Flight Simulators Discuss computer flight simulators here

Clearview or Phoenix?

Old 06-24-2013, 05:08 AM
dereckbc
Super Contributor

Default Clearview or Phoenix?

I have my first plane an Apprentice S. Looking for a sim to train a little with and have discovered both Clearview and Phoenix have that model included. Currently leaning toward Clearview because it is far less expensive.

Can some of you share your experience of the two sims?

THX
Old 06-24-2013, 06:04 AM
xmech2k
Ya got any Beeman's?

Go with RealFlight!

Ok, seriously, I have NO experience with Clearview, but my LHS has RF and Phoenix stands right next to each other, and I tried both. To me, RF felt way more real. (Pardon the pun) It seemed like RF took the mass of the plane into account and Phoenix didn't. It's hard to really describe.

And as far as actually having the Apprentice in the program, I wouldn't put that much faith in the actual model being in the program. I feel none of the sims are perfect, and you'll train just fine with a similar plane. Just find a high wing electric trainer of similar size.

As far as Clearview, I can't say. I'll have to go check their site out.
Old 06-24-2013, 03:41 PM
dereckbc
Super Contributor

I downloaded RF Demo. I like it but hard to get a feel for it because in the Demo trial version it will only let you use the keyboard for control. What I did like about RF is the Gadgets like binoculars and variometer. Like flying real RC planes my challenge is orientation when the plane gets a bit of distance from me. Kind of embarassing be a private pilot. Flying a real plane and RC is quite different. Strange I am more scared flying RC than the real thing.
Old 06-24-2013, 05:02 PM
dereckbc
Super Contributor

Quick question about RF. I am confused by all the different packages. Which one should I be looking at? I just want planes, anything else is just a bonus.

Also can I buy a cable to use either my DX5 or DX7s radio on RF?
Old 06-24-2013, 05:50 PM
xmech2k