: VEstal, NY
Posts: 3
Default

Originally Posted by Brian VT View Post
Oh...and another friend of mine going from 3ch. gliders to high-wing trainer got a
Hobbyzone Glasair Sportsman. The Virtual Instructor™ can be turned off when confidence allows.

How 'bout the Hobbyzone Delta Ray?

Yup. Lots of good choices out there.
I bought the Hobbyzone Delta Ray for my first plane and love it. It is a great beginner plane and easy to repair with a little hot glue.
billyv is offline  
Old 03-05-2015, 04:46 PM
  #72  
cj2563
Newbie Pilot
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Cedar Grove TN
Posts: 66
Default

I cant wait I have been waiting for the weather to get warmer so i dont have to look at it for the rest of the winter. I figured i would get eager and probably crash first thing so I am waiting until the weather warms up.
cj2563 is offline  
Old 03-05-2015, 04:47 PM
  #73  
cj2563
Newbie Pilot
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Cedar Grove TN
Posts: 66
Default

To get the t-28
cj2563 is offline  
Old 03-05-2015, 05:52 PM
  #74  
road king 97
old hat
 
road king 97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: joliet il
Posts: 3,105
Default

Originally Posted by cj2563 View Post
To get the t-28
Yep dont rush into anything and make sure all bases are covered and checked before going out flying . Weather here wiill be in the 50s soon and my old ars wont be jumping for joy to go out and fly in it . My cut off temp is 68 degrees now for flying or riding my motorcycle thats what happens when you get old and cranky . I still remember warming up my nitro motors on the exaust of my van when it was -0 out so i could at least get them to turn over and maybe start 30 years ago and those days are gone also .
road king 97 is offline  
Old 03-05-2015, 07:00 PM
  #75  
Brian VT
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 99
Default

Originally Posted by cj2563 View Post
.I figured i would get eager and probably crash first thing...
Snow makes for soft crashes.
I lawn-darted my Polaris last weekend and it's perfectly fine, thanks to 30" of soft snow.
Bare ground would have totaled it for sure.
Brian VT is offline  

Quick Reply: Best 4CH Trainer Planes


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.16616 seconds with 14 queries