RC Airplane for a Beginner? - WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

Beginners New to e-power flying? Get the low down in here from experienced e-power RC pilots!

RC Airplane for a Beginner?

Old 04-11-2016, 10:26 PM
AMPFlyer

Default RC Airplane for a Beginner?

Hello, WattFlyer members. I'm new to this hobby and searching for my first remote control airplane.

I found this website on google http://www.swellrc.com/easy-to-fly-r...for-beginners/ which suggests 5 airplanes.

I'm looking at "The Champ". Would it be great for a beginner like me?

What would you suggest?
Old 04-11-2016, 11:31 PM
fhhuber
Super Contributor

Something with the basic configuration of the Champ is great.

But that is a SMALL plane... which is highly sensitive to wind. That limits your flight opportunities more than lack of space for a larger plane.

Look for something closer to 1200mm to 1500 mm wingspan.

Also 4 channels would be better than 3 channels.

Look at motionrc.com at their Dynam Piper Cub. Looks almost the same as the champ, just a lot bigger.
Motion doesn't sell the RTF packages by Dynam, just the RX ready, so it would need a TX, RX, battery and charger.
If you find the Dynam RTF package, use caution about their dial for "dual rate". It can dial the control to NONE.
Old 04-11-2016, 11:43 PM
dahawk
Super Contributor

What's your budget ? Looking for the cheapest point of entry? Field conditions.? Paved or Grass? Anybody available to help you get started? IE Buddy box? an AMA sanctioned club? Are you looking to simply dip your toe in the water or are you thinking you may be going to be at this hobby for a while? Makes a world of difference in what you end up buying.

First off, get your AMA card. A must have no matter what. Plus, you'll have to register with the FAA.